SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 07-2010-120 (Corset-Style Chiffon Dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 501 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 320
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 311 people
patterns reviewed: 320
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/2/10 11:07 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
crazygrad said...
Very cool! I actually think the back- because it is pretty stark with the color divide- fits the aura of the shoes. Very helpful process. I'll probably never make this dress, but I certainly would use your steps if I did! Happy Birthday!
9/2/10 11:48 AM
HawkeMorningStar7 said...
Happy birthday and what a fabulous dress, thanks for very helpful review. I have lots of silk chiffon and never know what to do with it, this dress looks so lovely. And chic colour blocking too, great style. Enjoy!
9/2/10 12:05 PM
michellep74 said...
I love this dress! It's cute, trendy, and looks great on you! The line drawing for this one caught my eye in the magazine...I never would have guessed that the instructions for such a simple looking dress would be such a clusterf.
9/2/10 1:09 PM
Mufffet said...
This is great - it looks terrific on you, and it looks so much like the pattern! ;) It looks cool and comfy as well. Instructions....Bbbrrrr....it's a good thing you can get your head around the line drawings and write your own!
9/2/10 2:58 PM
cabinbaby said...
I didn't really give this one a second glance in the magazine but I LOVE your version!
9/2/10 3:25 PM
lakaribane said...
I love it! And I'm happy to see we are on the same page: firs thing I thought was to make contrasting/complementary colors when I saw this one in the online preview. Thanks for all the details, though "low neckline" and "Burda" are almost interchangeable, non?
9/2/10 8:03 PM
crisford said...
Great job on your dress! I started making this and thought it was going to be a wadder. But I really loved the fabric I was using, so maybe I can use your very helpful tips. Thank you!
9/3/10 0:28 AM
Kirstenw said...
Just love this dress, and the style really suits you. This one is on my list I will just have to add sleaves
9/3/10 0:55 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Another winner! Looks great on you.
9/3/10 8:37 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Wonderfully detailed review and a delightful little dress. I actually love the simplicity of the back- it is in stark contrast to what you see from the front. I think that is kind of interesting. Flattering color and shape on you nicegirl.
9/3/10 8:48 AM
ChristineX said...
Great dress!! And a great review, too.
9/3/10 5:50 PM
Amy-may said...
Wow, very nice! I guess I didn't look far enough to notice it was a knit/woven combo. Your fabric is loverly!
9/6/10 1:21 PM
Tenshi said...
This is sooo helpful! Thanks a lot for this great review. I fell in love with the dress the moment I saw it, but when I read through the instructions, they seemed just too weird even by Burda standards so I didn't make it yet, hoping someone else would and make sense out of it. And so you did! It looks great, too, the silk chiffon is such a beautiful color.
9/6/10 4:51 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Butterick 5615

photo
by: CissieW

Review
Jalie 3132

photo
by: Miss Jasmi...

Review

Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

SewBaby Easy Pieces Jumper Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now