Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2008-01 (Simple-yet-elegant pintuck dre) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 560 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:addicted2fabric
photo
About addicted2fabricstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/10 5:02 AM
Last Updated:7/21/10 4:51 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely dress. I like the changes you made.
7/21/10 5:45 AM
Vibekeinyork said...
I loved the look of this dress in the magazine and it's so fun to see it made up in a different version. It looks lovely and I bet its very comfortable to wear. Enjoy the wide and wonderful world of dresses.
7/21/10 5:53 AM
Rebecca D said...
Love the dress and the changes you made - yeah for the dress! I love dresses and hope you continue to enjoy wearing them.
7/21/10 6:14 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
7/21/10 6:59 AM
Jali said...
Pretty dress and I agree entirely with the title description of your review. I love that your dress is current without being far off from being a classic. Would love to see your black version if you make it.
7/21/10 7:14 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
For your first dress in 15 years you certainly have a winner. Gorgeous dress. I love the changed you've made, the quality of the fabric and the color.
7/21/10 7:48 AM
ConnieBJ said...
"Wow, I Really like that dress". I actually said that out loud to myself when I saw the photo! Great job!
7/21/10 8:05 AM
mrsbewley said...
Beautiful - love the pintucks!
7/21/10 8:10 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very classic but stylish.
7/21/10 9:17 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great dress - I'm sure it looks fabulous on!
7/21/10 10:31 AM
Dei said...
Well glad you're back in dresses and you're doing it in style. Great vibrant color and love the detailing. Like that its sleeveless too.
7/21/10 12:16 PM
Levone said...
I love your version of this (without the puffy sleeves)....gorgeous color.
7/21/10 2:02 PM
Rhoda K said...
I really like your dress - the pintucks gives it an added touch for style.
7/21/10 2:15 PM
Marie_P. said...
Very pretty and a nice color!
7/21/10 2:30 PM
carolynw said...
Very definitely simple and oh so elegant!!
7/21/10 2:44 PM
Izzie said...
Great Dress! I wasn't going to make this dress because it seemed too young for me. But without the sleeves, I may just try it! Thanks for the idea and the enjoyable review.
7/21/10 3:40 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely and simple. The pintucks make this dress stand out.
7/21/10 3:56 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very pretty dress! Love that you echoed the pintucks in the back to work out the gape. Very enjoyable and informative review.
7/21/10 4:32 PM
21wale said...
Gorgeous dress. Very sophisticated, I think. That pattern was a disaster for me, mainly because the armholes were extremely tight. But you definitely made it work!
7/21/10 5:17 PM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty dress!
7/21/10 6:07 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Great dress! I think that would look fabulous with boots and tights. Good on you for taking a chance on a new style!
7/21/10 6:52 PM
Annette1 said...
YES, YES, YES, wear this dress OFTEN! I have been drawn to the tights look lately, too, even though I don't have the figure for short dresses with tights -- ha! -- but maybe medium length dresses with tights, I could get by with. I'm so glad you branched out and make this, because it REALLY is lovely, with those PERFECT little pintucks and this DELICIOUS fabric. I can just see you sporting the whole outfit. I'm not surprised you had so many compliments. :o)
7/22/10 0:17 AM
Annette1 said...
By the way, I like it better sleeveless than with the sleeves.
7/22/10 0:17 AM
waltzqueen said...
What a luscious color! and a very elegant dress that I'm sure looks smashing on you! The pintucks add just the right amount of detail to this classic style.
7/22/10 7:10 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Gorgeous! I am sure you were turning many heads. Lovely color, too.
7/23/10 8:01 AM
rebija said...
Very pretty!
7/23/10 11:54 PM
brissie71 said...
I really like the changes you've made to this pattern. I wouldn't have thought to sew this in a knit, but it obviously works VERY well. Thanks for such a detailed review. It was very helpful.
7/25/10 7:13 AM
o3b said...
What a fun review to read! I like your story behind the dress.
8/3/10 2:50 PM
katlew03 said...
Really cute dress. I would not have looked twice at it from the line drawing, but your version and the black one illustrated make me want to try it.
9/26/10 6:32 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Simplicity 4225
photo
Review by Vineta77 on 2/10/10
Read Review

Fanny Pack or Purse
Fanny Pack or Purse

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Light White
PerfectFuse Light White

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4889
photo
Review by tanny76 on 1/6/10
Read Review

Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 38-40 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us