Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Silhouette Patterns: 600 (Classic Blouse) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 594 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:pterion
photo
Friend of PR
About pterionstarstar
Member since: 11/29/04
Reviews written: 72
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/17/10 11:01 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Well, although it doesn't sound like the perfect pattern, perhaps, I do like hearing that is is a "non-intimidating introduction to shirt-making." I also like the cup size options on the pattern. Thanks.
10/17/10 11:06 PM
JEF said...
Excellent review - thanks.
10/17/10 11:14 PM
RadarRadiance said...
It looks like a nice pattern on you and doesn't look home made at all. It does look a little big, I bet the next smaller size would look perfect, the lines fit you very nice and a great job sewing.
10/17/10 11:20 PM
marec said...
It's a great shirt Terry. I think you will love your next version. I really like the cuff treatment as I think it adds a feminine touch.
10/17/10 11:26 PM
Terri A said...
Sorry it didn't turn out exactly how you wanted - it's still cool and would look great a size or two smaller. I would still wear it baggy tho:-) I love oversized shirts!
10/18/10 0:47 AM
FreyaStark said...
It looks like a promising pattern in spite of your reservations. No doubt your next effort will be even better!
10/18/10 2:35 AM
Darla in PA said...
I can't tell that the shirt looks handmade at all. It does look big on you. However, perhaps all isn't lost as maybe you could wear it as a shirt jacket.
10/18/10 7:45 AM
Christas said...
Thanks for the heads up on the sizing issues. This pattern does have a lot of potential in a smaller size for you. Your sewing is beautiful and this will still be nice to layer over other garments as an over-sized shirt.
10/18/10 9:32 AM
Laurie Lou said...
I would wear it with a t-shirt underneath or a cami and wear it open. It would probably work great for you like that. I'm in agreement. Looks professional not home made.
10/18/10 3:40 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Sorry you struggled with the fit. I agree with Loreo that it would like nice as an overshirt with a cami underneath... It looks very professional. The sleeve button is a really interesting detail I've not seen before. Your shirt looks really nice.
10/19/10 0:55 AM
LaurieEm said...
Thanks for the review - it's good to see one that's recent. I think your shirt looks cute on you. I too tried this one, and wondered whether I chose the wrong size. Mine was a wearable muslin semi-wadder: I wore it about 3 times and ditched it. I think I erred on the small side, again not knowing. Of course with shallow seam allowances I hadn't much room and well ... meh. I decided not to try it again. There are many other patterns in my stash.
10/24/10 9:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

McCall's 6700
photo
Review by Mahogany S... on 5/16/13
Read Review

Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5502 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 2260 Pattern ( Size 16-18 )
McCalls 2260 Pattern ( Size 16-18 )

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 1126-1000
photo
Review by Maria Hatf... on 9/29/04
Read Review

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap
Sew Liberated Huck Finn Cap

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $21.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us