Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
La Mia Boutique Magazine: 07-2010-8 - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1068 times
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR
About michellep74starstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 140
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 104 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/10 3:22 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chicaem29 said...
Thanks for the review, Michelle, and for including your construction steps. I'm not exactly slim but I still might give this a try, if not this summer then next.
8/1/10 3:31 PM
crazygrad said...
Great review! And that pic is priceless!
8/1/10 4:06 PM
ChristineX said...
I get seduced by pictures, too. For some reason I always think I'll magically look like the model just as soon as I put the clothes on.
8/1/10 4:26 PM
Julia C said...
IMO of the 3 pictures (you,the model & the dummy) I actually like the picture on the dummy best. It does look better without the bottom band to me.
8/1/10 4:36 PM
Time4me said...
YOU are darling. Thanks for this review. It is VERY helpful.
8/1/10 8:20 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Michelle I didn't hate it on you. I understand the sausage casing comment but what the hell, we all have rolls.
8/1/10 9:34 PM
LynnRowe said...
PLEASE tell me you cut this off at the waistline for a top! The top part suits you fabulously and looks gorgeous!
8/1/10 11:24 PM
michellep74 said...
Lynn--I hadn't thought of that, but that's a great idea! I think I'll go ahead and do that. I *do* like the top part of it, so that would at least save that much.
8/2/10 1:16 AM
AdaH said...
Great save by Lynn. I have also been seduced by the picture on the pattern envelope in the last few weeks.
8/2/10 1:41 AM
Sew4Fun said...
As someone else said, your photo is priceless. Great review! Sorry it was a wadder but we all get seduced sometimes. It seemed like a good idea at the time. :)
8/2/10 1:57 AM
o3b said...
FABULOUS review for all the reasons already mentioned! Please post a pic and update with the cut off top.
8/2/10 3:01 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks for the review, even though it wasn't for you. I'm still hoping it'll work for me once I get past all my wedding sewing though!
8/2/10 6:18 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great review and thank you for posting it. And I agree with others about making it into a top. The color is great on you.
8/2/10 6:47 AM
Patti B said...
You are a brave woman and we love that! So, has it been cut off yet? It's worth a shot.
8/2/10 10:07 AM
msladyj said...
Thanks Michelle. Wont add this one to mine or daughter's list. Very helpful.
8/3/10 5:21 PM
lareine said...
The photo of you modelling this is hilarious. Thank you for such an honest and helpful review! :)
8/8/10 1:05 AM
moushka said...
Love your reviews in general, Michelle, as you're so much more fashion forward than I am. This one is so helpful for all the reasons stated. Thank you for publishing your photos. Hope you get a wearable top out of it. The bodice is very flattering on you and the colour is gorgeous :)
8/23/10 9:10 AM
ChristineX said...
Yes I hope you made it into a top, because the color is gorgeous and it's a great neckline on you.
8/28/10 2:14 PM
Doctor Sister said...
love the expression and gesture in your picture. Thanks for the reminder of 'rules for picking patterns." I have my own and am always really sorry when I break them.
9/4/10 1:05 PM
JuneHawk said...
Honestly, it doesn't look bad on you and that's coming from someone who is allergic so showing her bumps and lumps. I would LOVE to have that pattern but it's easier to nail Jell-o to a tree than to find specific issues of La Mia Boutique.
1/23/11 11:16 AM
USMCMom said...
Well, I can see why you were seduced by the pic! Gorgeous dress. But so sorry it didn't work out for you. I think we all have blind spots where clothes/fabric are concerned. We fall in love with a look or a fabric and convince ourselves we can "make it work"! My particular downfall is blindly buying any pattern that gets a lot of "highly recommended" reviews or that gets selected a pattern of the year without looking closely at the body types of the reviewers. I'm also a sucker for the words "universally flattering".
8/2/12 7:47 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by edupraz on 2/26/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8767 Vintage Vogue
photo
Review by calypso on 10/17/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us