Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 8777 - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 461 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:AnitaJJ
photo
About AnitaJJstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/6/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/11/10 10:42 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marec said...
What a great tee for kicking around. I love it on you and really, don't see the fit issues you see. Maybe cut a size smaller for the back? Anyway, nice color and cute tee.
11/11/10 11:52 AM
cloudyhn said...
Perfect fit on you. Great work Anita. I saw in one photo you had bamboo trees on the ground , didn't you? Tell me I'm right cause I missed those so much, I loved walking barefeet under bamboo trees' shade, around my dad's hometown village .. crying... :(
11/11/10 12:43 PM
rivergum said...
That colour really suits you, as do all the things you have reviewed lately. You are my icon of an attractive older woman with style! Re the wrinkle above the bust, I have the same problem. I have tried to do a 'bubble' FBA, to no avail. I's love one of the expert sewers to weigh in on that one.
11/11/10 2:41 PM
JuanitaVA said...
You're probably your own worst critic on the fit issues. I think it looks fine, and the color is great on you. Now, I am looking at this on my Droid, so maybe I'm missing something... but I donít think so. ;)
11/11/10 3:29 PM
no7262 said...
It looks really nice on you! Don't be so hard on yourself! If you post your pictures in the Fitting issue section, I'm sure some one will tell you have to fix your issues. Nora :)
11/11/10 3:37 PM
Aroura said...
Great looking top! I think the fit looks great, too. I think a dart in the CB is a fine design element. I've done something similar once, and it looked good.
11/11/10 4:36 PM
Christas said...
Looks great on you! I think you might be being too hard on yourself. I have plenty of RTW tops that the fit is not as nice as the one you have sewn for yourself.
11/11/10 5:00 PM
Kayseri said...
I love the colour and the shape of this Tee. I reduce those back wrinkles by scooping the waist curve deeper on the back peice only, about 1/4".
11/12/10 1:49 AM
MNBarb said...
I don't see the fit issues. This T looks great on you.
11/12/10 10:46 PM
Renren said...
Hmm, well, if it is true that the Big 4 draft with a B-cup in mind, I would say that any excessive length issues that might occur in the front/bodice piece will be used to cover the bustline in your case. As for the back, I think that horizontal wrinkle is saying, hey, there's a surplus of fabric back here and I think I'll just handle it by creating this delightful little roll of fabric. It seems to me you might want to shorten the back piece a little between the high hip and the . . . mid-rib cage? Just fold out 1/4 inch or so on the pattern piece horizonzally across the back. Now the length of the front and back pieces will be different. Do what New Look 6735 does with the longer front piece. From about an inch under the arm over maybe a 3-inch length along the seam, gather that excess length and it will provide more room for the bustline. I made this pattern and loved this feature and someone the other day said she routinely lengthens the front piece so she can do this gathering technique. I'm sure this probably isn't making sense. I have an idea for over the bustline, too, but I'm not as sure about that one. Anyway, believe me, if I ever looked this good in a top, or if it fit me this well I would feel I had achieved sewing/fitting nirvana.
11/13/10 5:30 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Thanks so much to everyone for the nice comments and for the fitting tips. A lot of ideas I hadn't considered: Marec: cutting the BACK a size smaller, franticFashion: a bubble FBA (I have to look that one up), Aroura: a dart in the CB, Kayseri: scooping the back curve deeper, Renren: fold out excess on back and gather on front. What a lot of great ideas to try. Thanks so much to all of you.
11/13/10 7:52 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Kwik Sew 2662
photo
Review by SusieK1957 on 11/12/06
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Lily's Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Devon Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

LaFred 108 Helena Dress
photo
Review by Ann Smith on 11/26/03
Read Review

New Look 6145 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6145 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6407 Pattern
New Look 6407 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us