Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 8899 (Twin set) - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 2477 times
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 337
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 283 people
patterns reviewed: 238
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/30/02 2:10 PM
Last Updated:5/31/02 8:48 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
your outfit is beautiful, Deepika
5/30/02 2:06 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
I'm happy to see this review as I also have this pattern but haven't used it yet. Was the skirt style similar to what you have been looking for in a knit skirt (i.e. smooth at the waist with few gathers?)
5/30/02 2:16 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
yes Paula, its kind of like that more so because I used a smaller size than usual and the fit is pretty similar to what I had in mind.
5/30/02 2:26 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This outfit looks great. It fits beautifully and you are right - the fabric is perfect. I'm glad you finished it before your machine started giving you trouble!
5/30/02 8:38 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Karla, this one I had finished a while ago. I was a little lazy in writing a review because this is OOP. But I am glad that atleast this review helped Paula who already has this pattern.
5/30/02 8:57 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a pretty outfit!
5/30/02 10:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a lovely outfit! It is hard to believe that you were a beginner just a few months ago. About adding a button closure. It is super easy to just add an extension to the fronts. It must extend past the center front marking far enough to accomodate the button width you plan to use. Then add enough width to turn over and topstitch. You can put in a strip of interfacing if desired, to reenforce the buttonholes and button area.(I usually make the front extensions about 2" past the CF line, but it depends on the fabric.) For more on this, Marcy Tilton's book on knits has other ideas for adding a sewn on cardigan band to a pattern that doesn't have one.
5/30/02 10:43 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, that is so pretty, and it looks great on you!
5/30/02 11:29 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks everyone for the kind words of encouragement! Mini are you talking about This Book?
5/30/02 11:32 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes, that's what I meant. I wasn't awake when I left the last message:). It's the one I reviewed. I should have said it has ideas about sewing knit tops, although it isn't really about knits. The Stretch & Sew knit book also shows how to create a cardigan band that works for ribbing or self fabric.
5/30/02 12:56 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Beautiful outfit, it fits you perfectly! Great job!
5/30/02 1:07 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, this is a great outfit! Those extra touches like the twin needle stitching with woolly nylon. can make a garment look so professional. I hate this is OOP.
5/30/02 1:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Yes Rennie, I used a lot of cool techniques and products in this outfit and I am glad it turned out well.
5/30/02 1:21 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, did your machine give you any trouble while making this outfit? I was reading Karla's post and she mentioned something about your machine "giving you trouble."??
5/30/02 1:41 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
No Lisa, this outfit was fine. My SM started giving me problems just recently, but hopefully I have found the problem. Read this post if you are interested.
5/30/02 1:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Wow! your outfit looks amazing, Deepika. I'm going to run out to Joann's and hope they still have that pattern! And if they don't still have that pattern I'm going to buy that fabric! Thanks for the inspiration!
5/30/02 3:17 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a lovely outfit! You are so right that this is a classic pattern. You are going to receive many compliments when you wear this! It's a shame it is OOP...I wonder if we can try and bring it back? I would definitely add this pattern to my collection if it can be found.
5/30/02 8:43 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
beautiful outfit and great fabric.
5/30/02 9:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika - Gorgeous!!!!! You did a great job!
5/30/02 11:29 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, your results look better than the pattern envelope! Burda envelopes sometimes don't give the best representation of how a pattern will really look, so you deserve applause for figuring out that this ensemble would look classic, not frumpy, with the proper alterations for fit and sewing techniques. How heavy was the cotton/lycra you used? T-shirt weight, or a little heavier? And do you think this pattern would work in slinky?
5/31/02 11:45 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Deepika, that is a beautiful outfit. I predict FFC will sell out of 'BEBE' very shortly! :) What a great inspiration you have given us. Thanks for posting it, even if it is OOP.
5/31/02 12:02 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Thanks Skymom, with the amount of time I spent on altering and fixing this pattern, I would have been dissappointed had it not come out good but thank god it did. Plus as I mentioned above I experimented with some new notions and techniques. Regarding the fabric, this is the first time I have sewn on Cotton/Lycra so I don't know how to compare it to other cotton/lycras but to answer your question it was slightly heavier than t-shirt fabric and yes I think this pattern would work in slinky.
5/31/02 12:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
One word: Wow.
6/1/02 2:14 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This outfit couldn't be cuter! I'm working on a knit soon and can't wait to try your hem techniques!
8/16/02 4:25 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
Katharine in BXL said...
Deepika, look in Claire Schaeffer's "High Fashion Sewing Secrets" book, pp. 235-7 for adding buttons & buttonholes. It basically says to measure the button width and add that to the each side of the front closure (CF) with 1/8"added for overlap. Good luck! BTW, glad you took in the sides. Looks great! Katharine in the Netherlands
8/5/03 7:14 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Butterick 5173
photo
Review by bemodi on 9/23/10
Read Review

Petite Plus 501 Pattern
Petite Plus 501 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern
SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Beach Bum Bermuda Shorts Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Rose T Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8759 Men's shirt
photo
Review by LovelyRita on 10/1/13
Read Review

Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 14 )
Vogue 1004 Pattern ( Size 14 )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3102 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3102 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us