SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4769 

36 more reviews
Viewed 698 times 
Reviewed by:LJane
photo

 
 
About LJanestar
Member since: 7/19/10
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 23
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/10/10 9:49 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sewmytime said...
Very lovely dress! I love love the boots paired with this dress! Very chic, classic
11/10/10 10:09 PM
Aroura said...
Great looking dress, love the style on you.
11/11/10 2:14 AM
FreyaStark said...
After all that effort, the end result is good enough to wear, and the style suits you really well. I like the way you've subtly subverted the primness of this dress by wearing it without a belt and with boots.
11/11/10 2:41 AM
1SewSweet said...
Very nice! I really like this style of dress and the tencel is perfect fabric!
11/11/10 6:12 AM
Lili123 said...
super nice dress, i love the style, it looks very nice with your boots.
11/11/10 7:24 AM
Diane333 said...
You look beautiful in this dress and I love your choice of buttons and button hole thread.
11/11/10 8:58 AM
stsimon said...
That bright blue color is really pretty. A lot of tencel colors are sort of dull. Tencel can be a little tricky when you have to turn points (like the lapel) because it is bulky, yet ravels so you don't want to trim it too close. I go down to a tiny, tiny stitch at the point, and then add a fine zigzag in the seam allowance up to to the point, then trim close. Another tricky place is that pivot point, getting everything to match up; sometimes I stitch up close to the pivot point from the lapel and from the collar, then turn, press, and finish the little hole that remains with invisible hand stitches. Pressing tencel can make it shiny, so use a press cloth; also, topstitching the edges of collar and lapel will make the edges sharper and professional-looking. (You see that a lot on tencel garments in stores.)
11/11/10 11:02 AM
drsue said...
Great job. Your dress looks a lot nicer than the ones on the pattern envelope.
11/11/10 12:15 PM
RLL said...
Nice dress and great color!
11/11/10 12:19 PM
barbcl said...
Beautiful dress.
11/11/10 1:24 PM
rozzybabe said...
You did great, so don't beat yourself up! No project is without challenge or error, so just keep sewing!
11/11/10 5:21 PM
LJane said...
Thanks everybody! All the nice comments have made my day. stsimon, I thought about that while I was trying to do the collar- that I probably wasn't using the easiest fabric for those pivot points. That's good advice to stitch just up to the point and then finish with hand stitching.
11/11/10 9:02 PM
21wale said...
I love this! The constrasting buttons are very fun.
11/11/10 9:03 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

Burda 7207

photo
by: valerie se...

Review

Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Sewing Workshop Joplin Pullover Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now