SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> La Mia Boutique Magazine> 07-2010-8 

Viewed 1176 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 163
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 113 people
patterns reviewed: 139
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/10 3:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
USMCMom said...
Well, I can see why you were seduced by the pic! Gorgeous dress. But so sorry it didn't work out for you. I think we all have blind spots where clothes/fabric are concerned. We fall in love with a look or a fabric and convince ourselves we can "make it work"! My particular downfall is blindly buying any pattern that gets a lot of "highly recommended" reviews or that gets selected a pattern of the year without looking closely at the body types of the reviewers. I'm also a sucker for the words "universally flattering".
8/2/12 7:47 PM
JuneHawk said...
Honestly, it doesn't look bad on you and that's coming from someone who is allergic so showing her bumps and lumps. I would LOVE to have that pattern but it's easier to nail Jell-o to a tree than to find specific issues of La Mia Boutique.
1/23/11 11:16 AM
Doctor Sister said...
love the expression and gesture in your picture. Thanks for the reminder of 'rules for picking patterns." I have my own and am always really sorry when I break them.
9/4/10 1:05 PM
ChristineX said...
Yes I hope you made it into a top, because the color is gorgeous and it's a great neckline on you.
8/28/10 2:14 PM
moushka said...
Love your reviews in general, Michelle, as you're so much more fashion forward than I am. This one is so helpful for all the reasons stated. Thank you for publishing your photos. Hope you get a wearable top out of it. The bodice is very flattering on you and the colour is gorgeous :)
8/23/10 9:10 AM
lareine said...
The photo of you modelling this is hilarious. Thank you for such an honest and helpful review! :)
8/8/10 1:05 AM
msladyj said...
Thanks Michelle. Wont add this one to mine or daughter's list. Very helpful.
8/3/10 5:21 PM
Patti B said...
You are a brave woman and we love that! So, has it been cut off yet? It's worth a shot.
8/2/10 10:07 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great review and thank you for posting it. And I agree with others about making it into a top. The color is great on you.
8/2/10 6:47 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks for the review, even though it wasn't for you. I'm still hoping it'll work for me once I get past all my wedding sewing though!
8/2/10 6:18 AM
o3b said...
FABULOUS review for all the reasons already mentioned! Please post a pic and update with the cut off top.
8/2/10 3:01 AM
Sew4Fun said...
As someone else said, your photo is priceless. Great review! Sorry it was a wadder but we all get seduced sometimes. It seemed like a good idea at the time. :)
8/2/10 1:57 AM
AdaH said...
Great save by Lynn. I have also been seduced by the picture on the pattern envelope in the last few weeks.
8/2/10 1:41 AM
michellep74 said...
Lynn--I hadn't thought of that, but that's a great idea! I think I'll go ahead and do that. I *do* like the top part of it, so that would at least save that much.
8/2/10 1:16 AM
LynnRowe said...
PLEASE tell me you cut this off at the waistline for a top! The top part suits you fabulously and looks gorgeous!
8/1/10 11:24 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Michelle I didn't hate it on you. I understand the sausage casing comment but what the hell, we all have rolls.
8/1/10 9:34 PM
Time4me said...
YOU are darling. Thanks for this review. It is VERY helpful.
8/1/10 8:20 PM
Julia C said...
IMO of the 3 pictures (you,the model & the dummy) I actually like the picture on the dummy best. It does look better without the bottom band to me.
8/1/10 4:36 PM
ChristineX said...
I get seduced by pictures, too. For some reason I always think I'll magically look like the model just as soon as I put the clothes on.
8/1/10 4:26 PM
crazygrad said...
Great review! And that pic is priceless!
8/1/10 4:06 PM
chicaem29 said...
Thanks for the review, Michelle, and for including your construction steps. I'm not exactly slim but I still might give this a try, if not this summer then next.
8/1/10 3:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

StyleArc Tiffany Blouse

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 03-2013-107

photo
by: crisford

Review
Checkbook Cover

Checkbook Cover

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now