SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> La Mia Boutique Magazine> 07-2010-8 

Viewed 1159 times 
Reviewed by:michellep74
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About michellep74starstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 7/19/07
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 138
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/1/10 3:22 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
USMCMom said...
Well, I can see why you were seduced by the pic! Gorgeous dress. But so sorry it didn't work out for you. I think we all have blind spots where clothes/fabric are concerned. We fall in love with a look or a fabric and convince ourselves we can "make it work"! My particular downfall is blindly buying any pattern that gets a lot of "highly recommended" reviews or that gets selected a pattern of the year without looking closely at the body types of the reviewers. I'm also a sucker for the words "universally flattering".
8/2/12 7:47 PM
JuneHawk said...
Honestly, it doesn't look bad on you and that's coming from someone who is allergic so showing her bumps and lumps. I would LOVE to have that pattern but it's easier to nail Jell-o to a tree than to find specific issues of La Mia Boutique.
1/23/11 11:16 AM
Doctor Sister said...
love the expression and gesture in your picture. Thanks for the reminder of 'rules for picking patterns." I have my own and am always really sorry when I break them.
9/4/10 1:05 PM
ChristineX said...
Yes I hope you made it into a top, because the color is gorgeous and it's a great neckline on you.
8/28/10 2:14 PM
moushka said...
Love your reviews in general, Michelle, as you're so much more fashion forward than I am. This one is so helpful for all the reasons stated. Thank you for publishing your photos. Hope you get a wearable top out of it. The bodice is very flattering on you and the colour is gorgeous :)
8/23/10 9:10 AM
lareine said...
The photo of you modelling this is hilarious. Thank you for such an honest and helpful review! :)
8/8/10 1:05 AM
msladyj said...
Thanks Michelle. Wont add this one to mine or daughter's list. Very helpful.
8/3/10 5:21 PM
Patti B said...
You are a brave woman and we love that! So, has it been cut off yet? It's worth a shot.
8/2/10 10:07 AM
Rebecca D said...
Great review and thank you for posting it. And I agree with others about making it into a top. The color is great on you.
8/2/10 6:47 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks for the review, even though it wasn't for you. I'm still hoping it'll work for me once I get past all my wedding sewing though!
8/2/10 6:18 AM
o3b said...
FABULOUS review for all the reasons already mentioned! Please post a pic and update with the cut off top.
8/2/10 3:01 AM
Sew4Fun said...
As someone else said, your photo is priceless. Great review! Sorry it was a wadder but we all get seduced sometimes. It seemed like a good idea at the time. :)
8/2/10 1:57 AM
AdaH said...
Great save by Lynn. I have also been seduced by the picture on the pattern envelope in the last few weeks.
8/2/10 1:41 AM
michellep74 said...
Lynn--I hadn't thought of that, but that's a great idea! I think I'll go ahead and do that. I *do* like the top part of it, so that would at least save that much.
8/2/10 1:16 AM
LynnRowe said...
PLEASE tell me you cut this off at the waistline for a top! The top part suits you fabulously and looks gorgeous!
8/1/10 11:24 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Michelle I didn't hate it on you. I understand the sausage casing comment but what the hell, we all have rolls.
8/1/10 9:34 PM
Time4me said...
YOU are darling. Thanks for this review. It is VERY helpful.
8/1/10 8:20 PM
Julia C said...
IMO of the 3 pictures (you,the model & the dummy) I actually like the picture on the dummy best. It does look better without the bottom band to me.
8/1/10 4:36 PM
ChristineX said...
I get seduced by pictures, too. For some reason I always think I'll magically look like the model just as soon as I put the clothes on.
8/1/10 4:26 PM
crazygrad said...
Great review! And that pic is priceless!
8/1/10 4:06 PM
chicaem29 said...
Thanks for the review, Michelle, and for including your construction steps. I'm not exactly slim but I still might give this a try, if not this summer then next.
8/1/10 3:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

More Info
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

More Info
Simplicity 2176

photo
by: tanyamaile

Review