SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2008-108 (tunic)

11 more reviews
Viewed 1037 times 
Reviewed by:Deepika
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Deepikastarstarstarstar
MA United States
Member since: 11/28/01
Reviews written: 352
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 287 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/10 1:37 PM
Last Updated:9/28/10 4:36 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FloraNature said...
Cute top, I like the pleats, and I think the colour is lovely!!!
7/30/10 1:53 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Glad we agree, Deepika... Saw the photo and thought, "No... not very flattering on 'ya." You're TOO PRETTY to wear this top!! ;) ;)
7/30/10 1:54 PM
drsue said...
Bummer, its not a great style on you anyway.
7/30/10 2:33 PM
Knitters Delight said...
I attempted this one and it was a wadder for me too. Oh well. It was cute on others, but not for me either.
7/30/10 3:26 PM
Sue Anfang said...
I like it! (Of course I just like the top) I think the colour is great - very sophisticated looking.
7/30/10 3:49 PM
ryansmumAria said...
If nothing else, you have a great figure!
7/30/10 5:24 PM
CynthiaSue said...
so great to have the summer tunic! glad to see you sewing. great fit on your top!
7/31/10 0:12 AM
becca a said...
It is so disappointing to work on something and then have it turn out to be less than you had imagined. I love the color on you, and agree that the back shaping is flattering.
7/31/10 0:13 AM
Jali said...
I think the style would have been nicer on you with longer sleeves. The colour is very flattering on you though without a doubt.
7/31/10 0:27 AM
Terri A said...
Great review! Thanks:-)
8/1/10 2:03 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I had basically the same problems with the top than you did. But I'm beginning to think that the main thing wrong with it is that the pleat looks funny when you're looking down at it from the face, because all of them actually look pretty nice in pictures on other people... It is comfortable, perfect for summer, and the sleeve shape is very good, which are nice traits.
8/4/10 5:48 AM
arianamaniacs said...
I actually like it, and the color is lovely. I do see what you mean about the pleats pulling open though. I wonder if you'd be happier with it if you put gathers instead of pleats on the front yoke.
8/9/10 1:21 PM
Deepika said...
Thanks everyone for such encouraging comments. arianamaniacs , I love that idea! I am definitely going to sew this again and I will put gathers. Thanks!!
8/10/10 7:59 AM
MissCelie said...
You're totally right about the way the pleat opens up in the front. But, I do love this cranberry / wine color on you.
8/10/10 9:19 AM
WildWyoming said...
Deepika, I loved this pattern in the magazine too, and yours is actually really cute on you. However, your hourglass figure is probably shown to greater advantage in a top with a more defined waistline, not necessarily fitted but a curve inward at the waist. Someone made a version in drapey satin tucked it in. Perhaps a drapier fabric belted would give you an effect you like better. Still, you actually look upscale in your custom sewn non-mall bought linen top. I'd wear it out if I were you.
9/28/10 10:52 PM
carolynw said...
I love the color on you - like the way it looks from the back but this is one time I have to say I agree with the reviewer - I am not at all sold on the front. You have a lovely little figure and this does not do anything to show that off. Bummer!!
9/28/10 11:05 PM
Renren said...
I guess I have lower standards than everyone else--I think it's cute. The color, the styling, the pleat, the linen, the neckline, the back view, everything. Maybe it's a sleeper and you will come to love it?
9/29/10 0:39 AM
Deepika said...
Since I wrote this review, this top has grown on me. I have worn it many times and am now considering making another one! I guess it was a sleeper
9/29/10 9:17 AM
Vintage Joan said...
It's cute! :) Deepika, your pattern info. link (and other reviewers' links as well) is leading to an out-of-date page from someone's photo collection.
9/29/10 9:52 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 3595

photo
by: meleliza

Review
McCall's 6185

photo
by: rachella

Review
Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Clara Dress Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Draped T-Dress Pattern

Buy Now