SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5382 (Pleat Neck Empire Dress)

12 more reviews
Viewed 751 times 
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo

 
 
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 322
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 317 people
patterns reviewed: 322
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/17/10 10:51 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lorrwill said...
DANG! What you did with those prints is nothing short of magical.
10/14/11 5:13 PM
Kayseri said...
I think both of these are great. The styles and fabrics are very flattering.
9/19/10 8:59 PM
sewbehind said...
Trena, I am not sure you can call yourself Slapdash anymore. Love your dresses.
9/19/10 11:03 AM
Kathy in NM said...
Great use of prints for this dress! They both look good on you. Thanks for the info on fitting, etc.
9/18/10 3:28 PM
Q Valley Mary said...
Your two fabric choices are such different prints that it's hard to recognize both dresses as being from the same pattern. I love the way you used the print in your archetectural dress especially.
9/18/10 11:28 AM
yummymummy38 said...
Wow, when I saw the cast on your leg, first thing I thought was lucky it's not the sewing pedal foot! Love your choice of prints, especially the cool pink art nouveau one, although both look great
9/18/10 9:31 AM
JEF said...
Gorgeous dress and such a great review. Thank you so much for explaining your exposed zipper - I've just been thinking about those so you were very timely! Again, beautiful dresses.
9/18/10 8:30 AM
Leora said...
Dear goodness, you don't even have a belly! You look great, in both dresses!
9/18/10 2:51 AM
FreyaStark said...
Two smart dresses. The way you have made pattern work on the front of the pink and black version is really impressive.
9/17/10 6:57 PM
Grammy Gin said...
Wait until you're almost 70 & you'll know what a "belly situation" IS!!! Great both on both dresses. You are amazing!
9/17/10 4:20 PM
Mufffet said...
GREAT! Love the dresses - I especially like the black and white one. Are you going to do this in a solid to enhance that bodice design? This would make a very cool little black dress as well...might turn into a TNT pattern for you!
9/17/10 4:07 PM
BillieJean said...
What do you mean "belly situation"? You silly girl, you have a lovely shape. Your dresses look great!!
9/17/10 3:47 PM
RLL said...
I love both versions, and how different they appear due to the exposed zip
9/17/10 1:53 PM
no7262 said...
What a great review! You did awesome job on both dresses!
9/17/10 1:49 PM
crazygrad said...
Both are so cool. I do like that pattern better than the Vogue.
9/17/10 11:24 AM
sewin said...
Wow, you did an awesome job on matching for the black and pink dress. Turned out really well.
9/17/10 11:18 AM
cmarie12 said...
Trena - I saw your pictures on Flickr and I love how both of these dresses look completely different from each other! I also love your fabric choices!
9/17/10 10:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

SewBaby Travel High Chair Pattern

More Info
A-Door-Ables

A-Door-Ables

More Info