SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5209 (Retro '47 Dress)

42 more reviews
Viewed 649 times 
Reviewed by:JennifeRose7
photo

 
 
About JennifeRose7star
NY USA
Member since: 1/15/10
Reviews: 28 (patterns: 25)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/10 4:14 PM
Last Updated:11/15/10 1:48 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
EMSB said... (2/1/11 11:51 PM) Reply
Thanks for the great review! I'm still deciding if I will take it on and your experience is very helpful. My last go at a retro pattern still has me reeling, so I will probably wait until I have forgotten that pain :-) Your dress is beautiful and makes me want to try even after being forewarned.
Terri A said... (11/15/10 11:48 PM) Reply
It looks gorgeous! That fabric is to die for.
JennifeRose7 said... (11/15/10 1:56 PM) Reply
I lucked out. I didn't have to make any adjustments. The fit is really fantastic. Bellelass, I thin my fabric may have made it harder on me because it did have some thickness to it that I didn't perceive when I bought it. It's a headache where all the seams meet under the arms. There are lots of seam allowances piling up in that area and that drove me crazy.
bakerk said... (11/14/10 6:56 PM) Reply
it's beautiful! I'll try it next time in a smaller size. The patterns does seem to be more roomy than desirable
Paris75008 said... (11/14/10 8:49 AM) Reply
Very, very pretty dress. When I made this dress, I found that the bodice pattern needed a LOT of tweaking to get a good fit. Yours came out great.
cloudyhn said... (11/13/10 6:06 PM) Reply
very cute. You must be very pretty in this dress. I love it...
3HoursPast said... (11/13/10 4:51 PM) Reply
It looks really, really nice, how does it look on you? I've had my eye on this pattern for a while, thanks for the honest review. Is it possible your fabric choice had something to do with the difficulty, as the pattern is intended for a woven? Anyway, really lovely little dress, well done.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Perfectly Fitted Shirt
Perfectly Fitted Shirt

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2555

photo
by: gsp1066

Review
Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Sew Liberated Lola and Lolita Aprons

Pattern Details
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Pattern Details