Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2010-123 (Shoulder Gather Sack Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 560 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/23/10 8:28 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
Cute dress. Love the colors.
7/23/10 8:58 AM
cindyann said...
It's lovely and a very nice look on you. Great fabric placement!
7/23/10 9:12 AM
annie11 said...
Love the fabric! This looks very chic on you. I remember that Allie had said that the front neckline felt too high to her- do you notice that when wearing it too?
7/23/10 9:36 AM
Mufffet said...
Great use of this fabric - terrific styling! :)
7/23/10 10:13 AM
Catbird said...
I love this. Great use of fabric and very helpful review, too. I smiled at your calculations and the amortization of your Burda subscription. Your $14 was well spent! Thanks also for pointing out Allie's lovely version, which I had somehow missed.
7/23/10 10:31 AM
nicegirl said...
Annie11--the weight of the fabric pulls the dress to the back so the front neckline is very high. I tried to keep it situated in a more balanced way with a lower front neckline, but it is impossible. I don't find it uncomfortable, but it is much different than my usual style.
7/23/10 11:27 AM
Jeannine1976 said...
You couldn't have chosen a better fabric for this project. It really makes the dress and the result looks wonderful on you.
7/23/10 11:33 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
Lovely dress! Silk jersey for $5.22/yd? Holy cats, what a find!
7/23/10 11:49 AM
Levone said...
Pretty dress and lovely fabric.
7/23/10 1:25 PM
Annette1 said...
Another great review! I LOVE the way you've put this print to use, a designer dress, to be sure. :o)
7/23/10 1:43 PM
thirteenstitches said...
Darling!
7/23/10 5:52 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very clever marriage of fabric and pattern.
7/23/10 6:48 PM
CarolynGM said...
Darling dress in a truly wonderful fabric. This is incredibly cute!
7/24/10 7:06 PM
jeanielynn said...
I love your reviews. So nice with the pictures and the line drawings. You've made me want to make this dress.
7/24/10 11:15 PM
Grammy Gin said...
I love what you did with this fabrid! Certainly DOESN'T look like a sack!! ;o)
7/27/10 3:57 PM
SusiM said...
Very cute and original. Great placement of the fabric pattern.
8/26/10 11:40 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Simplicity 4378
photo
Review by CypGrl on 7/18/08
Read Review

SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern
SewBaby Double Duty Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kat Strapless Dress
Kat Strapless Dress

Details
Price: $8.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

StyleArc Jenny Shirt Jenny Shirt
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 9/29/12
Read Review

Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )
Simplicity 1903 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6425 Pattern
New Look 6425 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us