SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5484 (Misses' Top, Tunic and Dress)

8 more reviews
Viewed 538 times 
Reviewed by:Nan Kay
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nan Kaystar
MO USA
Member since: 5/27/09
Reviews written: 60
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 14 people
patterns reviewed: 57
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/5/10 11:14 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julie w said...
Lovely top, very flattering.
8/5/10 11:32 PM
Barbara V said...
Your top is really cute and looks great on you. The buckle is a nice addition.
8/5/10 11:57 PM
Mazzygirl said...
really nice, this is one pattern I've earmearked to try, & yours looks great. just curious, is this the same shaped pattern piece as the twist front?
8/6/10 3:54 AM
eugenia123 said...
Great top - I love that front draping with the buckle.
8/6/10 4:43 AM
Nan Kay said...
Mazzygirl, I don't know which twist front you mean. this front just has the left through the buckle with the right being gathered under the left but not attached to it, if that makes any sense! As I said, reading the instructions was painful but the diagrams work! They call the left front the piece that is on the lower left, but it is the upper right so reading just confused me!
8/6/10 8:39 AM
Woolygal said...
I like it a lot.
8/6/10 9:19 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Great top! I just finished making mine yesterday and love it too. Yes , note about instructions, they have their lefts and rights reversed. Indeed just go by looking at diagrams and you will be fine. And Mazzy girl, the front is very similar to reg twist top patterns, in fact you could probably use a reg twist top pattern to make this , slip buckle on one front side before, gather other front side and then joining under bust seams . The buckle takes place of the twist. And yes it runs a tad big, not fitted like pattern says.
8/6/10 11:35 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Cute top.
8/6/10 12:54 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Nice to know about this top fitting a little big. I tried a similar top (B5495) and was quite surprised at how fitted it ended up being. This one might work better for me. Love the buckle you used.
8/6/10 2:22 PM
1SewSweet said...
This is really lovely! I love these style tops! Beautiful work!
8/7/10 7:29 AM
HLT said...
This is very flattering on you! I love this color!
8/8/10 0:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

McCall's 6201

photo
by: DianaFF

Review
Vogue Patterns 1257

photo
by: mesewlot

Review
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now