SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4743 (1980s Wedding Dress - Fergie)

1 more reviews
Viewed 341 times 
Reviewed by:timetravelcostumes
photo

 
 
About timetravelcostumesstar
FL USA
Member since: 1/28/09
Reviews written: 27
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 27
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/10 10:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
6 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
Beautiful! I went and looked up images of Fergie's dress, and yours is a fantastic reproduction! I'm sure your customer was very happy. Your butterick pattern link isn't working though :( Beaautiful dress, very helpful review, thanks.
8/14/10 12:37 PM
mary in FL said...
I made that dress for my wedding in 1991! Yours turned out really well.
8/14/10 4:03 PM
Sewnla said...
What a gorgeous gown. Thanks for taking so many pictures. What a wonderful job!
8/15/10 1:45 AM
Auntie Susan said...
OMG! I got married in this dress in 1988 (back when I had a 26" waist)! Exact same pattern, same fabric. I actually found the pattern last year when I moved - and threw it out since it didn't feel right having it in the house with the new marriage. The dress itself went to the Salvation Army years ago as it yellowed in the "air-tight" hermetically sealed box. My mother and I made the dress together. The only difference is that we omitted the shoulder bows, added beaded lace as an overlay on the bodice and appliqued it on the train in various spots. Unfortunately, that marriage lasted only 5 years, but now I am happily married for the 2nd time and decided to splurge on an Alfred Sung designer gown for this marriage.
8/15/10 7:35 PM
kittykate said...
Fun! Good note about the princess seams not drawn correctly. This gives me a great flashback to the 1980's, apparently since they're in fashion again, and I think this dress was the start of the Big Ass Bow trend. That 1980 fashion detail can stay in 1980. This is such a classic gown Thanks again for the review.
8/16/10 9:14 AM
timetravelcostumes said...
kittykate - Personally, I agree with you about the Big Ass Bow trend. In fact, among my friends we like to tell one another that "Friends don't let friends wear Butt Bows."
8/22/10 8:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

The Technique of Underlining Garments
The Technique of Underlining Garments

Register

Vogue Patterns 8593

photo
by: Nan Kay

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 162225-1002

photo
by: UglyCute

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

SewBaby Bath Puppet Pals Pattern

Buy Now