Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3927 (Misses Tunic Top) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 313 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR
About marecstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 141
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 65 people
patterns reviewed: 136
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/10 1:45 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
21wale said...
Too bad about the fit since it's such a cute top. Maybe a sturdy knit would be nice. But even if you have to go up a size in the woven, I think it's a very flattering style with the leggings/pants you paired it with.
11/12/10 2:10 PM
Aroura said...
I'm sorry the fit didn't work out :( It's such a nice looking top, the style would be good for you.
11/12/10 2:21 PM
Christas said...
What a shame. This is such pretty fabric and such a cute pattern. You can tell that you did some very nice sewing on it. I hope you have better luck if you try it again. Tea and cookies are a good consolation after a frustrating sewing experience - especially MOLASSES cookies!
11/12/10 4:28 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Too bad the fit was disappointing cuz it sure looks cute. How frustrating. That is one negative I'm finding about this pattern stash contest. Forever trying out new patterns where each one is a shot in the dark. (I'm anxious to sew a second time the ones that worked well ... but oh no, not till after Nov 30. LOL) And I for one balk at the idea of muslins. Why can't patterns have some consistency. Grrrrr!!! The tea and cookies sound like a wonderful consolation.
11/12/10 6:46 PM
Annette1 said...
This is just as cute as it can be! I say go for the 16 if the mood hits you (after a couple molasses cookies, that is). Who cares what the size is, YOU'RE still the same. :o)
11/12/10 7:25 PM
lamstu said...
It doesn't look so tight in the photos but if you're not comfortable then it's not right. Try not to think too much about the size of sewing patterns: sometimes I am a size 10 and in another one I'll be a 16/18. I choose by the amount of ease and the width of the neckline and have resigned myself that I will alter and sometimes make a toile too. Better luck for your next project!
11/12/10 8:07 PM
Renren said...
Oh, dash it all! I just hate it when my hopes are dashed! Oueff, and this looks so cute.
11/12/10 10:48 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh bummer...it's really a cute style on you. You should sew another one to get the fit you want and to allow for all those yummy sounding cookies.
11/13/10 1:17 AM
Terri A said...
Sorry about the fit and disappointment. I hate that too:-( It's still cute.
11/13/10 3:24 AM
cloudyhn said...
You look pretty on it though. I feel bad that you had gone through a tough time with it :(
11/13/10 11:01 AM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for this great review! I love the way you express your perspective on these patterns. I agree with everyone else - it is a great style for you, so maybe you can just forget about the number and go for the more comfortable fit.
11/14/10 4:55 PM
JuanitaVA said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you. We all have those projects occasionally... soooo frustrating. I totally agree with you that "tunic" shouldn't equal tight.
11/17/10 10:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Ottobre Design Magazine 06-2011-13 dress 13
photo
Review by Ejegmama on 9/28/12
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )
Oliver   S Roller Skate Dress and Tunic Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-4T )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern
Maria Denmark Paula Pleat Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6070
photo
Review by nicegirl on 6/28/11
Read Review

Vogue 8959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8959 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1192 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 1192 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us