SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3927 (Misses Tunic Top)

3 more reviews
Viewed 314 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 157
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 72 people
patterns reviewed: 152
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/12/10 1:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
21wale said...
Too bad about the fit since it's such a cute top. Maybe a sturdy knit would be nice. But even if you have to go up a size in the woven, I think it's a very flattering style with the leggings/pants you paired it with.
11/12/10 2:10 PM
Aroura said...
I'm sorry the fit didn't work out :( It's such a nice looking top, the style would be good for you.
11/12/10 2:21 PM
Christas said...
What a shame. This is such pretty fabric and such a cute pattern. You can tell that you did some very nice sewing on it. I hope you have better luck if you try it again. Tea and cookies are a good consolation after a frustrating sewing experience - especially MOLASSES cookies!
11/12/10 4:28 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Too bad the fit was disappointing cuz it sure looks cute. How frustrating. That is one negative I'm finding about this pattern stash contest. Forever trying out new patterns where each one is a shot in the dark. (I'm anxious to sew a second time the ones that worked well ... but oh no, not till after Nov 30. LOL) And I for one balk at the idea of muslins. Why can't patterns have some consistency. Grrrrr!!! The tea and cookies sound like a wonderful consolation.
11/12/10 6:46 PM
Annette1 said...
This is just as cute as it can be! I say go for the 16 if the mood hits you (after a couple molasses cookies, that is). Who cares what the size is, YOU'RE still the same. :o)
11/12/10 7:25 PM
lamstu said...
It doesn't look so tight in the photos but if you're not comfortable then it's not right. Try not to think too much about the size of sewing patterns: sometimes I am a size 10 and in another one I'll be a 16/18. I choose by the amount of ease and the width of the neckline and have resigned myself that I will alter and sometimes make a toile too. Better luck for your next project!
11/12/10 8:07 PM
Renren said...
Oh, dash it all! I just hate it when my hopes are dashed! Oueff, and this looks so cute.
11/12/10 10:48 PM
Barbara V said...
Oh bummer...it's really a cute style on you. You should sew another one to get the fit you want and to allow for all those yummy sounding cookies.
11/13/10 1:17 AM
Terri A said...
Sorry about the fit and disappointment. I hate that too:-( It's still cute.
11/13/10 3:24 AM
cloudyhn said...
You look pretty on it though. I feel bad that you had gone through a tough time with it :(
11/13/10 11:01 AM
marthamyers said...
Thanks for this great review! I love the way you express your perspective on these patterns. I agree with everyone else - it is a great style for you, so maybe you can just forget about the number and go for the more comfortable fit.
11/14/10 4:55 PM
JuanitaVA said...
Sorry this didn't work out for you. We all have those projects occasionally... soooo frustrating. I totally agree with you that "tunic" shouldn't equal tight.
11/17/10 10:47 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 9550

photo
by: Trephas200...

Review
Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Favorite Things The Nappies Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Sew Chic Cloche Hat Pattern (ln101)

Buy Now
MariaDenmark 101

photo
by: westmoon

Review