SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2008-01 (Simple-yet-elegant pintuck dre)

Viewed 562 times 
Reviewed by:addicted2fabric
photo

 
 
About addicted2fabricstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/10 5:02 AM
Last Updated:7/21/10 4:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely dress. I like the changes you made.
7/21/10 5:45 AM
Vibekeinyork said...
I loved the look of this dress in the magazine and it's so fun to see it made up in a different version. It looks lovely and I bet its very comfortable to wear. Enjoy the wide and wonderful world of dresses.
7/21/10 5:53 AM
Rebecca D said...
Love the dress and the changes you made - yeah for the dress! I love dresses and hope you continue to enjoy wearing them.
7/21/10 6:14 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
7/21/10 6:59 AM
Jali said...
Pretty dress and I agree entirely with the title description of your review. I love that your dress is current without being far off from being a classic. Would love to see your black version if you make it.
7/21/10 7:14 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
For your first dress in 15 years you certainly have a winner. Gorgeous dress. I love the changed you've made, the quality of the fabric and the color.
7/21/10 7:48 AM
ConnieBJ said...
"Wow, I Really like that dress". I actually said that out loud to myself when I saw the photo! Great job!
7/21/10 8:05 AM
mrsbewley said...
Beautiful - love the pintucks!
7/21/10 8:10 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very classic but stylish.
7/21/10 9:17 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great dress - I'm sure it looks fabulous on!
7/21/10 10:31 AM
Dei said...
Well glad you're back in dresses and you're doing it in style. Great vibrant color and love the detailing. Like that its sleeveless too.
7/21/10 12:16 PM
Levone said...
I love your version of this (without the puffy sleeves)....gorgeous color.
7/21/10 2:02 PM
Rhoda K said...
I really like your dress - the pintucks gives it an added touch for style.
7/21/10 2:15 PM
Marie_P. said...
Very pretty and a nice color!
7/21/10 2:30 PM
carolynw said...
Very definitely simple and oh so elegant!!
7/21/10 2:44 PM
Izzie said...
Great Dress! I wasn't going to make this dress because it seemed too young for me. But without the sleeves, I may just try it! Thanks for the idea and the enjoyable review.
7/21/10 3:40 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely and simple. The pintucks make this dress stand out.
7/21/10 3:56 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very pretty dress! Love that you echoed the pintucks in the back to work out the gape. Very enjoyable and informative review.
7/21/10 4:32 PM
21wale said...
Gorgeous dress. Very sophisticated, I think. That pattern was a disaster for me, mainly because the armholes were extremely tight. But you definitely made it work!
7/21/10 5:17 PM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty dress!
7/21/10 6:07 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Great dress! I think that would look fabulous with boots and tights. Good on you for taking a chance on a new style!
7/21/10 6:52 PM
Annette1 said...
YES, YES, YES, wear this dress OFTEN! I have been drawn to the tights look lately, too, even though I don't have the figure for short dresses with tights -- ha! -- but maybe medium length dresses with tights, I could get by with. I'm so glad you branched out and make this, because it REALLY is lovely, with those PERFECT little pintucks and this DELICIOUS fabric. I can just see you sporting the whole outfit. I'm not surprised you had so many compliments. :o)
7/22/10 0:17 AM
Annette1 said...
By the way, I like it better sleeveless than with the sleeves.
7/22/10 0:17 AM
waltzqueen said...
What a luscious color! and a very elegant dress that I'm sure looks smashing on you! The pintucks add just the right amount of detail to this classic style.
7/22/10 7:10 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Gorgeous! I am sure you were turning many heads. Lovely color, too.
7/23/10 8:01 AM
rebija said...
Very pretty!
7/23/10 11:54 PM
brissie71 said...
I really like the changes you've made to this pattern. I wouldn't have thought to sew this in a knit, but it obviously works VERY well. Thanks for such a detailed review. It was very helpful.
7/25/10 7:13 AM
o3b said...
What a fun review to read! I like your story behind the dress.
8/3/10 2:50 PM
katlew03 said...
Really cute dress. I would not have looked twice at it from the line drawing, but your version and the black one illustrated make me want to try it.
9/26/10 6:32 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8259

photo
by: becca a

Review
Pants Sewing DVD

Pants Sewing DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Sewing Workshop Trio T-Shirt, Top & Pants Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 5813

photo
by: KatieA

Review