Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1183 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1330 times 23 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 34 people   
Reviewed by:knitmachinequeen
photo
About knitmachinequeenstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/3/07
Reviews written: 144
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 117
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/14/10 11:19 PM
Last Updated:10/17/10 9:10 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
43 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EleanorSews said...
Absolutely elegant! Rachelle, you are stunning. The perfect LBD.
10/14/10 11:25 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Gorgeous creation! And it fits you beautifully. (And lovely posing, photography and composite!) Very nice!
10/14/10 11:31 PM
Aroura said...
Wow, this is a terrific dress and a perfect fit! I'm so glad I don't need to do FBA's, that looks like a LOT of work. Beautiful outcome! Yay! :D
10/14/10 11:36 PM
annie1129 said...
Beautiful!!
10/14/10 11:39 PM
GodsgirlT said...
You look FANTASTIC! Love the daytime look. The blouse really pops! Great looking LBD!
10/15/10 0:39 AM
mz.choize said...
Yes First Lady you did that!!! Awesome job on the styling, two thumbs up on the alterations. A great LBD indeed.
10/15/10 1:13 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
The perfect LBD. You achieved the perfect fit for your body and styled your looks to perfection. Heidi, Micheal Kors and Tim Gunn would be impressed! You are a very classy lady knitmachinequeen.
10/15/10 5:57 AM
Ellenatlga said...
Oh my! totally gorgeous! Your FBA was a complete success, dress fits you so well. (you should teach classes :)
10/15/10 6:34 AM
Lynnelle said...
Fabulous! I love every look. Very well done!
10/15/10 7:22 AM
Mazzygirl said...
Lovely, this dress is so worth making isn't it? never thought this would look so good with the blouse under it, but surprisingly that's my favourite look! lovely result, I definitely think you should make another for summer now that you've perfected the fit.
10/15/10 8:02 AM
Paris75008 said...
Great LBD! Your styling is simple and elegant, especially the daytime look. The dress is completely transformed! Knockout FBA and topstitching! Well done!
10/15/10 8:05 AM
Kim12469 said...
Wow! What a gorgeous dress on you! Thank you for the detailed FBA information.
10/15/10 8:47 AM
ingysoup said...
Great review. I had to chuckle out loud at your notion that the FBA wasn't for the faint at heart. I always have a HUGE FBA to do on everything, and it's a great deal of work. I am so happy for you that yours turned out to fit you like a glove! I love your styling - Michelle ain't got nothing on you! Look forward to seeing your next incarnation of this dress!
10/15/10 9:20 AM
4u2cme said...
The look is just marvelous!! The FBA is dead on not for the faint of hear. I'm just loving your LBD. This is a great review with very detailed tips & photos.
10/15/10 9:49 AM
Barbara V said...
Gorgeous LBD! I'm impressed with your FBA adjustments and how perfectly it fits and flatters your figure. Lovely work!
10/15/10 10:12 AM
RLL said...
This is simply lovely. The fit couldn't get any better and the daytime idea is genius!
10/15/10 12:53 PM
jewelsew said...
Looks great and I especially appreciate the FBA help.
10/15/10 1:35 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous! You look stunning in this dress!
10/15/10 1:47 PM
sewnsewtoo said...
Gorgeous dress. Fit is perfect. I agree the daytime look is great.
10/15/10 1:50 PM
cmarie12 said...
What a beautiful dress! And I love how you showed all the various looks - the dress actually looks different in each situation! Great job!
10/15/10 2:01 PM
Scheryka said...
Love the look and pop of the day time look. Yummy purple.
10/15/10 4:15 PM
Leslie in Austin said...
You gorgeous creature!
10/16/10 1:19 PM
Christas said...
Each of the looks are wonderful. The dress is such a nice fit and flatters your figure beautifully. You look so lovely!
10/16/10 6:41 PM
FreyaStark said...
An elegant and versatile LBD, and a great fit as well.
10/16/10 6:52 PM
Schnauzer said...
Absolutely gorgeous!
10/17/10 0:52 AM
1SewSweet said...
Absolutely beautiful! I really need to learn the FBA. Your dress fits perfectly and looks goregous on you!
10/17/10 8:52 AM
Beek said...
Great LBD. I, too, have this pattern and now I am looking forward to sewing it up!
10/17/10 10:50 AM
Heatherrique said...
You are definitely Lovely, Beautiful, and Dazzling in your LBD dress!
10/17/10 12:35 PM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL dress for a BEAUTIFUL lady. Great review, too, with helpful photos of the dreaded FBA. :o)
10/17/10 2:26 PM
vespabelle said...
I love your daytime look!
10/17/10 6:45 PM
knitmachinequeen said...
Thank you all for your lovely comments!
10/17/10 9:01 PM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! What a pretty dress and great fit! Your photos of the FBA are great!
10/17/10 10:26 PM
ggf2005 said...
lol boobage! you my friend have done it again...fabulous! oh yeah this one is in my stash!
10/17/10 11:27 PM
AnneM said...
You are ready for Washington. Great dress, classic style, wonderful fit.
10/18/10 7:40 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great fit. Your alterations worked perfectly.
10/19/10 11:20 AM
Leora said...
I was wondering how this would work with a blouse, and you did it good! Perfect!!
10/19/10 1:10 PM
rosecy said...
Gorgeous dress! You look "Wow"!
10/21/10 7:44 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Your dress looks great. I have been working on this dress about same time as you. I wish I had known this asI would have used your FBA method. I also wish I had ubterfgace the front pieces also. Your dress loos marvelous on you!
10/23/10 10:02 AM
pauladaniel said...
Girl - You ROCK that dress! Keep up the inspiration for the rest of us... like me
10/26/10 2:23 PM
KMangum said...
Really helpful review with the full-bust photos, so thanks. I'm glad you spent the extra time as the dress fits you so nicely, and is very flattering.
1/28/11 3:05 PM
anncie1 said...
luv it!!
2/19/11 8:18 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Fantastic!
2/19/11 10:09 PM
Sue Parrott said...
i am so impressed with your result. I need to make a FBA and also about the same size you did. Glad to see a curvy girl looking stunning in this dress!
1/16/14 9:46 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 1292 skirt
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 10/16/12
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)
Sew Chic Knapsack Pattern (ln100)

Details
Price: $5.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Popover Sundress (FREE!)
Popover Sundress (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3341
photo
Review by LM2HYD on 2/22/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3473 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3473 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6941 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6941 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us