SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4743 (1980s Wedding Dress - Fergie)

1 more reviews
Viewed 343 times 
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo

 
 
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/10 10:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
timetravelcostumes said...
kittykate - Personally, I agree with you about the Big Ass Bow trend. In fact, among my friends we like to tell one another that "Friends don't let friends wear Butt Bows."
8/22/10 8:32 AM
kittykate said...
Fun! Good note about the princess seams not drawn correctly. This gives me a great flashback to the 1980's, apparently since they're in fashion again, and I think this dress was the start of the Big Ass Bow trend. That 1980 fashion detail can stay in 1980. This is such a classic gown Thanks again for the review.
8/16/10 9:14 AM
Auntie Susan said...
OMG! I got married in this dress in 1988 (back when I had a 26" waist)! Exact same pattern, same fabric. I actually found the pattern last year when I moved - and threw it out since it didn't feel right having it in the house with the new marriage. The dress itself went to the Salvation Army years ago as it yellowed in the "air-tight" hermetically sealed box. My mother and I made the dress together. The only difference is that we omitted the shoulder bows, added beaded lace as an overlay on the bodice and appliqued it on the train in various spots. Unfortunately, that marriage lasted only 5 years, but now I am happily married for the 2nd time and decided to splurge on an Alfred Sung designer gown for this marriage.
8/15/10 7:35 PM
Sewnla said...
What a gorgeous gown. Thanks for taking so many pictures. What a wonderful job!
8/15/10 1:45 AM
mary in FL said...
I made that dress for my wedding in 1991! Yours turned out really well.
8/14/10 4:03 PM
Aroura said...
Beautiful! I went and looked up images of Fergie's dress, and yours is a fantastic reproduction! I'm sure your customer was very happy. Your butterick pattern link isn't working though :( Beaautiful dress, very helpful review, thanks.
8/14/10 12:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

McCall's 8678

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
New Look 6309

photo
by: zoeope

Review
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

More Info
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info