Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Manequim: 605 (One shoulder dress) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 708 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 99 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:9/14/10 8:00 AM
Last Updated:10/21/10 10:26 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
minggiddylooloo said...
Looking forward to seeing your masterpiece! Best of luck on the wedding day and beyond!! :-D
9/14/10 10:38 AM
Iowa Hoodlum said...
I'm just dying to see the completed gown. Only two weeks to wait. I'm so impressed!!
9/14/10 10:52 AM
marec said...
This is so much fun to read about! I've learned so much, and I feel a part of the process.
9/14/10 11:13 AM
michellep74 said...
I've been following your progress with this on your blog, and I can't wait to see pics of you modeling your final dress--I know you'll look amazing in it. Have a great time at your wedding!
9/14/10 12:12 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Enjoyed reading about your deconstruction/restyling/construction process. You are going to be the most fashionable bride! Can't wait to see the dress on you. Best wishes to you and the groom!
9/14/10 2:58 PM
rozzybabe said...
As always you're an innovative & very informative sewer, & I know your dress will be fabulous. What's even more amazing is that you were blessed with healing of your serious illness, so I trust you're extremely thankful for that. Wishing you both much happiness.
9/14/10 4:12 PM
dingyadi said...
That is such an awesome, and beautiful project. I can't wait to see pics of you in the dress after the event. And have the most wonderful wedding day(s).
9/15/10 0:00 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Like Michelle, I've been following your process on your blog. Can't wait to see the final photos! You've been extraordinarily generous with your knowledge... this series is a great blueprint for anyone who wants to sew their own wedding gown (especially the piece on the underpinnings). Now: advice from a mom - take a big breath and ENJOY your wedding!
9/15/10 0:41 AM
Auntchelle said...
I also have been following on your blog. I can't wait to see the final product. You have put a lot of your personalities into the wedding, now it's time to enjoy it. Have a great day on Saturday!
9/15/10 3:07 AM
becca a said...
What an amazing process! Congratulations on the wedding (and of course the gown, too). I can't wait to see the photos.
9/15/10 7:43 AM
Grammy Gin said...
I am looking forward to seeing all the wedding pictures also!! Only 3 more days to go now. Congratulats on your wedding & finishing your dress early! Where in PA are you having your 2nd reception? Best luck now & forever!!
9/15/10 9:28 AM
JillyBe said...
What a delightful journey this has been to follow - big congratulations to you, and I look forward to pics of the big finale! :)
9/15/10 11:56 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks everyone!! Grammy Gin, the PA reception is in Lancaster, at the Arts Hotel/John J Jeffries (I'm from Perry County, though).
9/15/10 12:10 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
My goodness, what a lovely dress! And congrats on the upcoming wedding. I can't wait to see you in it!
9/15/10 1:47 PM
sewbehind said...
Lovely sneak peak. Hope your wedding is all that you want it to be. Congratulations.
9/15/10 8:14 PM
TanitIsis said...
This has been so amazing to follow along with... I can't wait for the final pics. I have heard recommended for cleaning (or at least freshening) delicate fabrics, a mixture of vodka and water. Apparently this is what textile conservators use. Not sure what the exact mix was, however.
9/18/10 1:57 PM
mhk3boys said...
Your wedding pics are beautiful, pretty ,wonderful, and looks like so much fun! I hope you will always remember your wedding day!
10/21/10 10:44 AM
Elona said...
How beautiful! Congratulations to you on all the lovely, lovely sewing--and your wedding, of course.
10/21/10 12:20 PM
michellep74 said...
You look absolutely GORGEOUS! I've been following on your blog--thank you so much for sharing your process and these pictures with us!
10/21/10 12:58 PM
Paris75008 said...
What a perfect gown. I really enjoyed your blog posts describing the process. You are really amazing. You've done your Granny proud! You look absolutely radiant in your wedding photo!
10/21/10 1:17 PM
marec said...
oh Melissa, congratulations and best wishes. The dress turned out beautiful, as I knew it would. The blog entries were so fun to look through and the picture of your grandma kissing you is absolutely wonderful. You are such a dear.
10/21/10 3:48 PM
MNBarb said...
What a great story of this wedding dress. You are beautiful in your gown and how wonderful to have a garment with so much history. Congrats!
10/21/10 4:42 PM
carolynw said...
You look absolutely radiant and the groom is no slouch either! The dress (gown) is just too beautiful for words. You did a superb job in every way
10/21/10 5:01 PM
bluenines said...
a wounderful story and dress, what a great way to make your dress one of akind
10/21/10 5:06 PM
GodsgirlT said...
How gorgeous is that gown? Not to mention all that it represents! Love the pictures side by side. You look beautiful! Congratulations!!!!
10/21/10 5:22 PM
no7262 said...
You are truly AMAZING! You look so beautiful! Congrat's to the both of you! Nora :)
10/21/10 6:49 PM
Terri A said...
Elegant, lovely, beautiful... That photo! Your dress! Your smile!!!
10/22/10 0:09 AM
Sharonspils said...
Congratulations and what a beautiful couple you make and love seeing the comparisons with your grandmother.
10/22/10 0:21 AM
MaryDB said...
How absolutely wonderful in every way! My very best wishes to you and your husband.
10/22/10 0:21 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
May i also extend my Congratulations to you and yours. Beautiful gown. I especially enjoyed the photo of you with with your Grandmother. Thanks for sharing all. I feel like I attended on both sides of the big pond! a toast: May you have many wonderful blessed years together!
10/22/10 8:26 AM
jent said...
This is so special and so beautiful!
10/22/10 12:49 PM
Eyeadaba said...
Wow, Melissa, what a beautiful radiant bride! Your dress is gorgeous, such an amazing achievement. Your Granny must have been bursting with joy to see such a glorious reinvention of her gown. Wishing you and your husband many happy years of marriage!
10/22/10 3:50 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Simplicity 4084
photo
Review by FullertonR... on 10/13/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)
SBCC Patterns Mimosa Blouse Digital Pattern (XXS-L)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2005
photo
Review by Leslie in ... on 5/9/07
Read Review

McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )
McCalls 2060 Pattern ( Size 31 1/2-32 1/2 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3126 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us