Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1014 (MISSES' DRESS) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1181 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 16 people   
Reviewed by:ssssdeb
photo
Friend of PR
About ssssdebstar
UT USA
Member since: 11/3/08
Reviews written: 90
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 73
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/10 3:05 PM
Last Updated:9/26/10 9:25 PM


See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
drsue said...
Yikes! thanks for the heads up.
8/21/10 3:43 PM
SusiM said...
Wow..what a bummer. I really like the dress, though.
8/21/10 5:05 PM
lesleysews said...
I think it looks great and you did a good job I ams sure you will get many compliments
8/21/10 5:09 PM
eugenia123 said...
Sounds like it was a bit of a nightmare to sew - but your finished version does look fabulous and it is a very striking and interesting style.
8/21/10 5:51 PM
moushka said...
Sorry this was such an unsatisfying project but the results are lovely. You'll look terrific at the wedding. It's really a very flattering style and your wear it well.
8/21/10 8:20 PM
Aixoise said...
Your dress fits so well and is so becoming that maybe one day you'll discover that you like it despite the pattern challenges. Bravo for persevering!
8/21/10 9:07 PM
carolynw said...
I know you had problems but this dress is beautiful -it looks so classy and fits perfectly - hope you will wear it lots -I am sure you'll get compliments!
8/21/10 10:02 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Bless your heart! Sorry about the difficulties you encountered. However, I think the dress is quite lovely. I think you'll enjoy wearing the dress after you have time to recover from the agony you suffered while sewing it.
8/21/10 11:18 PM
ChristmasHills said...
Beautiful. Just you wait til after that wedding. You will be floating on air with the compliments!!
8/22/10 0:46 AM
ssssdeb said...
You are all so nice. Thank you. Right now I'm just glad it's done :) I will post a new picture later. But I still won't be sewing this one again.
8/22/10 6:40 PM
pammieh said...
Wow! Awesome review and to be honest it looks great on you!
9/26/10 10:50 PM
SusiM said...
RE: your update. The dress looks very pretty on you, just to let you know. -But thank you for your insights and honesty about the pattern's shortcomings. That is what I appreciate about the reviews we post. I like functional fashion and fashion that doesn't require pain. It's helpful to know how styles actually perform when not on the runway. It is most satisfying to free oneself from a garment that is a pain-in-the-butt to wear. -To finally get rid of it! I would bet there's a lady who would be delighted to have it when you are done with it.
9/27/10 0:46 AM
MaryDB said...
So sorry your experience was not pleasant. But - I must say, the dress looks terrific on you and your work looks faultless.
9/27/10 2:48 AM
AuntieShel said...
The dress looks great on you, so I was surprised to see "would not recommend." Understood when I read why! That's a shame, because it really is a beautiful dress that looks perfect on you. I totally understand, though, can't stand to have to fuss with my clothes.
9/27/10 10:50 AM
mochimo said...
What a pity this dress was a problem to wear. Because it looks gorgeous on you!
9/27/10 1:32 PM
MNBarb said...
The dress looks great on you! What a frustrating sewing experience. I agree that both the thumbs-up and thumbs-down reviews are very helpful.
9/27/10 7:31 PM
Shiraazia said...
I appreciate your honest review.I bought this pattern Last year(2010),thinking it looks so awesome.when I have cut out the pattern,I soon realised that it was going to be a nightmare sewing it.I was adviced to use jersey-type material.What a let down ;(
6/29/11 11:18 AM
westiefriend said...
In case you wish to sell the dress. email me: westiefriend@comporium.net. I'm having a light lavender longer length one made - very expensive - and was disappointed at the first fitting! SK
2/15/12 8:33 PM
ssssdeb said...
I no longer have the dress. I hope yours turns out and the first fitting was eye opening for the dress maker.
2/16/12 1:03 PM
Bethelain said...
I just found this site, looking in particular for this pattern. this review is right on. i am making it right now and i am talented. i am so confused it's incredible! so if you love it, be careful. i do not recommend it either. thanks so much for the review and p.s. omit the zipper if at all possible.
3/6/13 10:49 PM
ticklememom said...
Wish I had found this review before I started the dress. Another reviewer said to be sure to follow the markings. So true! There are so many marking...lg dots, sm dots, squares, triangles...that I tailor tacked them in different colors. That helped alot. The funky split in the front of the dress is making me crazy...will need to do some creative tacking. After trying to figure out the zipper directions, I finally ignored them because I know how to put in an invisible zipper. As soon as I ignored, it went right in. Fitting is a nightmare. Even though I used the correct size according to measurements, its too snug in the hips and hangs funny on the chest. Again more creativity required. If I hadn't already committed to this dress for my daughter's wedding, it would be history. I have more nightmares ahead because I will be traveling in SE Asia for 3 weeks prior to the wedding and expect that I will drop a few pounds before the big day. The only good news....I bought the pattern, fabric and lining on sale. Only have $35 invested but hours/days of my time. Still wondering if I should abort while I still have time. Part of me refuses to get 'beat' by this pattern.
7/1/13 7:12 PM
ssssdeb said...
ticklememom: Keep at it. You have gone this far and you sound like you know what you are doing. I was just going through some old stuff and lo' and behold, I still have this dress. I thought I got rid of it. I know I got rid of the pattern. It's really pretty. I hate the way the zipper is at the top of the neckline still, and the gaping front slit but in a way I'm glad I saved it. Maybe I can figure out how to fix those two problems now that it's about 3 years later!!!
7/2/13 3:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2648 Misses
photo
Review by staymay on 5/9/13
Read Review

Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Kimono Sleeve Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Maddie Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2788 Twist Top
photo
Review by MelC on 8/23/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse
Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6517 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
McCalls 6517 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1136 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1136 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us