SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1085 (MISSES' TOP)

12 more reviews
Viewed 824 times 
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 272
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 228
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/10 0:04 AM
Last Updated:11/15/10 0:44 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jilly cooper said...
good luck with the cs machine. Your top is a great match between fabric and pattern. I really like it :)
11/12/10 3:17 AM
FreyaStark said...
A smart top in a gorgeous fabric. The pocket idea is great.
11/12/10 4:05 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Love this top and the color is great on you.
11/12/10 5:53 AM
donna mel said...
Nice top, I love the 'weighted front' idea!
11/12/10 7:07 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
This top looks great on you! I bet the fabric feels good as well. Nice job!
11/12/10 7:11 AM
Christas said...
I have this pattern and haven't sewn it yet. Thanks so much for your review. That little pocket for the coin is such a neat detail to keep the neckline laying properly. Love the color and fit of your new top!
11/12/10 8:33 AM
Nan Kay said...
Looks great. You will get the coverstitch figured out, I read all the tips for it and finally realized each machine is just a little different. Mine needs just a tweak more tension than the suggestions, but I love it.
11/12/10 8:47 AM
RLL said...
This top looks really good on you. Love the color too.
11/12/10 10:12 AM
sewbehind said...
This is very cute on you. The coverstitch has a learning curve. Have you tried Debbie Cook's tutorials? That did it for me.
11/12/10 10:14 AM
Elke said...
Really cute top and it looks pretty on you!
11/12/10 10:30 AM
LynnG said...
Great looking top and it fits you so well. I'm glad to hear it fits narrow shoulders. The draped neckline looks so pretty. I have been trying some cowl type necklines and I haven't found the one that works for me yet. I will have to give this a try. Thanks!
11/12/10 10:57 AM
JanJanB said...
Love this top on you. Great color.
11/12/10 12:18 PM
MNBarb said...
Perfect top!
11/12/10 10:35 PM
Rhoda K said...
Pretty top and like the *weight* idea. Always learn something new. The top looks nice on you.
11/13/10 8:37 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
What a nice looking top.
11/13/10 12:42 PM
dresscode said...
Is this one of the Betzina patterns where she incorporates a front "stay" or mesh liner inside the front? If so, I really like that idea! Love your top...I'm going to move it up in my very slow stack!
11/13/10 1:50 PM
Nancywin said...
This is a Sandra Betzina top, but there is no mesh or lining in the front
11/13/10 6:23 PM
4u2cme said...
Great top, the color is flattering.
11/13/10 7:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Add me to the list who is inspired to get this pattern because of your very nice looking top!
11/14/10 3:21 PM
JillyBe said...
The neckline drape is so nice! I guess it's the weight that gives it that little extra - brilliant touch! I've been looking for the right drapey-cowley sort of neckline for a knit top - I think you've found it for me, thanks!
11/15/10 2:23 AM
FLFiFiLarue said...
WoW! Sharp looking top! Gorgeous color, great fit and great finish work!
11/15/10 7:24 AM
velosewer said...
I like this top and the fact that you have two tops in this pattern. All the best with your CP.
11/17/10 9:59 PM
kim*brown said...
Yours looks much better then the one model on pattern envelope!
11/18/10 3:29 PM
sewrose said...
Nancy, Your results are so nice (of course). Has the top worn well over time? You see, I've made two of these, and neither one has held up, mostly because of the fabrics I chose. They were too wimpy and continued to stretch and stretch after I sewed the tops (and on the second garment, I skipped the little pouch at the neckline). One fabric, which I bought at Mood, is pilling like crazy. I guess what I'm observing my experience is, use a knit with a LOT of snap back.
2/5/11 12:58 PM
Nancywin said...
I LOVE this shirt and it is absolutely one of my favorite. I think that is due to the fabric. I ordered what is called a T-shirt knit from Denver fabrics which is rayon and 3% Lycra. I checked today and they still have it in several colors on their website. Even though I've done little to no sewing since the new year, I may go order some more of this because it is super soft and has held up well so far.
2/6/11 10:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Buy Now
Deer&Doe Robe Sureau

photo
by: Kathhhhhy

Review