Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 6071 (Misses' Dresses In 2 Lengths) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 340 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:AnitaJJ
photo
About AnitaJJstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/6/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/10 1:21 PM
Last Updated:11/7/10 4:15 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karendee said...
Darling dress and clever use of fabric. I have spent some time browsing through your blog and am superimpressed with your re-using of fabrics in such clever way. Not only are you sewing with budget in mind, you're recycling in the best sort of way. I'm impressed!
11/6/10 4:22 PM
MNBarb said...
I love all of your dresses. Ooh, especially the blue maxi.
11/6/10 7:42 PM
crazygrad said...
So pretty and festive! I wish I had that fabric to make a blouse for my mother.
11/6/10 9:47 PM
marec said...
What a great dress! I love the retro feel of the black background and bamboo print. Here are my thoughts on your dress-it's lovely and I like the style on you. I would make the skirt a bit shorter to balance the halter top or take it all the way to right above the ankle (I know, kinda impossible now). I also have your fitting issue with bust size. I am between a B and C, depending on my fitness and health. I cut my patterns for a size or sometimes 2 in the shoulders and upper bust, then graduate to a size larger, then another size for my hips. I haven't needed an FBA but could probably benefit if making a very fitted woven blouse. Just my 2 cents.
11/7/10 0:47 AM
mm said...
I think this great dress would look even better if it was a bit shorter.
11/7/10 4:31 AM
Annette1 said...
How CUTE! It looks like a pretty darn good fit to me. ALL of your dresses are so pretty, and you really SHINE in that maxi dress, especially! I too have read the recommendations that you use the upper bust measurement, but I don't do it, to tell you the truth. I'm quite a "busty little number," as my mom would say (38FF), and what I usually do is I cut the neckline and shoulders a size smaller than everything else, AND I make an FBA. Of course, I realize you don't have a neckline or shoulders here, so I'm not of much help!
11/7/10 10:27 PM
cloudyhn said...
you did great job on the dress. I like it a lot
11/7/10 10:36 PM
Patti B said...
Congrats on transforming the skirt into this cute dress. It looks good from here but I do hear you on making changes in the future.
11/8/10 10:45 AM
JillyBe said...
LOVE that fabric, & love the dress too! I concur with everything marec said about fit adjustments (I have similar issues, & make similar adjustments for my body). I also think a bit shorter would have better proportions, but overall I think you did a great job!
11/8/10 3:56 PM
ryansmumAria said...
oh wow! pretty everything you make is so super sexy
11/8/10 10:16 PM
KatC83 said...
Wow! You look stunning in that dress. All your fitting, cutting and altering has paid off!
11/9/10 2:49 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Butterick 5756 Misses Skirt
photo
Review by mimi g. on 3/9/12
Read Review

McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6142 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1649 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1812
photo
Review by Sblk211 on 8/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )
Peek-A Boo Annabelle Hat Digital Pattern ( Size 0-10 years )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD
Learn to Sew a Shirt or Blouse DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us