Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1085 (MISSES' TOP) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 816 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:Nancywin
photo
Friend of PR
About Nancywinstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/25/06
Reviews written: 266
Favored by: 121 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/10 0:04 AM
Last Updated:11/15/10 0:44 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jilly cooper said...
good luck with the cs machine. Your top is a great match between fabric and pattern. I really like it :)
11/12/10 3:17 AM
FreyaStark said...
A smart top in a gorgeous fabric. The pocket idea is great.
11/12/10 4:05 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Love this top and the color is great on you.
11/12/10 5:53 AM
donna mel said...
Nice top, I love the 'weighted front' idea!
11/12/10 7:07 AM
GodsgirlT said...
This top looks great on you! I bet the fabric feels good as well. Nice job!
11/12/10 7:11 AM
Christas said...
I have this pattern and haven't sewn it yet. Thanks so much for your review. That little pocket for the coin is such a neat detail to keep the neckline laying properly. Love the color and fit of your new top!
11/12/10 8:33 AM
Nan Kay said...
Looks great. You will get the coverstitch figured out, I read all the tips for it and finally realized each machine is just a little different. Mine needs just a tweak more tension than the suggestions, but I love it.
11/12/10 8:47 AM
RLL said...
This top looks really good on you. Love the color too.
11/12/10 10:12 AM
sewbehind said...
This is very cute on you. The coverstitch has a learning curve. Have you tried Debbie Cook's tutorials? That did it for me.
11/12/10 10:14 AM
Elke said...
Really cute top and it looks pretty on you!
11/12/10 10:30 AM
LynnG said...
Great looking top and it fits you so well. I'm glad to hear it fits narrow shoulders. The draped neckline looks so pretty. I have been trying some cowl type necklines and I haven't found the one that works for me yet. I will have to give this a try. Thanks!
11/12/10 10:57 AM
JanJanB said...
Love this top on you. Great color.
11/12/10 12:18 PM
MNBarb said...
Perfect top!
11/12/10 10:35 PM
Rhoda K said...
Pretty top and like the *weight* idea. Always learn something new. The top looks nice on you.
11/13/10 8:37 AM
Michele Lommasson said...
What a nice looking top.
11/13/10 12:42 PM
dresscode said...
Is this one of the Betzina patterns where she incorporates a front "stay" or mesh liner inside the front? If so, I really like that idea! Love your top...I'm going to move it up in my very slow stack!
11/13/10 1:50 PM
Nancywin said...
This is a Sandra Betzina top, but there is no mesh or lining in the front
11/13/10 6:23 PM
4u2cme said...
Great top, the color is flattering.
11/13/10 7:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Add me to the list who is inspired to get this pattern because of your very nice looking top!
11/14/10 3:21 PM
JillyBe said...
The neckline drape is so nice! I guess it's the weight that gives it that little extra - brilliant touch! I've been looking for the right drapey-cowley sort of neckline for a knit top - I think you've found it for me, thanks!
11/15/10 2:23 AM
FLFiFiLarue said...
WoW! Sharp looking top! Gorgeous color, great fit and great finish work!
11/15/10 7:24 AM
velosewer said...
I like this top and the fact that you have two tops in this pattern. All the best with your CP.
11/17/10 9:59 PM
kim*brown said...
Yours looks much better then the one model on pattern envelope!
11/18/10 3:29 PM
sewrose said...
Nancy, Your results are so nice (of course). Has the top worn well over time? You see, I've made two of these, and neither one has held up, mostly because of the fabrics I chose. They were too wimpy and continued to stretch and stretch after I sewed the tops (and on the second garment, I skipped the little pouch at the neckline). One fabric, which I bought at Mood, is pilling like crazy. I guess what I'm observing my experience is, use a knit with a LOT of snap back.
2/5/11 12:58 PM
Nancywin said...
I LOVE this shirt and it is absolutely one of my favorite. I think that is due to the fabric. I ordered what is called a T-shirt knit from Denver fabrics which is rayon and 3% Lycra. I checked today and they still have it in several colors on their website. Even though I've done little to no sewing since the new year, I may go order some more of this because it is super soft and has held up well so far.
2/6/11 10:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

New Look 6127 Misses Top
photo
Review by SteffieMar... on 4/9/13
Read Review

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern
Yasmin Yoke Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Kaylee Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6598
photo
Review by Lizz on 6/27/13
Read Review

New Look 6250 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
New Look 6250 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9732 Pattern
Burda 9732 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us