SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1177 (Misses/Misses' Petite Dress an)

8 more reviews
Viewed 687 times 
Reviewed by:Foozy
photo

 
 
About Foozystar
WA USA
Member since: 8/21/10
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/21/10 7:07 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lovenicky said...
Sorry you had such a hard time with this pattern. But it's good that you can wear it after all that hard work! Thanks for the detailed review. I am nowhere near your level of sewing expertise so I will stay away from this pattern!
8/21/10 7:57 PM
moushka said...
Beautiful dress! Thanks for such a thorough review. I love the pattern and your dress is really inspiring me. Since I don't have much opportunity to wear dresses, do you think this would work as a tunic, without the skirt part? Despite the work of the pintucks, I think the results are worth it.
8/21/10 8:14 PM
JanieBee said...
Looks lovely. It would be nice to see a photo of whole garment.
8/21/10 8:38 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Excellent result... looks pretty... and world class review. Informative & entertaining to us PR readers... many thanks!
8/22/10 9:39 AM
becca a said...
All that pleating looks lovely in your picture--what a lot of hard work.
8/22/10 10:38 AM
Foozy said...
To Moushka -- it would definitely work as a tunic. I had hoped to wear it that way myself, with leggings, but it turned out to be too long. That said, I wore it to dinner last night bare-legged with sandals and it was perfect. To JaneBe: thanks so much! I did have a whole garment photo but it didn't upload. (I'll get the hang of this eventually!) And the photo didn't tell you much more about the garment anyway. To all: When I finished this dress, I was just bursting with ideas to improve it, and, though I always write extensive notes to myself on the pattern envelope, it didn't seem like enough. I googled the pattern # and VOILA! up comes this site! What a fantastically useful place!
8/22/10 3:50 PM
barbcl said...
What you've photographed shows a really lovely garment. Thanks for the fantastic review. Congratulations on your success in making the pattern.
8/22/10 8:50 PM
janet said...
Gorgeous dress, can't wait to see you in a photo wearing it!
8/23/10 5:55 PM
donna mel said...
Great review. I'm a tiny pleat lover, but yikes, this pattern sounds scary! Would love to see more photos!!
8/24/10 9:07 PM
Foozy said...
To Donna Mel: the pleats are tedious, but not scary, once you discard the instructions ;) And very, very pretty.
8/25/10 8:04 PM
MidnightBleu said...
Thanks so much for writing this review! I bought this pattern on Ebay and am going to make it for our anniversary dinner on the 25th. Your call on lengthing the top and sewing the casing (as 1 piece, not 3) is a great tip for this pattern. It's one of those things you wouldn't think about until you started sewing. Kudos, Foozy, you've made my life easier. Beautiful job on the dress. Great review.
5/18/12 12:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

New Look 6130

photo
by: kaustin316...

Review
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Buy Now
McCall's 6282

photo
by: mangoflavo...

Review

Pattern