SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5209 (Retro '47 Dress)

45 more reviews
Viewed 664 times 
Reviewed by:JennifeRose7
photo

 
 
About JennifeRose7star
NY USA
Member since: 1/15/10
Reviews: 28 (patterns: 25)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/13/10 4:14 PM
Last Updated:11/15/10 1:48 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $16.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
EMSB said... (2/1/11 11:51 PM) Reply
Thanks for the great review! I'm still deciding if I will take it on and your experience is very helpful. My last go at a retro pattern still has me reeling, so I will probably wait until I have forgotten that pain :-) Your dress is beautiful and makes me want to try even after being forewarned.
Terri A said... (11/15/10 11:48 PM) Reply
It looks gorgeous! That fabric is to die for.
JennifeRose7 said... (11/15/10 1:56 PM) Reply
I lucked out. I didn't have to make any adjustments. The fit is really fantastic. Bellelass, I thin my fabric may have made it harder on me because it did have some thickness to it that I didn't perceive when I bought it. It's a headache where all the seams meet under the arms. There are lots of seam allowances piling up in that area and that drove me crazy.
bakerk said... (11/14/10 6:56 PM) Reply
it's beautiful! I'll try it next time in a smaller size. The patterns does seem to be more roomy than desirable
Paris75008 said... (11/14/10 8:49 AM) Reply
Very, very pretty dress. When I made this dress, I found that the bodice pattern needed a LOT of tweaking to get a good fit. Yours came out great.
cloudyhn said... (11/13/10 6:06 PM) Reply
very cute. You must be very pretty in this dress. I love it...
3HoursPast said... (11/13/10 4:51 PM) Reply
It looks really, really nice, how does it look on you? I've had my eye on this pattern for a while, thanks for the honest review. Is it possible your fabric choice had something to do with the difficulty, as the pattern is intended for a woven? Anyway, really lovely little dress, well done.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Pattern Work
Pattern Work

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Young Image Magazine SS-2013-Y1305

photo
by: grays08

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Classic Hawaiian Businessman's Aloha Shirt

Pattern Details
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Pattern Details
StyleArc Cruising Kate Pant

photo
by: rieski

Review