SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> La Mia Boutique Magazine> 07-2010-8 

Viewed 1127 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 109 people
patterns reviewed: 133
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/10 3:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
chicaem29 said...
Thanks for the review, Michelle, and for including your construction steps. I'm not exactly slim but I still might give this a try, if not this summer then next.
8/1/10 3:31 PM
crazygrad said...
Great review! And that pic is priceless!
8/1/10 4:06 PM
ChristineX said...
I get seduced by pictures, too. For some reason I always think I'll magically look like the model just as soon as I put the clothes on.
8/1/10 4:26 PM
Julia C said...
IMO of the 3 pictures (you,the model & the dummy) I actually like the picture on the dummy best. It does look better without the bottom band to me.
8/1/10 4:36 PM
Time4me said...
YOU are darling. Thanks for this review. It is VERY helpful.
8/1/10 8:20 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Michelle I didn't hate it on you. I understand the sausage casing comment but what the hell, we all have rolls.
8/1/10 9:34 PM
LynnRowe said...
PLEASE tell me you cut this off at the waistline for a top! The top part suits you fabulously and looks gorgeous!
8/1/10 11:24 PM
michellep74 said...
Lynn--I hadn't thought of that, but that's a great idea! I think I'll go ahead and do that. I *do* like the top part of it, so that would at least save that much.
8/2/10 1:16 AM
AdaH said...
Great save by Lynn. I have also been seduced by the picture on the pattern envelope in the last few weeks.
8/2/10 1:41 AM
Sew4Fun said...
As someone else said, your photo is priceless. Great review! Sorry it was a wadder but we all get seduced sometimes. It seemed like a good idea at the time. :)
8/2/10 1:57 AM
o3b said...
FABULOUS review for all the reasons already mentioned! Please post a pic and update with the cut off top.
8/2/10 3:01 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks for the review, even though it wasn't for you. I'm still hoping it'll work for me once I get past all my wedding sewing though!
8/2/10 6:18 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great review and thank you for posting it. And I agree with others about making it into a top. The color is great on you.
8/2/10 6:47 AM
Patti B said...
You are a brave woman and we love that! So, has it been cut off yet? It's worth a shot.
8/2/10 10:07 AM
msladyj said...
Thanks Michelle. Wont add this one to mine or daughter's list. Very helpful.
8/3/10 5:21 PM
lareine said...
The photo of you modelling this is hilarious. Thank you for such an honest and helpful review! :)
8/8/10 1:05 AM
moushka said...
Love your reviews in general, Michelle, as you're so much more fashion forward than I am. This one is so helpful for all the reasons stated. Thank you for publishing your photos. Hope you get a wearable top out of it. The bodice is very flattering on you and the colour is gorgeous :)
8/23/10 9:10 AM
ChristineX said...
Yes I hope you made it into a top, because the color is gorgeous and it's a great neckline on you.
8/28/10 2:14 PM
Doctor Sister said...
love the expression and gesture in your picture. Thanks for the reminder of 'rules for picking patterns." I have my own and am always really sorry when I break them.
9/4/10 1:05 PM
JuneHawk said...
Honestly, it doesn't look bad on you and that's coming from someone who is allergic so showing her bumps and lumps. I would LOVE to have that pattern but it's easier to nail Jell-o to a tree than to find specific issues of La Mia Boutique.
1/23/11 11:16 AM
USMCMom said...
Well, I can see why you were seduced by the pic! Gorgeous dress. But so sorry it didn't work out for you. I think we all have blind spots where clothes/fabric are concerned. We fall in love with a look or a fabric and convince ourselves we can "make it work"! My particular downfall is blindly buying any pattern that gets a lot of "highly recommended" reviews or that gets selected a pattern of the year without looking closely at the body types of the reviewers. I'm also a sucker for the words "universally flattering".
8/2/12 7:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Kwik Sew 2952

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Indygo Junction IJ874

photo
by: susandf

Review
Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Petite Plus Patterns Easy Wrap Dress

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now