SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2010-123 (Shoulder Gather Sack Dress)

4 more reviews
Viewed 561 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 314 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/10 8:28 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Cute dress. Love the colors.
7/23/10 8:58 AM
cindyann said...
It's lovely and a very nice look on you. Great fabric placement!
7/23/10 9:12 AM
annie11 said...
Love the fabric! This looks very chic on you. I remember that Allie had said that the front neckline felt too high to her- do you notice that when wearing it too?
7/23/10 9:36 AM
Mufffet said...
Great use of this fabric - terrific styling! :)
7/23/10 10:13 AM
Catbird said...
I love this. Great use of fabric and very helpful review, too. I smiled at your calculations and the amortization of your Burda subscription. Your $14 was well spent! Thanks also for pointing out Allie's lovely version, which I had somehow missed.
7/23/10 10:31 AM
nicegirl said...
Annie11--the weight of the fabric pulls the dress to the back so the front neckline is very high. I tried to keep it situated in a more balanced way with a lower front neckline, but it is impossible. I don't find it uncomfortable, but it is much different than my usual style.
7/23/10 11:27 AM
Jeannine1976 said...
You couldn't have chosen a better fabric for this project. It really makes the dress and the result looks wonderful on you.
7/23/10 11:33 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
Lovely dress! Silk jersey for $5.22/yd? Holy cats, what a find!
7/23/10 11:49 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress and lovely fabric.
7/23/10 1:25 PM
Annette1 said...
Another great review! I LOVE the way you've put this print to use, a designer dress, to be sure. :o)
7/23/10 1:43 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Darling!
7/23/10 5:52 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very clever marriage of fabric and pattern.
7/23/10 6:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Darling dress in a truly wonderful fabric. This is incredibly cute!
7/24/10 7:06 PM
jeanielynn said...
I love your reviews. So nice with the pictures and the line drawings. You've made me want to make this dress.
7/24/10 11:15 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I love what you did with this fabrid! Certainly DOESN'T look like a sack!! ;o)
7/27/10 3:57 PM
SusiM said...
Very cute and original. Great placement of the fabric pattern.
8/26/10 11:40 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Vogue Patterns 8392

photo
by: cleverkitt...

Review
Indygo Junction IJ874

photo
by: susandf

Review
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Buy Now