SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 4059 (Mens' Tudor costume)

18 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 362 times 
Reviewed by:dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About dfr2010star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/28/11 6:49 PM
Last Updated:3/6/11 2:41 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Trephas2003 said...
It sounds great!
10/2/10 4:07 PM
treefrog said...
So interesting! Looking forward to the next instalment!
10/3/10 4:27 PM
jilly cooper said...
love all the details you are providing :)
10/3/10 9:57 PM
jannw said...
very interesting..love the details on the fit process
10/3/10 11:43 PM
treefrog said...
Hope the second fitting goes well. I love reading about your progress.
11/1/10 4:25 PM
svetlana said...
I have made both versions of this, the doublet and the coat. They were for madrigal singing groups that are not so picky about period authenticity. Let me say, I absolutely love the pattern for the breeches. It is fun to make and looks awesome. I have made it out of faux suede both times.
11/1/10 7:16 PM
JenniferMM said...
It sounds wonderful!! I can't wait to see the finished product. Thanks for all of the details! I was just about to begin on the same costume for a young Henry VIII look, with several changes as well. I'll have to keep checking back for your tips to make sure my King looks his best! :)
11/2/10 0:34 AM
Terri A said...
Pretty amazing!
2/28/11 6:58 PM
JillyBe said...
Really interesting with the historical details. Good luck on hitting your goals with the finished outfit!
2/28/11 7:12 PM
Aroura said...
Great details, this is a really nice doublet! The fabric is perfect. I hope your friend likes it, and that it fits!
3/1/11 4:18 AM
Margaret said...
Great job, especially on those chevrons! I love the shoulder pieces.
3/1/11 12:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Butterick 5791

photo
by: prttynpnk

Review
StyleArc Laura Knit Dress

photo
by: Marnie D

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Moebius Scarf Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Buy Now