SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6069 (Double Cowl Dress)

47 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash Contest 2013 Contest
Viewed 1075 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 321
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 314 people
patterns reviewed: 321
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/14/10 10:16 AM
Last Updated:6/13/13 9:16 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
katib said...
very cute dress!
9/14/10 10:23 AM
marec said...
Very helpful review with cool tips like coins in the cowls etc. I have starred your blog entry so I can study the techniques. Thanks so much!! Cool dress and cute on you.
9/14/10 10:42 AM
annie11 said...
What great info about weighting down the cowl and reducing the width of the back cowl. Will have to find the perfect border print to try this one out. Your dress looks wonderful on you.
9/14/10 10:44 AM
ginnie.wise said...
What a great print... perfect for this! The colors are great and the finished product is beautiful!
9/14/10 10:51 AM
Elona said...
I LOVE the double cowl! It's such a pretty look that I've always wondered why almost every other cowl-type pattern was only drapey in the front. Does the back view not matter? Of course it does, and yours is very, very pretty.
9/14/10 11:04 AM
Mermie said...
So cute! You look so cute in your dress. Love cowl necklines!
9/14/10 11:10 AM
FullertonRegan said...
I love the fabric! When I made this dress, I used lingerie guards to keep the cowl in place. They work like a charm, so I'd recommend that if the coins don't work out. Love that idea though!!
9/14/10 11:28 AM
RLL said...
I love how you used your border print. What a nice dress!
9/14/10 11:29 AM
Mirakel said...
So cute! I like the way you used the border print and I love cowl necks! It looks great on you, nice job!
9/14/10 12:12 PM
Mufffet said...
Very nice use of fabric! Cute dress. :)
9/14/10 2:25 PM
nellc said...
Very pretty dress, I love the colour and the way you have used the border print.
9/14/10 4:16 PM
michellep74 said...
Really cute, and I love your use of the border print!
9/14/10 5:24 PM
FreyaStark said...
A pretty and distinctive dress. It's a clever and appropriate use of that fabric.
9/14/10 5:48 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Very nice dress; looks great on you! I like how you worked you borders into the top and bottom. As always, thanks so much for all the pix detailing your changes.
9/14/10 5:56 PM
imsewcrazy said...
Very pretty dress. Love the border print details! I agree, the back is to low for work and I was trying to figure out how to raise it, I never thought to reduce the width. Great job! You look really great in it!
9/14/10 7:18 PM
Erin D said...
Your fabric choice is great-it really compliments you. I love cowl necks too.
9/15/10 0:22 AM
twinkle72 said...
Your idea about the coins as weights is a neat one. Will they be OK when you go to wash the dress? Or will you have to slide them out? Just curious, in case I want to use your idea on a future project.
9/15/10 6:06 AM
MNBarb said...
I always look forward to your reveiws. This dress looks great on you. Perfect color and fabric and the style fits you well.
9/15/10 7:20 AM
Ciclista said...
Fabulous use of the border print - sew pretty!!
9/15/10 9:56 AM
JEF said...
Super!
9/15/10 7:07 PM
Heatherrique said...
I adore your version, especially with the modified back! Very nice use of fabric design.
9/18/10 10:03 AM
BeeBeeSew said...
Do you know how much, total, you took out of the back? I looked at your flickr photo & see that you did it in 3 pleats - great idea. I like how yours turned out - the pattern's a bit low for me. And I will probably but tape in the shoulder for my straps. I love your fabric - what a unique usage of a border print - make me rethink the whole border print idea on a dress.
7/14/11 11:00 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love, love, love the black and white dot, it is my favorite! Looks fantastic on and enjoyed your review.
6/13/13 10:24 AM
sunnysewer said...
what a great idea to indulge in some silk jersey and a fantastic dress, I bet it would be great for travel
6/13/13 10:30 AM
Sew Whatever said...
Good tips about the extra fabric to keep the cowl facing in. It looks good on you!
6/13/13 11:03 AM
marec said...
This is a super rendition of this TNT pattern. I like the geometric prints you have used for this dress.
6/13/13 11:05 AM
frame said...
Great little dress and if you wear a colorful belt with it (really, it can be any color almost), you will have the best of both worlds.
6/13/13 12:22 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
Very nice and flattering!
6/13/13 4:25 PM
Mary.P said...
Nice dress
7/17/13 6:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Simplicity Sew U

photo
by: House of P...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 02-2013-109

photo
by: cabinbaby

Review
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Buy Now