Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 2442 (Special Occasion) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 840 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/14/10 10:55 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $17.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $17.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
Lovely dress, lovely daughter.
8/15/10 0:18 AM
sewmytime said...
very pretty dress!
8/15/10 1:18 AM
coolobreeze said...
Pretty dress on your pretty daughter-- Your review is very thorough and helpful.
8/15/10 8:14 AM
Rhonda Noah said...
Pretty dress & yes your daughter has grown into a lovely young woman. Your review is excellent, does a great job at describing what to watch out for in construction. I like the change to a neck tie also. It makes a pretty bow in the back.
8/15/10 8:52 AM
becca a said...
Both she and the dress are beautiful.
8/15/10 9:03 AM
carolynw said...
Lisa this looks terrific - all your good work sure paid off - it may be made from inexpensive fabric but it looks $$$$. Great review
8/15/10 9:46 AM
CarolynGM said...
Excellent review. The dress looks wonderful on your daughter.
8/15/10 10:21 AM
Mazzygirl said...
that looks great, you should definitely make her another one as it looks really nice on her! great review too!
8/15/10 10:22 AM
sewbehind said...
Your daughter looks great. Lovely dress, great review.
8/15/10 10:38 AM
whirrclunk said...
Lovely! I would have raised the crossover too :) It looks fine with the cami. I can't spot any bulk in the CB. Very nice fit, I hope that it will get lots of wear!
8/15/10 12:02 PM
RLL said...
This does look lovely and is great on your dtr. Funny, are you sure we don't have the same dtr. You certainly described my dtrs wishes/reactions to a T!
8/15/10 1:21 PM
Kathy in NM said...
This dress fits your daughter nicely - great color for her. It is funny how they one day decide mom can sew cool things, and would you mind changing this, oh, and this....... : ) She looks great in the dress and her "cinderella glass slippers" too!
8/15/10 4:00 PM
jennikatten said...
I have been wondering about this pattern. It looks great!
8/16/10 7:50 PM
AnitaJJ said...
very pretty
8/17/10 11:40 AM
Lynn67 said...
I think the dress is absolutely beautiful, despite the cheap fabric and the issues you mentioned (I'm a bit cheap myself). Glad all that work paid off - it really does look gorgeous.
1/14/11 7:38 PM
DDsewingmama said...
The dress is very pretty I have a question I am making the same dress but I'm having problems with the band under the arms it seems to want to come forward and look like wings!! If you could help that would be great!!
3/30/11 11:51 AM
Lisa Laree said...
DDSewingmama, I sent you a PM...don't know if I can help much or not...
3/31/11 8:51 AM
spookyginger said...
THANK YOU for the comment about the straps. I've been struggling with them because like you said, you have to sew convex to concave and it's very counterintuitive. The retro style of the straps are what attracted me to the dress in the first place! I'm using it as a (gasp!) wedding dress and it has to be perfect so I'm glad this is just the muslin.
7/10/13 6:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Vogue Patterns 8411
photo
Review by edupraz on 2/26/09
Read Review

Christine Jonson Straight Shirt
Christine Jonson Straight Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern
SewBaby Clutter Catchers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )
Peek-A Boo Skinny Jeans Digital Pattern ( Size 12 mo -10 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8767 Vintage Vogue
photo
Review by calypso on 10/17/11
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3509 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Vogue 8346 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us