Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5145 (Misses Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1141 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Sew4Fun
photo
About Sew4Funstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/23/04
Reviews written: 113
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 223 people
patterns reviewed: 103
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/10 2:41 AM
Last Updated:6/16/12 0:11 AM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
34 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
manola6176 said...
All the work you did paid off Thanks for very interesting and detailed review Your fabric choice is great
7/23/10 3:27 AM
addicted2fabric said...
OOohhh its gorgeous! I want it!! Thanks for a very informative review. I have some gorgeous red boiled Merino that would look fabulous in this pattern. Thanks for the inspiration; I'm going to blatantly steal all your ideas and shamelessly copy your coat. Thank you :o)
7/23/10 3:52 AM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Gorgeous fabric that has made a gorgeous coat - great work!
7/23/10 4:07 AM
Rebecca D said...
Stunning, pure and simple. And thanks for the great blog posts about how you did it.
7/23/10 6:46 AM
Robin Denning said...
Wonderful coat, Belinda. I would never have seen the possibilities in looking at the pattern, but now I will purchase this pattern. As always, I enjoy seeing your beautiful work!
7/23/10 8:04 AM
DreinPA said...
OOOh. I just picked this up yesterday and will checking back for the sleeve corrections. Excellent-thank you
7/23/10 8:10 AM
mrsbewley said...
Your coat is beautiful - love the color. Your version is much nicer than the pattern picture!
7/23/10 9:12 AM
annie11 said...
Wow! What a beautiful coat. I had never noticed this pattern before, but now I must get it! Thank you for explaining all of the adjustments you made.
7/23/10 9:39 AM
sewbehind said...
That is beautiful. I love it!
7/23/10 10:50 AM
MelissaB in WA said...
Oh how beautiful! BTW, I just peeked at your blog and see all sorts of posts I've missed (like several pages worth). Apparently I need to break up with bloglines because they aren't updating your blog on my feed. :-( I'll have to enjoy your posts later this weekend when I have some down time. So glad you've been posting, but so sorry I've missed out. Lovely, lovely coat!
7/23/10 11:12 AM
susiestitcher said...
Beautiful sewing! I made this coat last fall and just love the fit. Glad you were able to fix the sleeves to your liking. For some reason, my sleeves eased in perfectly, but I remember several others having issues. I also agree that a two piece sleeve does hang and fit better. Great idea! The color is gorgeous and I like the way you omitted the pleat. That gives me some ideas on using the pattern again for another view. Thanks also for the great step by step on your blog for attaching a lining with your raw edge styling.
7/23/10 11:34 AM
Christas said...
Beautiful coat and flawless sewing, as always!
7/23/10 12:06 PM
Annette1 said...
This is the PICTURE of perfection, the prettiest coat I've seen in a LONG time. :o) I really admire your workmanship.
7/23/10 1:38 PM
frame said...
This is fabulous!
7/23/10 3:10 PM
Maree P said...
This is stunning - and as always your skills are exemplary. Great jacket.
7/23/10 7:05 PM
tess said...
Your coat looks really professional and well tailored, a definate winner!
7/24/10 7:12 AM
Elaine Dougan said...
Love the style and the colour!
7/24/10 10:06 AM
what is not taken said...
Beautiful coat with fabulous fabric a great combination. You are a professional and everything you create is beautiful. Thanks for your blog and for inspiration.
7/24/10 10:12 AM
mhk3boys said...
Very awesome looking coat!
7/24/10 12:01 PM
AuntieShel said...
Beautiful coat!! Thanks for a great review.
7/25/10 10:25 AM
ClaireEmily said...
I love the colour and style. You always make such amazing things!
7/25/10 8:51 PM
callmeRuth said...
Such a beautiful coat! You do such lovely work.
7/27/10 3:58 AM
Terri A said...
Adding in my adoration... Love it!
6/16/12 1:27 AM
mm said...
Lovely coat. What an achievement.
6/16/12 1:46 AM
CynthiaSue said...
I never realized that this looks exactly like the J.Crew 375 dollar coat. I forget the name-Mary Jane or something. Fabulous!
6/16/12 2:14 AM
Dilliander said...
Both these coats are lovely and so different, great review.
6/16/12 4:42 AM
Christas said...
Both coats are sooo wonderful!
6/16/12 9:46 AM
PattyE said...
Your coat is perfect...love it!
6/16/12 11:00 AM
Cristinagf said...
Ahh!! It looks wonderful!
6/16/12 11:13 AM
sewmaris said...
Beautiful job, and a lovely coat to enjoy. Thanks for the great review! Maris Olsen http://sewmaris.com
6/16/12 2:05 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful, your sewing is amazing. Thanks for the great review.
6/16/12 2:26 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm so impressed with your skills. This is one of the most perfect garments I've seen on PR!
6/16/12 9:06 PM
Legal.Dealer said...
I love the shape and color of your coat. Well done.
6/17/12 8:33 AM
redside said...
Your skills--and taste--are awe inspiring!
6/17/12 8:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Vogue Patterns 7975
photo
Review by marjenann on 9/21/10
Read Review

New Look 6292 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6292 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7769 Pattern
Burda 7769 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3132
photo
Review by LynneH on 12/10/13
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Sweetheart Halter Digital Pattern ( Size 6 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )
Jennifer Stern The Perfectly Fitted Shirt by the Cup-Full Pattern ( Size 16-24(Cup B-DD) )

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us