SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2008-01 (Simple-yet-elegant pintuck dre)

Viewed 564 times 
Reviewed by:addicted2fabric
photo

 
 
About addicted2fabricstar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 2/8/07
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 43
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/10 5:02 AM
Last Updated:7/21/10 4:51 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katlew03 said...
Really cute dress. I would not have looked twice at it from the line drawing, but your version and the black one illustrated make me want to try it.
9/26/10 6:32 PM
o3b said...
What a fun review to read! I like your story behind the dress.
8/3/10 2:50 PM
brissie71 said...
I really like the changes you've made to this pattern. I wouldn't have thought to sew this in a knit, but it obviously works VERY well. Thanks for such a detailed review. It was very helpful.
7/25/10 7:13 AM
rebija said...
Very pretty!
7/23/10 11:54 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Gorgeous! I am sure you were turning many heads. Lovely color, too.
7/23/10 8:01 AM
waltzqueen said...
What a luscious color! and a very elegant dress that I'm sure looks smashing on you! The pintucks add just the right amount of detail to this classic style.
7/22/10 7:10 PM
Annette1 said...
By the way, I like it better sleeveless than with the sleeves.
7/22/10 0:17 AM
Annette1 said...
YES, YES, YES, wear this dress OFTEN! I have been drawn to the tights look lately, too, even though I don't have the figure for short dresses with tights -- ha! -- but maybe medium length dresses with tights, I could get by with. I'm so glad you branched out and make this, because it REALLY is lovely, with those PERFECT little pintucks and this DELICIOUS fabric. I can just see you sporting the whole outfit. I'm not surprised you had so many compliments. :o)
7/22/10 0:17 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Great dress! I think that would look fabulous with boots and tights. Good on you for taking a chance on a new style!
7/21/10 6:52 PM
michellep74 said...
Very pretty dress!
7/21/10 6:07 PM
21wale said...
Gorgeous dress. Very sophisticated, I think. That pattern was a disaster for me, mainly because the armholes were extremely tight. But you definitely made it work!
7/21/10 5:17 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Very pretty dress! Love that you echoed the pintucks in the back to work out the gape. Very enjoyable and informative review.
7/21/10 4:32 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Lovely and simple. The pintucks make this dress stand out.
7/21/10 3:56 PM
Izzie said...
Great Dress! I wasn't going to make this dress because it seemed too young for me. But without the sleeves, I may just try it! Thanks for the idea and the enjoyable review.
7/21/10 3:40 PM
carolynw said...
Very definitely simple and oh so elegant!!
7/21/10 2:44 PM
Marie_P. said...
Very pretty and a nice color!
7/21/10 2:30 PM
Rhoda K said...
I really like your dress - the pintucks gives it an added touch for style.
7/21/10 2:15 PM
Levone said...
I love your version of this (without the puffy sleeves)....gorgeous color.
7/21/10 2:02 PM
Dei said...
Well glad you're back in dresses and you're doing it in style. Great vibrant color and love the detailing. Like that its sleeveless too.
7/21/10 12:16 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Great dress - I'm sure it looks fabulous on!
7/21/10 10:31 AM
Elemenopeo said...
Very classic but stylish.
7/21/10 9:17 AM
mrsbewley said...
Beautiful - love the pintucks!
7/21/10 8:10 AM
ConnieBJ said...
"Wow, I Really like that dress". I actually said that out loud to myself when I saw the photo! Great job!
7/21/10 8:05 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
For your first dress in 15 years you certainly have a winner. Gorgeous dress. I love the changed you've made, the quality of the fabric and the color.
7/21/10 7:48 AM
Jali said...
Pretty dress and I agree entirely with the title description of your review. I love that your dress is current without being far off from being a classic. Would love to see your black version if you make it.
7/21/10 7:14 AM
Lori V said...
Very pretty dress.
7/21/10 6:59 AM
Rebecca D said...
Love the dress and the changes you made - yeah for the dress! I love dresses and hope you continue to enjoy wearing them.
7/21/10 6:14 AM
Vibekeinyork said...
I loved the look of this dress in the magazine and it's so fun to see it made up in a different version. It looks lovely and I bet its very comfortable to wear. Enjoy the wide and wonderful world of dresses.
7/21/10 5:53 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Lovely dress. I like the changes you made.
7/21/10 5:45 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Butterick 5153 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-116

photo
by: cafelatte

Review
You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 100mm Shell Purse Pattern

More Info
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

More Info