Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2010-140 (Off the Shoulder Blouse) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 435 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:snuzal
photo
About snuzalstar
NA NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 7/7/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 17 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:8/26/10 2:10 AM
Last Updated:8/26/10 2:13 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
margk said...
Lovely top. I like your rolled hem. This pattern will be great for summer.
8/26/10 2:43 AM
JenniferBee said...
Very Nice. Love your cool tag!
8/26/10 3:46 AM
RoseFromThule said...
Love it, it's nice and very cleanly finished :) (And your tag is really beautiful).
8/26/10 4:57 AM
Rebecca D said...
Looks great on you and I think the length works.
8/26/10 6:28 AM
Annette Wright said...
I love the closeup photos of your work, it looks wonderful. I really think the length is perfect, longer will work if it's pants maybe, but with the skirt it's just right on. And I do think a little waist sash/tie would work too. Such a cute top.
8/26/10 7:28 AM
waikikimum said...
Oooh Emma love that fabric. Your top is gorgeous and where did you get that tag made. Very fancy!!
8/26/10 7:36 AM
dingyadi said...
Great top! Looks gorgeous.
8/26/10 8:16 AM
nicegirl said...
Very cute! I actually like it with the wide neckline but still on the shoulders, it creates a nice portrait look.
8/26/10 10:14 AM
MNBarb said...
Looks great on you. I think the shorter style is good for this top since its blousey-er (is that a word?) it might become overwhelming if it was longer. It sits nicely with the straight skirt. Thanks for showing all of the details. It inspires me to work on my finishing techniques when I see that RTW look.
8/26/10 10:23 AM
barebear said...
Oh oh oh I love it! I love the fabric you chose and the way the neckline sits (very flattering on you!), and I even like the length! Very good job, and I'm glad you were able to make it work into something you love! It's an "Emma Dream" top! :D
8/26/10 11:15 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Beautiful and very flattering top, Emma! Oh, how I wish BurdaStyle would hire you to decipher instructions! Enjoyed viewing your finely done finish details!
8/26/10 3:18 PM
snuzal said...
Thanks ladies! Nice to know that from an outsiders point of view, the length is ok. I just prefer having tops a bit lower to cover the chubby part of my lower stomach lol. The tag I made myself, just on some printable fabric. All you have to do is print it, soak it in water and then iron it and tada! All done. I think the finishing is probably my favourite part of the top, it just looks so beautiful inside as well as out.
8/26/10 4:40 PM
Schnauzer said...
Very pretty top, Emma. Lovely work!
8/27/10 6:11 PM
snuzal said...
An update: I wore it out today, with jeans. It doesn't feel too short wearing it now - although if I'd taken it up the 4cm like I should've, I would've been showing skin. I felt really good in it, and got a lot of compliments. Feeling ultra happy wearing it now!
8/28/10 1:29 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Kwik Sew 0000
photo
Review by PittyPat on 5/22/11
Read Review

Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8813 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )
New Look 6173 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2014-138
photo
Review by Elaray on 1/29/14
Read Review

Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Marissa Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuseTailorUltra White
PerfectFuseTailorUltra White

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us