Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Hollywood: 910 (One-piece belted dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 458 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 120 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/4/10 8:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
gabrielle said...
I've had a trying day, and it was so nice to see another project showcased by the ever-lovely cousin Cathy. Great fun, and I love the dress. She makes all the other people in the street look sort of schlumpy, but I'm sure they were inspired nonetheless.
8/4/10 8:37 PM
birdmcfarland said...
Lovely!! She looks like a movie star.
8/4/10 9:06 PM
mollyshark said...
This one is a beauty for sure. Another great frock.
8/4/10 11:04 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, this reminds me of Lauren Bacall...I love it! Cathy must be the most well dressed woman in NY! Also, the story is the most creative and entertaining thing ever. I love them every time. I also think she should keep looking, there are lots more fish in the sea. :)
8/4/10 11:13 PM
carolynw said...
Peter your work is amazing and I sdo love when Cathy visits - I think she should keep looking - not go back to Sidney!! Such fun to read your review!!
8/4/10 11:23 PM
drsue said...
Quite terrific. Cathy was made for this vintage dress.
8/4/10 11:26 PM
Schnauzer said...
Beautiful dress, Peter. Cathy's a very lucky girl!
8/5/10 0:42 AM
Athene said...
Great dress, great story, and love the veiled turban.
8/5/10 4:18 AM
FreyaStark said...
Another lovely frock, accessorized to perfection as ever, and a heart-rending human story to go with it.
8/5/10 5:45 AM
Tarrbaby said...
I work as an alterations seamstress in a bridal shop and we all gather around the computer to enjoy your stories and your workmanship. Lovely and keep the reviews coming as they brighten our somewhat hectic(May-Oct.) schedule. Plus the stories help put the bridezilla's rants into perspective. Great dress.
8/5/10 8:03 AM
crazygrad said...
Mame!
8/5/10 8:59 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Cathy looks fabulous in her vintage-era dress! Perfectly accessorized, as always. Enjoyed the photo montage!
8/5/10 9:37 AM
cindyann said...
Another lovely dress! What a fun story.
8/5/10 9:59 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks, all! This was one of my personal favorites .
8/5/10 10:12 AM
JEF said...
Very pretty and once again, loving your reviews.
8/5/10 10:17 AM
MichelleE said...
Forget Sidney, Cathy has all of NY to conquer! Great dress, and story.
8/5/10 10:43 AM
okie2thdoc said...
Fabulous photos and story. Go Cathy!
8/5/10 10:59 AM
msmull3562 said...
I love the wonderful vintage dresses you have sewn. They are wonderful. Great pix. I have a great stash of vintage patterns but have been a little intimidated to start on them because of sizing issues - I am 6 ft tall and size 14 RTW.
8/5/10 12:01 PM
TracyTheMaterialGirl said...
Cathy is my new style icon! A beautiful dress. Showcased to perfection.
8/5/10 12:26 PM
waltzqueen said...
I LOVE the fabric and the dress is terrific. I helps that Cathy knows how to accessorize and wears clothes so well!
8/5/10 2:12 PM
crazycurlgirl said...
Love, love, love the slide show! Cathy leads the most exciting life.
8/5/10 7:46 PM
HLT said...
Very Fab!
8/8/10 0:59 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Kwik Sew 2530 Men Shirts
photo
Review by novicesewi... on 2/13/11
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)
Jamie Christina Bibury Capelet Digital Pattern (JC302BC)

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by CJgal on 8/28/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 504 Pattern
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1818 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5613 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us