SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8670 (Misses' Top)

5 more reviews
Viewed 955 times 
Reviewed by:Michelle L
photo

 
 
About Michelle Lstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 45 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/10 4:50 PM
Last Updated:9/22/10 8:50 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 25 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Your efforts and hard work turned out a very nice T - how frustrating it must have been for you. Very helpful review - thanks
9/19/10 4:56 PM
Athene said...
Well your top turned out really nice and is very flattering- but it was a lot of work - thank you for the review - I was interested in this pattern, but I think I will bypass it.
9/19/10 5:07 PM
Elona said...
Wow. This pattern seemed to have a lot of interesting variations, so I bought it. Not sure I'll ever use it though, since this is the second negative review with regard to the collar shaping. Still, your final version is really very nice--as it should be after all your work!
9/19/10 5:16 PM
yorkshire lass said...
The end result is lovely but then it should be since you worked so hard on it and parts of it aren't the original pattern. I just made this pattern up and would agree that its a bit of a dud. Thanks for a very helpful review. I am sorry that you had such trouble with this pattern.
9/19/10 5:47 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
I really like the way you combined two fabrics in your second top. While the pattern may not be so great, your results certainly were. Also a good way to use up some left over fabrics.
9/19/10 7:19 PM
marec said...
Thank you very much-this is a super helpful review. I especially was interested in your take on the turtleneck drafting. Christine Jonson has a good turtleneck draft, BTW.
9/19/10 9:10 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I really enjoyed reading all your details and am so impressed by your determination and final product! BRAVO!!!! It's amazing what you ended up with and it is so slimming. Your color/fabric choices were excellent . Thanks for taking all that time to share with us. I feel so inspired by you...
9/19/10 9:21 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review. Your version II looks great - glad you persisted. I have this pattern wnd will make good use of your experience!
9/19/10 10:34 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Well you won in the end! I love the black raglan with the grey sleeves. So much work! Thanks for your helpful review. =)
9/20/10 0:58 AM
michalklimer said...
I've read the entire story... WOW! Anyhow, the result is just amazing!
9/20/10 1:20 AM
AuntieShel said...
May I add my "wow"? The difference between the original Vogue muslin and the finished grey top are unbelievable. What is going on with Vogue? Thanks for this review!
9/20/10 9:38 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Your finished top looks great, glad you continued with it. Sizing can be a PITB :)
9/22/10 10:10 PM
Margie T said...
I like your top. Turned out really nice with all the hard work you put into it. I hope Vogue reads these reviews and takes heed. Somehow I doubt it.
9/22/10 11:34 PM
Renren said...
I like your determination to make this work. Actually, I don't think the green one is too bad--it looks like what I generally end up with!!! But the morphed gray one--wowsa! Hit that one right out of the ballpark!
9/22/10 11:39 PM
lyndle said...
I second auntieshel's comment - the difference between the muslin and your final top is unbelievable. Fantastic job! And really helpful review too, thanks
9/23/10 6:35 AM
lyndle said...
Oops sorry, duplicate comment
9/23/10 6:35 AM
pammieh said...
Thanks - I have this pattern - and now I realize I'm gonna have to downsize - like all my Vogue patterns recently - seriously - Thanks for the good review. . . I love your result - but I spent an hour or two trying to tailor these knit patterns!! Dern it!! Great tips, though...
9/25/10 12:09 PM
Ali M said...
Thank you for the review - Im a beginning sewer and really liked this pattern with all the options but it sounds like I will skip this. Too bad because you made a great version 2, but I know I'd end up with shapeless lumps without the knowledge to alter patterns to fit my body!
12/31/10 9:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

McCall's 5962

photo
by: marvelous

Review
You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

You Sew Girl Small Tote Pattern

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6382

photo
by: Eme

Review