Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8616 (Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 742 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR
About marecstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/4/10 1:14 PM
Last Updated:10/4/10 1:35 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aroura said...
I'm sorry this was such an underwheling pattern :( The finished top looks pretty nice in the pic, but I'll certainly steer clear of this pattern based on your review.
10/4/10 1:24 PM
Paris75008 said...
Thanks for posting this, it's very helpful. If ever you get round to doing your planned modifications to the neckline, I'm sure it will be very flattering.
10/4/10 1:40 PM
pterion said...
Sorry this pattern was a disappointment! I think the shortened sleeves and neck were a good save for it. Nice fabric! I can't wear that taupe color or I disappear, but it looks terrific on you, especially with the red pants.
10/4/10 3:11 PM
Christina W said...
Well, on the plus side - you did a really nice job sewing it and the fit is flattering! Your saves clearly worked - Thanks for the insights on this pattern!
10/4/10 3:22 PM
marthamyers said...
Oh, how disappointing! I doubly disappointed 'cause I just order this pattern from ClubBMV. Dang. Actually it looks good on you now that you've morphed it. Hmmm... I was all set to make it. Thanks for the helpful review.
10/4/10 4:25 PM
maryfrana said...
Thanks for the detailed review. I think you look good in this. I also find many very easy vogue patterns are anything but easy!
10/4/10 6:07 PM
Elona said...
I dunno; the top actually looks good on you, and it is quite distinctive. On the whole, I am inclined to give Vogue plus marks on their efforts with this kind of tee; it's nice to have a choice of something other than the old reliable (and predictable) crew or turtle/mock turtleneck. But I think this neckline, like all cut-on collars, asks for a long neck and a straight spine (think ballerina carriage). It's just a pity that Vogue doesn't update their knit designs so that there's the proper amount of ease in the sleeve head and the construction resembles the practices so normal now with companies like Jalie and Kwik Sew.
10/4/10 6:29 PM
AnitaJJ said...
It looks so pretty. I'm sorry you're disappointed in the pattern. Thanks for the helpful review.
10/4/10 6:48 PM
Annette1 said...
Uh-oh, I with the mature neck am a little worried now, as I just ordered this pattern at the last Vogue sale. :o) Actually, your review has confirmed my wonderings as to the collar on this particular version, BUT ... I'm talknig about your WORDS. In seeing it on YOU, I really think it looks great, AND I love this close-up picture of you. :o) If I make it, though, I think I'll heed your advice and add some shaping to the collar, too. Great review!
10/4/10 8:10 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks for a useful review. That is an odd neckline, isn't it? I wonder if the other style, with the crossover front, would be more successful.
10/5/10 6:52 AM
MNBarb said...
I can't believe you don't like this. My first reaction was, WOW, Mare is really stylin'. Are your photos just really great? I like the neck and the fitted-ness. I vote you wear it.
10/6/10 12:14 PM
Lucy in Virginia said...
Well, must be your changes, because I think it looks great on you. Love the double-stitching down the front of the blouse and the neckline looks very comfy and warmy for the encroaching winter.
10/6/10 3:57 PM
CeceliaNYC said...
I agree with the other comments that say the top looks great on you! You must have done a fabulous job modifying it to make it look so perfect! Great review--very informative and also entertaining :)
10/7/10 5:29 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6700
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 5/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2260 Pattern ( Size 16-18 )
McCalls 2260 Pattern ( Size 16-18 )

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 1126-1000
photo
Review by Maria Hatf... on 9/29/04
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us