Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Sewing Workshop: Joplin Pullover (Joplin Pullover) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 300 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR
About marecstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/18/10 8:36 PM
Last Updated:10/18/10 10:17 PM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $22.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sfshaza said...
Awwww, marec, I'm sorry this was a dud of a pattern for you. I have this pattern and it does look like it has potential, but I will be very careful if I ever attempt it.
10/18/10 9:16 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Sorry you had such a struggle with the pattern, but gosh that fabric is fresh and beachy breezy... and in the end, the vest over long sleeve T really looks super cute and flattering on you (and the pale blue looks really nice on you too)! I love it.
10/19/10 0:39 AM
Annette1 said...
NICE SAVE on this one! I think I like it better without the sleeves anyway. :o) If YOU couldn't figure out the hood, I'm not even going to attempt it -- ha! It's really CUTE and makes the outfit!
10/19/10 0:50 AM
Jennifer shaw said...
I do like the fabric and the color on you. Is there any way it can be salvaged??
10/19/10 0:50 AM
Renren said...
Looks good and I'll bet you will enjoy it on your extended camping trip. Fabric is great, too. (I think I may have a SW pattern and now I'm a little concerned. However, most likely I will forget by the time I attempt to sew it--if ever.) Rock on, marec, rock on. That's all we can do.
10/19/10 0:52 AM
FreyaStark said...
Sorry you had such a bad experience but thanks for the alert, and I hope you get some wear out of the top.
10/19/10 2:13 AM
marthamyers said...
Wow! great recovery. Your fabric is TDF and your result is great on you. What hard work to get there. I'll definitely skip this pattern, Mary, though I am practically a SW groupie. I usually love all their patterns, but this one is clearly a dud. Thanks for sharing your experience. It's so tempting to post only the happiest results. This is a good reminder to me.
10/19/10 9:35 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
Your top looks just great! I think some of the sewing workshop patterns are a bit iffy. There are often quirky little oddities to deal with. Looks like you certainly came out on top with this one!
10/19/10 12:39 PM
Izzie said...
Aw, too bad you had problems with this. You came out with a cute top though. I just went back and read my review and remembered that I sewed one of the pieces upside down and had to rip it out...maybe that was your problem with the "hood"? As I recall, it was really easy to get those pattern pieces mixed up.
10/19/10 12:54 PM
marec said...
Thanks everyone, and Izzie-your top is so cute. Looking at your photos I do believe I sewed the collar hood on the wrong side (ie inside out). If I make this again (HA) I'm sending it to you to finish the collar :-)
10/19/10 8:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Kwik Sew 2956
photo
Review by Zoomitron on 1/22/12
Read Review

Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Cascade Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Zippy Jacket Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2008-103
photo
Review by Nata on 10/1/09
Read Review

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 204 Pattern
Petite Plus 204 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1548 Pattern ( Size 8 )
Simplicity 1548 Pattern ( Size 8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 6026 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us