SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> V8430 (UNLINED FELTED JACKET)

1 more reviews
Viewed 483 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 130
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 54 people
patterns reviewed: 125
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/4/10 5:11 AM
Last Updated:9/4/10 5:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Bunny7 said...
I am getting ready to make this, I've waited long enough, and was so happy to find your very detailed review of Marcy's pattern. Thank you. Your jacket is stunning and makes me eager to get started on mine. Thanks again for a great review.
2/17/11 7:32 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW, you really dressed this jacket up! I love the details that you've added with your raincoat fabric, as well as the extra length. I've been wanting some boiled wool myself, and you've about talked me into it -- ha! I did find some in several colors online at Mood. :o)
9/8/10 10:29 PM
ChristineBR said...
I had made this and had some of the same concerns about the edges and the body. You did a great job of saving everything for the future! It 's a lovely coat.
9/5/10 5:38 PM
Schnauzer said...
What a lovely jacket!
9/5/10 6:12 AM
Athene said...
A wonderful jacket.
9/5/10 5:25 AM
lesliez said...
I love your version of this pattern!
9/5/10 0:22 AM
lamstu said...
Great jacket. Your idea to make the mitered corners first is one that I have used before. (To get even top-stitching on both sides requires hand basting for me.) I love seeing how you adapted this pattern to your own purposes!
9/4/10 11:33 PM
sewbehind said...
Me too, I'm surprised with the fabulous results and the pattern that you used. Looks great. Thanks to your review, this pattern is going on my wish list.
9/4/10 5:57 PM
marthamyers said...
Gorgeous - I love your interpretation of this pattern!
9/4/10 3:12 PM
Elona said...
Gosh, this looks SO much more attractive than the original! I mean, no comparison. I do agree with you about boiled wool. The stereotype is of a rather stiff, thick fabric, but it comes in many weights, and I love the ones that are just slightly heavier than a normal sweater. Saw a lot of them in France (and bought a shameful number). There are no facings; the edges of even the tailored-looked ones hold their line beautifully with just a row of topstitching about 1/4" from the cut edge.
9/4/10 11:41 AM
moushka said...
Love your jacket. I agree with clin - I did not recognize your version of the pattern. The added length would make it much more wearable for me, too. Thanks for figuring out just how much to add! The binding and belt work so well, brilliant addition.
9/4/10 11:18 AM
carolynw said...
Talk about a jaw dropping moment - I just love your jacket but when I realised which pattern you had used my re-action was "no way" - thank goodness I still have that pattern in my stash - this gives it a whole new dimension. Did I tell you already that I love your jacket!!
9/4/10 9:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Vogue Patterns 8821 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Sewing Workshop Siena & Cortona Shirts

Buy Now
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now