SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 5056 (Men's Shirt)

Viewed 230 times 
Reviewed by:PatrickS
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PatrickSstar
United States
Member since: 9/8/05
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/10 7:59 PM
Last Updated:10/18/10 11:53 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PatrickS said...
Joan, This is an out of print pattern. I probably purchased it on EBay quite a long time ago. This is the second shirt I have made with it. Hope you can find it!
10/20/10 9:13 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for your first review, Patrick! This is a very interesting shirt. Do you happen to have a link to the pattern information? I Googled the pattern number but couldn't find anything.
10/19/10 8:36 PM
Peggy L said...
Welcome to PR!! Thanks for reviewing this interesting pattern. Lots of creativity!!!! One of these days I am going to get brave and make a shirt for my adult son.
10/19/10 7:33 PM
Annette1 said...
Congratulations on your first review, and hopefully there will be many more to come. :o) GREAT looking shirt, with PERSONALITY! :o)
10/18/10 7:15 PM
Leora said...
MrNew, choice of color and patterns is a matter of individual taste and I'm not sure why you are asking for clarification as to why he chose this combination. In fact, a pop of color is often a welcome sight in an otherwise harried or dull day, don't you think?
10/18/10 6:42 PM
MrNew said...
Review is great, I've found the pattern locally and I'm going to give it a try. What's nice about sewing one's own clothes is that no one has to like what you do - but you. Shirt was well done, but I don't understand the color choices, nor how the chosen combo "works". I'm not being critical, I just want to understand your thoughts. To me it is an unsettling and unattractive choice of colors and patterns. so if you have time, I'd appreciate a follow-up post explaining your thought process. There is more to sewing than the sewing and I genuinely am interested in your perspective. Was it the colors, the pattern, how it looks on you, how it makes you look, what it 'says' about you, or what? Please discuss if you can. Thanks.
10/18/10 2:04 PM
arianamaniacs said...
interesting pattern! it reminds me of the 1 piece sweater with sewn-in blouse combos for women, but here it's a vest/shirt.
10/18/10 8:43 AM
Leora said...
Great first review! This looks like a good pattern and your rendition is well done! Hope you post more of your work.
10/18/10 0:49 AM
Renren said...
This looks like the perfect shirt pattern. Congratulations on your first review and I hope to read many more!
10/17/10 11:02 PM
Terri A said...
Interesting fabrics and interpretation.
10/17/10 10:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Easy Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Victory Lola Paper Pattern

Buy Now