Online Sewing Class: Bust Adjustments
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 2588 (Misses and Miss Petite Dresses)

51 more reviews
Viewed 411 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireEmily
photo

 
 
About ClaireEmilystarstarstar
WA United States
Member since: 9/28/08
Reviews: 83 (patterns: 77)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 33 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/10 6:41 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Paganoonoo


Upcycle sewing patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Berniejh said... (11/11/10 8:31 PM) Reply
You've done a good job with this dress. I agree with your sisters, it's too big for you. Slim down those princess seams & show off that waist!
TanitIsis said... (9/21/10 12:51 PM) Reply
What about cinching it in at the waist with a belt? I love princess seams, but you can do almost endless fiddling with them, can't you? I love the colour and the cute little cap sleeves.
FreyaStark said... (9/19/10 6:10 PM) Reply
A very nice dress. I think the fit is all right, and it looks good as it is. If it fitted more closely it would be harder to layer. I agree with you about princess seams. In practice it is hard to get them to fit perfectly.
Mary Nanna said... (9/19/10 2:57 PM) Reply
Pretty dress - getting a good fit is such a challenge! That's a lovely style on you and worth a second crack to get it just so - still, you've made a great job of your first atttempt at it - you look great!
marec said... (9/19/10 11:11 AM) Reply
That blue is very flattering and I have always loved the blue and black combo. Linen can look crisp or casual-with this dress, the linen will go casual...and the fit can be loose and comfy. I agree that taking in a bit in the waistline might be nice. You could attach one of those clip half belts in the back to see what you think. It's a cute style and will be a great addition as your warm weather starts.
MNBarb said... (9/19/10 8:17 AM) Reply
You made the most of your erect posture by adding the black T and the boots. Wear your blue linen dress and enjoy it!
starryfish said... (9/19/10 7:23 AM) Reply
I like this dress, however I think your sisters are right. You are a pear like me, and we should show off our waistlines! It will be more flattering to be closer fitting. Some simplicity patterns have way too much ease, I have made several in at least 1 size smaller than the measurements suggest with success.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Jalie 2445

photo
by: Rosie who...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Pattern Details
SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

SewBaby Wearable baby blanket Pattern

Pattern Details
Simplicity 1774

photo
by: RainyDayPe...

Review