Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8670 (Misses' Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 944 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Michelle L
photo
Friend of PR
About Michelle Lstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 1/20/08
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 82
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/19/10 4:50 PM
Last Updated:9/22/10 8:50 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Your efforts and hard work turned out a very nice T - how frustrating it must have been for you. Very helpful review - thanks
9/19/10 4:56 PM
Athene said...
Well your top turned out really nice and is very flattering- but it was a lot of work - thank you for the review - I was interested in this pattern, but I think I will bypass it.
9/19/10 5:07 PM
Elona said...
Wow. This pattern seemed to have a lot of interesting variations, so I bought it. Not sure I'll ever use it though, since this is the second negative review with regard to the collar shaping. Still, your final version is really very nice--as it should be after all your work!
9/19/10 5:16 PM
yorkshire lass said...
The end result is lovely but then it should be since you worked so hard on it and parts of it aren't the original pattern. I just made this pattern up and would agree that its a bit of a dud. Thanks for a very helpful review. I am sorry that you had such trouble with this pattern.
9/19/10 5:47 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
I really like the way you combined two fabrics in your second top. While the pattern may not be so great, your results certainly were. Also a good way to use up some left over fabrics.
9/19/10 7:19 PM
marec said...
Thank you very much-this is a super helpful review. I especially was interested in your take on the turtleneck drafting. Christine Jonson has a good turtleneck draft, BTW.
9/19/10 9:10 PM
ryansmumAria said...
I really enjoyed reading all your details and am so impressed by your determination and final product! BRAVO!!!! It's amazing what you ended up with and it is so slimming. Your color/fabric choices were excellent . Thanks for taking all that time to share with us. I feel so inspired by you...
9/19/10 9:21 PM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks so much for the detailed review. Your version II looks great - glad you persisted. I have this pattern wnd will make good use of your experience!
9/19/10 10:34 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Well you won in the end! I love the black raglan with the grey sleeves. So much work! Thanks for your helpful review. =)
9/20/10 0:58 AM
michalklimer said...
I've read the entire story... WOW! Anyhow, the result is just amazing!
9/20/10 1:20 AM
AuntieShel said...
May I add my "wow"? The difference between the original Vogue muslin and the finished grey top are unbelievable. What is going on with Vogue? Thanks for this review!
9/20/10 9:38 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Your finished top looks great, glad you continued with it. Sizing can be a PITB :)
9/22/10 10:10 PM
Margie T said...
I like your top. Turned out really nice with all the hard work you put into it. I hope Vogue reads these reviews and takes heed. Somehow I doubt it.
9/22/10 11:34 PM
Renren said...
I like your determination to make this work. Actually, I don't think the green one is too bad--it looks like what I generally end up with!!! But the morphed gray one--wowsa! Hit that one right out of the ballpark!
9/22/10 11:39 PM
lyndle said...
I second auntieshel's comment - the difference between the muslin and your final top is unbelievable. Fantastic job! And really helpful review too, thanks
9/23/10 6:35 AM
lyndle said...
Oops sorry, duplicate comment
9/23/10 6:35 AM
pammieh said...
Thanks - I have this pattern - and now I realize I'm gonna have to downsize - like all my Vogue patterns recently - seriously - Thanks for the good review. . . I love your result - but I spent an hour or two trying to tailor these knit patterns!! Dern it!! Great tips, though...
9/25/10 12:09 PM
Ali M said...
Thank you for the review - Im a beginning sewer and really liked this pattern with all the options but it sounds like I will skip this. Too bad because you made a great version 2, but I know I'd end up with shapeless lumps without the knowledge to alter patterns to fit my body!
12/31/10 9:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Burda 7484 Pantsuit
photo
Review by muttless on 8/22/12
Read Review

McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 6559 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2777 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2777 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Hollywood 1930
photo
Review by Passion4Se... on 6/30/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )
Peek-A Boo Jack and Jill Shortalls Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -4 T )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us