Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 07-2010-120 (Corset-Style Chiffon Dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 490 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/10 11:07 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Very cool! I actually think the back- because it is pretty stark with the color divide- fits the aura of the shoes. Very helpful process. I'll probably never make this dress, but I certainly would use your steps if I did! Happy Birthday!
9/2/10 11:48 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Happy birthday and what a fabulous dress, thanks for very helpful review. I have lots of silk chiffon and never know what to do with it, this dress looks so lovely. And chic colour blocking too, great style. Enjoy!
9/2/10 12:05 PM
michellep74 said...
I love this dress! It's cute, trendy, and looks great on you! The line drawing for this one caught my eye in the magazine...I never would have guessed that the instructions for such a simple looking dress would be such a clusterf.
9/2/10 1:09 PM
Mufffet said...
This is great - it looks terrific on you, and it looks so much like the pattern! ;) It looks cool and comfy as well. Instructions....Bbbrrrr....it's a good thing you can get your head around the line drawings and write your own!
9/2/10 2:58 PM
cabinbaby said...
I didn't really give this one a second glance in the magazine but I LOVE your version!
9/2/10 3:25 PM
lakaribane said...
I love it! And I'm happy to see we are on the same page: firs thing I thought was to make contrasting/complementary colors when I saw this one in the online preview. Thanks for all the details, though "low neckline" and "Burda" are almost interchangeable, non?
9/2/10 8:03 PM
crisford said...
Great job on your dress! I started making this and thought it was going to be a wadder. But I really loved the fabric I was using, so maybe I can use your very helpful tips. Thank you!
9/3/10 0:28 AM
Kirstenw said...
Just love this dress, and the style really suits you. This one is on my list I will just have to add sleaves
9/3/10 0:55 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Another winner! Looks great on you.
9/3/10 8:37 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Wonderfully detailed review and a delightful little dress. I actually love the simplicity of the back- it is in stark contrast to what you see from the front. I think that is kind of interesting. Flattering color and shape on you nicegirl.
9/3/10 8:48 AM
ChristineX said...
Great dress!! And a great review, too.
9/3/10 5:50 PM
Amy-may said...
Wow, very nice! I guess I didn't look far enough to notice it was a knit/woven combo. Your fabric is loverly!
9/6/10 1:21 PM
Tenshi said...
This is sooo helpful! Thanks a lot for this great review. I fell in love with the dress the moment I saw it, but when I read through the instructions, they seemed just too weird even by Burda standards so I didn't make it yet, hoping someone else would and make sense out of it. And so you did! It looks great, too, the silk chiffon is such a beautiful color.
9/6/10 4:51 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Simplicity 4032
photo
Review by zombieamel... on 10/23/11
Read Review

Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern
Salme Flouce Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Rosetta Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8531
photo
Review by Mamselle M... on 6/15/09
Read Review

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tahoe Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1909 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1909 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5840 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 5840 Pattern( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us