SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5209 

38 more reviews
Viewed 626 times 
Reviewed by:embaby
photo

 
 
About embabystar
SINGAPORE
Member since: 11/10/08
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:9/16/10 10:31 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
VeryPrairie said...
Gorgeous, especially what you've done with the print. What a transformation, from retro to perfectly modern!
9/17/10 2:27 AM
jennybaxt said...
This is really beautiful.
9/17/10 4:26 AM
Paris75008 said...
Very pretty and good use of the contrast fabric. I made the halter version but I'm not so happy with the way the bodice came out. I will probably fiddle around with it a bit more until I get it right. I think it's worth it as this is a lovely, classic pattern
9/17/10 7:36 AM
lamstu said...
Wow, this is pretty. Okay, I like the border print and your use of it, so much. The fit is great on your lovely slim frame, and I always console myself by remembering that when this pattern first came out, ladies wore steel and bone corsets that artificially and uncomfortably reduced their waists (I remember mama's). I like this idea of naming my projects so I will start now, but it might take me awhile to be so eloquent as you. Finally, I propose that we all wear a lovely frock on Wednesday to celebrate the mid-autumn festival. Happy happy and thanks for your review PS: no one will notice the side panels if you dont' tell!
9/17/10 8:12 AM
Diane333 said...
Very beautiful and great design effect with the fabric pattern.
9/17/10 8:24 AM
crazygrad said...
Just stunning. I am speechless.
9/17/10 9:17 AM
crisford said...
Your interpretation of this dress is amazing!
9/17/10 10:33 AM
Twinset said...
Really beautiful dress!! The print is gorgeous and so flattering on you! Love it.
9/17/10 10:42 AM
nicegirl said...
Gorgeous! When I made this I also wanted to do a contrast midriff until I saw the side seam mismatch. But as yours is a border and not really a contrast it totally, totally works. Love it.
9/17/10 11:12 AM
pammieh said...
I saw this on sew retro - this is a beautiful rendering - congratulations it is fab.
9/17/10 6:49 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love the dress and material you used! Great pattern for you, very pretty on.
9/18/10 10:32 AM
embaby said...
Thank you for all the encouraging comments!
9/22/10 8:33 PM
pammieh said...
I love it - I am totally adding this to my stash - wonderful fabric!
11/4/10 9:55 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Simplicity 2443

photo
by: SewingDo0f

Review
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Victory Nicola Paper Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 5972

photo
by: ElizabethK

Review