SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Loes Hinse Designs> 5206 (Criss-Cross Top)

14 more reviews
Viewed 462 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/15/10 2:35 AM
Last Updated:10/15/10 5:47 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewing Gal said...
I personally have made this top for my three daughters and myself using both the medium, large and extra large sizes. They all came out perfect with literally no adjustments being made. One has to get used to the difference in Loes Hinse' patterns and directions, that's for sure. But I simply LOVE this top. Looks great on. I made one in a cotton knit and another one in a cotton with stretch but not a true knit. Again, they all came out beautifully. Your top looks great.
11/16/10 8:12 PM
ClaireEmily said...
I love the V-neck, it looks great on you. Lovely print too!
10/21/10 10:17 PM
Harriet Rogers said...
This looks wonderful on you--very flattering neckline. Should definitely be one of those patterns you re-make often. Loved the fabric you chose.
10/16/10 9:02 PM
Heatherrique said...
I would not guess that your top came from this pattern. Your top is more enticing and nicer fitting than LH's.
10/16/10 6:07 PM
moushka said...
Thank you for the neckline sewing info, very helpful. It's good to know that there is enough fabric in the circumference to customize the shaping. A little extra fabric is so much easier to deal with than not enough!
10/16/10 3:25 PM
CSM--Carla said...
Thank you for the clarification of the neckline --to stop 1 cm before the edge. I couldn't figure out WHAT was the matter with mine--so true about the directions not being clear here. Carla
10/16/10 10:25 AM
Annette1 said...
Such a smart looking and versatile top. That v-neck is JUST RIGHT! :o)
10/16/10 1:55 AM
marec said...
That is a very flattering neckline on you, and I also like your print choice. Thanks for the very helpful review with details on the front yoke, and on the fit. I always enjoy reading your reviews and they inspire me to tackle blouses I would normally shy away from.
10/15/10 9:13 PM
carolynw said...
Your top looks very nice - very helpful review
10/15/10 2:56 PM
Mini said...
I had this pattern and really liked the flattering neckline, which looks nice in your version too. If I remember correctly, this pattern came with two version with different shaping at the sides. One view had the boxy shape you describe in view B-really not so nice. I think the other view had more shaping at the side but not really enough for a fitted top. Maybe you could use the neck treatment on another pattern that fits better, which is what I did:).
10/15/10 11:49 AM
RLL said...
I agree that this is very flattering on you.
10/15/10 11:37 AM
Mufffet said...
I have this pattern, as both my daughter and myself like it. Now I will know what to look out for. Making two of these, one for her and one for me would give it a good run because she is small, and very tiny and I am a plus yet short. HHhmm...your review is very helpful! By the way, the top looks very nice on you!
10/15/10 10:54 AM
Barbara V said...
What a great top with the wrap over effect. I like the V-neck which is a very flattering look on you. It looks to be a good fit and I don't see the fitting issues that you describe; but I understand as you say, the small adjustments that you will be making to future tops. This is why we sew....to get the best possible fit in our garments. Having several of these tops in one's wardrobe would be a good thing!
10/15/10 9:29 AM
susiestitcher said...
I think your top looks great. I have always admired this pattern. You have achieved a great fit through the shoulders and bust, which is most of the battle. The technical drawing does seem to indicate less shape and more straight lines, so I agree that you will probably have to add any shaping through vertical back darts and side seam adjustments. But it looks lovely on you.
10/15/10 8:56 AM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
It's a very flattering top. Good classic pattern.
10/15/10 5:40 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Tulip Dress Pattern

More Info
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

More Info
Simplicity 2621

photo
by: julmfoster

Review