SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Textile Studio> 1003 (Soho Pant)

15 more reviews
Viewed 611 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 167
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/22/10 3:37 AM
Last Updated:10/22/10 7:06 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancywin said...
Thanks for your review on this. I have this pattern, but have not made it. When I was in Loes Hinse's studio last spring, she said it was a terrible pattern and not well drafted. (Of course, she also drafted patterns for Textile Studios, but not this one hahaha) Glad to see you had good results. If I do make it, I will check the waistband height before putting in the zipper. Thanks!
5/1/11 9:17 PM
Dee2 said...
Great looking pants--the fit is really nice & they look wonderful on.
1/6/11 10:29 PM
ClaireEmily said...
How nice that they fit so well first time! Do you find the wool itchy to wear unlined? I only ever had one pair of wool pants and I hated them and have never gone there since.
10/25/10 6:07 PM
maryfrana said...
These are perfectly classic. Thanks for the tips on the high waist. I have meant to make these for a long time. Your fit is so very nice.
10/23/10 12:41 PM
lesliez said...
These look great on you. Very flattering and I imagine that they are comfortable.
10/23/10 12:31 PM
Sharonspils said...
Wonderful classic pants and they are very flattering.
10/23/10 1:54 AM
Annette1 said...
Another great review, and that goes double for the pants! I especially like that waistband: comfortable yet flattering. :o)
10/23/10 1:34 AM
marec said...
Wonderful result with this pattern FreyaStark! I really like the drape you achieved. I have used this pattern with both wovens and knits. I just leave off the zipper on knits. It's my go-to pattern for kick around pants. Thanks for the info about finishing-I haven't a serger either.
10/22/10 5:58 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for those lovely compliments, and thanks for the tip, ggf2005. I did think of that, but because the fabric had frayed so badly already, it would have meant unpicking the zip and moving it further down. It was already in place and its position is critical to the waist treatment working. Next time I would finish the waist edge in advance - one way or another - to avoid problems later.
10/22/10 5:49 PM
cloudyhn said...
Classic ... Fit you totally and nice look with the top also
10/22/10 5:28 PM
ggf2005 said...
you can't beat the fit when you put a zipper in pants with an elastic waist. love the fabic even though it frays like mad. you could also turn the fabric under 1/4" (.5 cm?) press it and then sew the elastic on top of the folded fabric would be another way to create a neater edge inside.
10/22/10 5:13 PM
jannw said...
very good look on you and a great fit....thanx for all the details in the review
10/22/10 12:07 PM
Mufffet said...
Very very nice slacks.
10/22/10 10:23 AM
carolynw said...
They look great on you. Totally understadn the need for pants that will fit from one season to the next - just finished changing over from summer to Fall/Winter and oh how I wish I had found more that would fit - it's either lose weight (again) or try a pattern like this. Your usual very helpful review
10/22/10 9:12 AM
AnitaJJ said...
The pants look great on you and a very helpful review with the details of how the waistband works, how high it is and I LOVED the story at the end to put it all in context...
10/22/10 8:53 AM
MNBarb said...
I always love your reviews. The pants look great on you and, although the fabric sounds a bit beastly to handle, it has wonderful drape for these pants.
10/22/10 8:47 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I meant to add I really like the pants and how they fit-they look great.
10/22/10 8:27 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I have this pattern stashed after reading Karla's comments on it on PR. I was excited to read your review and hints. I had to laugh about the comments about a pants pattern to pull out when you need some to wear. I have lots of dress pants but need some real ones to wear all the time for casual wear that can stand lots of wash and wear.Thanks for all the tips.
10/22/10 8:26 AM
Renren said...
Yes, classic is the word that comes to mind. They look, well, tailored although we are talking about 4 darts, a zipper and an elastic waist, just my kind of pants. Even though the fray-happy fabric was difficult to work with, I think it is the perfect pairing for this pattern.
10/22/10 7:35 AM
Paris75008 said...
Absolutely classic pants. They look very figure flattering. I don't think they look dated at all. Personally, I can't stand low rise pants.
10/22/10 7:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

Sewing Workshop Tribeca Shirt

photo
by: Margaret

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 281013-1002

photo
by: HDWen

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Long & Short Caftans

More Info