Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5579 (Kimono Dress w/ Flutter Sleeve) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 422 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/27/10 10:34 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Twinset said...
This is a cute kimono dress! Thank you so much for reviewing this pattern. I have it in my stash and was very curious about how it would look on someone; I think I never made it 'cause I think the dress is really unflattering for the poor model on the envelope, but at the same time I was drawn to it 'cause the tech drawing looks good. I'm glad it worked for you and I might give it a try someday.
7/27/10 10:46 AM
Elizabeth made this said...
What a great dress. You had me at flutter sleeves. :) I'm surprised too that this pattern has been looked over. Thanks for the review.
7/27/10 2:08 PM
Mufffet said...
What a nice take on this pattern - I like the self-binding, which is something I particularly like to use to finish edges. I don't like the wide banding-facing stuff much. Us short people don't need all that. Your "obi" is a real knockout too - I love it! The width is great.
7/27/10 3:53 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Your picture should be on the pattern cover!! You look so nice in this dress...it's a shame the fabric is not holding up very well.
7/27/10 5:10 PM
FreyaStark said...
A stylish and distinctive dress, particularly with leggings and the obi.
7/27/10 5:49 PM
donna mel said...
Great kimono - but especially how you've paired it with your obi belt and leggings. Fun, comfy and stylish!
7/27/10 8:50 PM
dingyadi said...
Your dress looks fantastic, especially with the red belt. Terrific fabric choice for the style.
7/27/10 9:50 PM
marec said...
Cute, and especially with the leggings.
7/28/10 1:24 AM
becca a said...
Very cute kimono dress! Yours is so much nicer than the pattern envelope.
7/28/10 10:08 AM
o3b said...
You are way too cute in this!
7/28/10 2:36 PM
waltzqueen said...
I wish I had your tiny waist so I would look as good in this dress as you do! And I love it with leggings!
7/28/10 8:39 PM
carolynw said...
This is just so cute and nice - I love it!!!
7/28/10 9:40 PM
CreativeDiva said...
I love this! You've convinced me to stitch it up. Love the obi.
8/5/10 5:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2004-12
photo
Review by 21wale on 1/6/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Zip Away Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.05
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Lavender Handbag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Belle Bow Blouse
Belle Bow Blouse

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4136
photo
Review by DianaVodo on 4/20/11
Read Review

McCalls 6065 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )
McCalls 6065 Pattern ( Size 7-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4927 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 4927 Pattern( Size 3-4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us