SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2692 (Misses Dress or Gown)

22 more reviews
Viewed 844 times 
Reviewed by:mesewlot
photo

 
 
About mesewlotstar
GA USA
Member since: 4/2/09
Reviews written: 59
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 58
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/21/10 9:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Budo Bear Designs


Asian Designs
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
persevering said...
What beautiful dresses and they fit each person so well! Congratulations!
7/21/10 9:25 PM
Karen Easter said...
Very beautiful!
7/21/10 9:54 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Wow! Amazing dresses. The girls look beautiful.
7/21/10 10:22 PM
Amy-may said...
Love 'em! Good job making fitting adjustments at the last minute, they look great!
7/21/10 10:30 PM
Levone said...
Gorgeous! This is such a different look, I love these.
7/21/10 11:02 PM
candicer said...
I love these dresses! A different look for bridesmaids - which I am always for! Anything other than traditional! The colors are beautiful and they fit beautifully as well!
7/21/10 11:08 PM
mesewlot said...
Thanks everybody!
7/22/10 0:36 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Beautifully done. What a huge challenge; you're so brave. My compliments to the bride. The dresses and colors are pretty and sophisticated. And not a bow or ruffle in sight.
7/22/10 0:49 AM
carolynw said...
You sure tackled ths head on and came out a winner. Dresses fit beautifully and all the ladies look divine!!
7/22/10 9:10 AM
ggf2005 said...
dare i say it...AWESOME!
7/22/10 1:17 PM
Eyeadaba said...
What a stunning bridal party! These ladies surely know how to 'strike a pose'. The imperial purple is a wonderful colour that complements each bridesmaid so perfectly! Great job with the dresses, I really like the how this dress looks with the sleeve added. Very stylish. More pics please! with such a stunning bridal party, the bride must have looked amazing! Well done. Can't wait to see your version.
7/22/10 4:23 PM
Karendee said...
Beautiful dresses and women. I am sure this was a lovely wedding.
7/22/10 5:30 PM
mesewlot said...
Thanks ladies! @ Eyeadaba, I've added a link to more pictures, just waiting for clearance from PR. Once there, watch the slideshow.
7/23/10 0:48 AM
WordNerd said...
Thank you for your review! I'm using this pattern (view E) for my mother's dress for my daughter's wedding. It looks comfortable, and even more so in the slinky knit you used. I had to laugh when I read how large the dresses turned out. We (sewing moms) used that fabric for show choir dresses and swore we'd never use it again, it stretches and wiggled all over the place! We had to pin the girls in for their dress rehearsal! You did such a fantastic job working with a difficult fabric, you should post your sewing tips!!
7/27/10 2:49 PM
mesewlot said...
Thanks Wordnerd, I wish I could give you a special tip, but it was truly trial and error. I just refitted the dresses to their actual bodies and went from there. The dresses were huge. I would say anywhere from 2-3" too big. So, I just repinned and restitched. One big thing to note is this pattern does not call for knit fabric, but, I thought by cutting to exact body measurements, then taking the normal seam allowances would do the trick, WRONG ANSWER. Ao, I guess a good tip here would be, don't use a knit fabric for a pattern that doesn't call for it. I would love to hear other's perspective on this...I'm ever learning. Thanks!
7/27/10 5:17 PM
Jonni Angel said...
...I actually think reading the other reviews that this dress would be better in a knit fabric! I'm going to be using this pattern again soon, and I agree with some of the other reviews that when you make it from a woven fabric, you have to make quite a few adjustments. I will be making mine out of knit fabric and I think I will make it 2 sizes smaller... I will let you know what happens!! ha ha!
1/4/11 2:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Winifred Dress Paper Pattern

Buy Now