SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 6071 (Misses' Dresses In 2 Lengths)

Viewed 342 times 
Reviewed by:AnitaJJ
photo

 
 
About AnitaJJstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/6/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/6/10 1:21 PM
Last Updated:11/7/10 4:15 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
KatC83 said...
Wow! You look stunning in that dress. All your fitting, cutting and altering has paid off!
11/9/10 2:49 AM
ryansmumAria said...
oh wow! pretty everything you make is so super sexy
11/8/10 10:16 PM
JillyBe said...
LOVE that fabric, & love the dress too! I concur with everything marec said about fit adjustments (I have similar issues, & make similar adjustments for my body). I also think a bit shorter would have better proportions, but overall I think you did a great job!
11/8/10 3:56 PM
Patti B said...
Congrats on transforming the skirt into this cute dress. It looks good from here but I do hear you on making changes in the future.
11/8/10 10:45 AM
cloudyhn said...
you did great job on the dress. I like it a lot
11/7/10 10:36 PM
Annette1 said...
How CUTE! It looks like a pretty darn good fit to me. ALL of your dresses are so pretty, and you really SHINE in that maxi dress, especially! I too have read the recommendations that you use the upper bust measurement, but I don't do it, to tell you the truth. I'm quite a "busty little number," as my mom would say (38FF), and what I usually do is I cut the neckline and shoulders a size smaller than everything else, AND I make an FBA. Of course, I realize you don't have a neckline or shoulders here, so I'm not of much help!
11/7/10 10:27 PM
mm said...
I think this great dress would look even better if it was a bit shorter.
11/7/10 4:31 AM
marec said...
What a great dress! I love the retro feel of the black background and bamboo print. Here are my thoughts on your dress-it's lovely and I like the style on you. I would make the skirt a bit shorter to balance the halter top or take it all the way to right above the ankle (I know, kinda impossible now). I also have your fitting issue with bust size. I am between a B and C, depending on my fitness and health. I cut my patterns for a size or sometimes 2 in the shoulders and upper bust, then graduate to a size larger, then another size for my hips. I haven't needed an FBA but could probably benefit if making a very fitted woven blouse. Just my 2 cents.
11/7/10 0:47 AM
crazygrad said...
So pretty and festive! I wish I had that fabric to make a blouse for my mother.
11/6/10 9:47 PM
MNBarb said...
I love all of your dresses. Ooh, especially the blue maxi.
11/6/10 7:42 PM
Karendee said...
Darling dress and clever use of fabric. I have spent some time browsing through your blog and am superimpressed with your re-using of fabrics in such clever way. Not only are you sewing with budget in mind, you're recycling in the best sort of way. I'm impressed!
11/6/10 4:22 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-118A

photo
by: Gecko

Review
Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Petite Plus 504 Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now