SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3544 (50's style apron)

11 more reviews
Viewed 289 times 
Reviewed by:Aroura
photo

 
 
About Arourastarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 146
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 26 people
patterns reviewed: 141
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/13/10 8:13 PM
Last Updated:9/14/10 0:02 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
This is just a knock out creating you've made. The black background and all the wonderful white accents. I am just so enthused about your work. TY for sharing and the pix were a special reason for this being a VERY helpful review
9/13/10 10:43 PM
Aunt Gail said...
This is just a knock out creating you've made. The black background and all the wonderful white accents. I am just so enthused about your work. TY for sharing and the pix were a special reason for this being a VERY helpful review
9/13/10 10:43 PM
Elke said...
Great looking apron! I like the fabrics you used and all the special details.
9/13/10 11:24 PM
newmama said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
9/13/10 11:29 PM
JillyBe said...
What a great job!! Love your fabric choices, and your details (as usual) are perfect :)
9/14/10 0:27 AM
sewsunny37 said...
Fabulous vintage goodness! It's so beautiful I wouldn't ever want to risk getting it dirty!
9/14/10 1:12 AM
barebear said...
Impressive! I really like it. :)
9/14/10 2:25 AM
arianamaniacs said...
Very feminine and the appliques turned out great! It's wonderful to put so much work into a garment that you end up loving!
9/14/10 4:55 AM
blessedtosew said...
Beautiful!!! That is a work of art!!!
9/14/10 8:42 AM
ALY said...
Gorgeous apron, lovely applique work. I would be afraid to wear something this lovely when cooking for fear of getting food or grease on it. I have seen people who use vintage aprons hanging from decortive hooks as "art" in their kitchens.
9/14/10 9:09 AM
marec said...
Wonderful work Aroura! Wow, the details and workmanship on this are superb. I really like the applique against the black/white print. Oh, and the buttons!!
9/14/10 10:53 AM
pterion said...
What a great retro style. A lot of work clearly went into making your apron and it looks wonderful. I wouldn't want to mess it up by actually cooking in it either!
9/14/10 2:54 PM
Aroura said...
Thanks you all very much! There is a small part of me that is afraid of getting it stained (the white parts), but then I made this one to use, since I don't own any other apron. I've already worn it to make dinner last night, and I felt pretty and it was totally practical at the same time. Can't wait to show it off for company during the holidays!
9/14/10 2:55 PM
Athene said...
Gorgeous apron - I love retro looking aprons and appreciate all the effort that went into making this one look so great.
9/14/10 6:07 PM
Hilary said...
Wow, nice apron!! You did a great job-I think underlining it was a very good idea. It looks very sturdy, and pretty at the same time!
9/14/10 6:08 PM
ryansmumAria said...
Perfection! Congratulations...
9/14/10 9:22 PM
talesofawannabe said...
Amazing apron! This is in my sewing queue and you're review will most certainly be helpful. :]
9/15/10 5:48 PM
JillyBe said...
You know, your review has almost convinced me to make mine again (but do it right this time lol!)
9/15/10 6:45 PM
dukaqwn said...
I really like this apron! I am gonna have to try this pattern. Something that I have entirely been lacking is an apron or smock because I am forever soiling my clothes when cooking or cleaning. I need a separate one to wear just when I plan to pet my 6 babies - cats!
9/15/10 8:25 PM
jannw said...
How wonderful! What a great job you did and thanx for the tute. My Grandmother and Aunts all had "holiday" aprons..used when company was present as opposed to the everyday ones. You made a great example...enjoy
9/17/10 4:48 AM
Kayseri said...
Wow, that's terrific
9/19/10 8:39 PM
Calder and Co. said...
love it!
9/20/10 4:09 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8854

photo
by: Graca

Review