SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2010-120 (Corset-Style Chiffon Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 501 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 323
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 319 people
patterns reviewed: 323
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/10 11:07 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Tenshi said...
This is sooo helpful! Thanks a lot for this great review. I fell in love with the dress the moment I saw it, but when I read through the instructions, they seemed just too weird even by Burda standards so I didn't make it yet, hoping someone else would and make sense out of it. And so you did! It looks great, too, the silk chiffon is such a beautiful color.
9/6/10 4:51 PM
Amy-may said...
Wow, very nice! I guess I didn't look far enough to notice it was a knit/woven combo. Your fabric is loverly!
9/6/10 1:21 PM
ChristineX said...
Great dress!! And a great review, too.
9/3/10 5:50 PM
Sharon1952 said...
Wonderfully detailed review and a delightful little dress. I actually love the simplicity of the back- it is in stark contrast to what you see from the front. I think that is kind of interesting. Flattering color and shape on you nicegirl.
9/3/10 8:48 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Another winner! Looks great on you.
9/3/10 8:37 AM
Kirstenw said...
Just love this dress, and the style really suits you. This one is on my list I will just have to add sleaves
9/3/10 0:55 AM
crisford said...
Great job on your dress! I started making this and thought it was going to be a wadder. But I really loved the fabric I was using, so maybe I can use your very helpful tips. Thank you!
9/3/10 0:28 AM
lakaribane said...
I love it! And I'm happy to see we are on the same page: firs thing I thought was to make contrasting/complementary colors when I saw this one in the online preview. Thanks for all the details, though "low neckline" and "Burda" are almost interchangeable, non?
9/2/10 8:03 PM
cabinbaby said...
I didn't really give this one a second glance in the magazine but I LOVE your version!
9/2/10 3:25 PM
Mufffet said...
This is great - it looks terrific on you, and it looks so much like the pattern! ;) It looks cool and comfy as well. Instructions....Bbbrrrr....it's a good thing you can get your head around the line drawings and write your own!
9/2/10 2:58 PM
michellep74 said...
I love this dress! It's cute, trendy, and looks great on you! The line drawing for this one caught my eye in the magazine...I never would have guessed that the instructions for such a simple looking dress would be such a clusterf.
9/2/10 1:09 PM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Happy birthday and what a fabulous dress, thanks for very helpful review. I have lots of silk chiffon and never know what to do with it, this dress looks so lovely. And chic colour blocking too, great style. Enjoy!
9/2/10 12:05 PM
crazygrad said...
Very cool! I actually think the back- because it is pretty stark with the color divide- fits the aura of the shoes. Very helpful process. I'll probably never make this dress, but I certainly would use your steps if I did! Happy Birthday!
9/2/10 11:48 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Center for Pattern Design MV Bias Top

photo
by: SewRuth

Review
You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 75mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now