Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4769 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 691 times 34 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:LJane
photo
About LJanestar
SC USA
Member since: 7/19/10
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/10 9:49 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewmytime said...
Very lovely dress! I love love the boots paired with this dress! Very chic, classic
11/10/10 10:09 PM
Aroura said...
Great looking dress, love the style on you.
11/11/10 2:14 AM
FreyaStark said...
After all that effort, the end result is good enough to wear, and the style suits you really well. I like the way you've subtly subverted the primness of this dress by wearing it without a belt and with boots.
11/11/10 2:41 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very nice! I really like this style of dress and the tencel is perfect fabric!
11/11/10 6:12 AM
Lili123 said...
super nice dress, i love the style, it looks very nice with your boots.
11/11/10 7:24 AM
Diane333 said...
You look beautiful in this dress and I love your choice of buttons and button hole thread.
11/11/10 8:58 AM
stsimon said...
That bright blue color is really pretty. A lot of tencel colors are sort of dull. Tencel can be a little tricky when you have to turn points (like the lapel) because it is bulky, yet ravels so you don't want to trim it too close. I go down to a tiny, tiny stitch at the point, and then add a fine zigzag in the seam allowance up to to the point, then trim close. Another tricky place is that pivot point, getting everything to match up; sometimes I stitch up close to the pivot point from the lapel and from the collar, then turn, press, and finish the little hole that remains with invisible hand stitches. Pressing tencel can make it shiny, so use a press cloth; also, topstitching the edges of collar and lapel will make the edges sharper and professional-looking. (You see that a lot on tencel garments in stores.)
11/11/10 11:02 AM
drsue said...
Great job. Your dress looks a lot nicer than the ones on the pattern envelope.
11/11/10 12:15 PM
RLL said...
Nice dress and great color!
11/11/10 12:19 PM
barbcl said...
Beautiful dress.
11/11/10 1:24 PM
rozzybabe said...
You did great, so don't beat yourself up! No project is without challenge or error, so just keep sewing!
11/11/10 5:21 PM
LJane said...
Thanks everybody! All the nice comments have made my day. stsimon, I thought about that while I was trying to do the collar- that I probably wasn't using the easiest fabric for those pivot points. That's good advice to stitch just up to the point and then finish with hand stitching.
11/11/10 9:02 PM
21wale said...
I love this! The constrasting buttons are very fun.
11/11/10 9:03 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Daisy Kingdom 2431
photo
Review by kathieh9 on 7/30/13
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Coffee Date Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2447 Misses' Tops
photo
Review by kittecat on 4/10/13
Read Review

Butterick 5930 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Butterick 5930 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2226 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 2226 Pattern( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us