SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3567 (Tops)

10 more reviews
Viewed 483 times 
Reviewed by:lyndle
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About lyndlestar
NEW ZEALAND
Member since: 3/19/06
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:10/30/10 6:07 AM
Last Updated:10/30/10 6:09 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Renren said...
Excellent review! Oh, yes, kayaking and mucking about in the water--what an excellent way to spend your time. "There is nothing--absolutely nothing - half so much worth doing as simply messing about in boats." - Kenneth Grahame, The Wind in the Willows And you will be well-outfitted in your SPF sun protection top! Very nice.
10/30/10 6:38 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I never noticed this pattern but like it. Thanks for all the info on its fit.
10/30/10 7:27 AM
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me, and a nice neat fit. The colour is great.
10/30/10 7:29 AM
michellep74 said...
Great top!
10/30/10 11:49 AM
mhk3boys said...
I think your top looks awesome!
10/30/10 2:16 PM
JEF said...
I think it looks great!
10/30/10 11:18 PM
Annette1 said...
A great review, and a lovely top, as well -- and SPF 50, to boot! I know what you mean about not wanting to wrestle with a dart in a particular fabric. I have, a couple of times, run a gathering stitch at the side seam instead of folding in a dart. I'm not sure if I've done it quite RIGHT, but it seems to have worked all right, and I was able to avoid a dart. This is a great pattern! I'm thinking maybe I need one -- ha!
10/31/10 1:37 AM
Auntchelle said...
Great rashie. For shape and volume Ottobre often uses clear elastic in the bigger sizes rather using a dart. This gathers the longer front piece to the same length as the back. Maybe that would work in this type of top?
11/1/10 6:03 AM
Jane S said...
Great top for such fun days to come. Enjoy!
11/1/10 7:35 AM
KathySews said...
very nice. I agree with Annette1, you don't want a dart and I also thought of gathering on the side where dart would start. No worries on this top
11/1/10 6:19 PM
hazelnut said...
Thank you for your thorough review - it's very helpful! You did a great job with your serger and with the fit. We have similar shapes and I've always stayed away from raglan in RTW, but now I'm tempted to give a KS raglan a try. Well done... and they are called rash tops here too. :)
11/5/10 7:59 PM
KiwiWendy said...
I just bought this to make a rashie too. I don't think I'm going to get away with a dartless FBA
12/31/10 10:49 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Buy Now
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

Buy Now
New Look 6172

photo
by: sewin

Review