Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5382 (Pleat Neck Empire Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 742 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/10 10:51 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cmarie12 said...
Trena - I saw your pictures on Flickr and I love how both of these dresses look completely different from each other! I also love your fabric choices!
9/17/10 10:53 AM
sewin said...
Wow, you did an awesome job on matching for the black and pink dress. Turned out really well.
9/17/10 11:18 AM
crazygrad said...
Both are so cool. I do like that pattern better than the Vogue.
9/17/10 11:24 AM
no7262 said...
What a great review! You did awesome job on both dresses!
9/17/10 1:49 PM
RLL said...
I love both versions, and how different they appear due to the exposed zip
9/17/10 1:53 PM
BillieJean said...
What do you mean "belly situation"? You silly girl, you have a lovely shape. Your dresses look great!!
9/17/10 3:47 PM
Mufffet said...
GREAT! Love the dresses - I especially like the black and white one. Are you going to do this in a solid to enhance that bodice design? This would make a very cool little black dress as well...might turn into a TNT pattern for you!
9/17/10 4:07 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Wait until you're almost 70 & you'll know what a "belly situation" IS!!! Great both on both dresses. You are amazing!
9/17/10 4:20 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two smart dresses. The way you have made pattern work on the front of the pink and black version is really impressive.
9/17/10 6:57 PM
Leora said...
Dear goodness, you don't even have a belly! You look great, in both dresses!
9/18/10 2:51 AM
JEF said...
Gorgeous dress and such a great review. Thank you so much for explaining your exposed zipper - I've just been thinking about those so you were very timely! Again, beautiful dresses.
9/18/10 8:30 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Wow, when I saw the cast on your leg, first thing I thought was lucky it's not the sewing pedal foot! Love your choice of prints, especially the cool pink art nouveau one, although both look great
9/18/10 9:31 AM
Q Valley Mary said...
Your two fabric choices are such different prints that it's hard to recognize both dresses as being from the same pattern. I love the way you used the print in your archetectural dress especially.
9/18/10 11:28 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Great use of prints for this dress! They both look good on you. Thanks for the info on fitting, etc.
9/18/10 3:28 PM
sewbehind said...
Trena, I am not sure you can call yourself Slapdash anymore. Love your dresses.
9/19/10 11:03 AM
Kayseri said...
I think both of these are great. The styles and fabrics are very flattering.
9/19/10 8:59 PM
lorrwill said...
DANG! What you did with those prints is nothing short of magical.
10/14/11 5:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6969
photo
Review by Hotcouture on 9/22/13
Read Review

Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King
Making Patterns from Existing Garments - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern
Favorite Things Uptown Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Pussy Bow Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Cabarita Knit Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Disparate Disciplines 3401 Avocado hoodie
photo
Review by ahearta on 10/24/13
Read Review

Burda 7138 Pattern
Burda 7138 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7152 Pattern
Burda 7152 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us