Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB043HR (The Rainy Days Hooded Raincoat and Runabout Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 584 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:oliphia
photo
About oliphiastar
GA USA
Member since: 9/27/08
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/15/10 8:04 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
This looks really good and well worth the investment of the fabric. It won't seem so much if you guesstimate how many times you will wear it and divide it by total cost to get your cost per wearing. That always justifies the cost of a fabric for me ;) .
11/15/10 8:15 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Great fashionable raincoat! You did a wonderful job sewing the laminate, and fitting the pattern. Are you going to share how you made your tag/hanger? How/where did you get your name printed? Very cool!
11/15/10 8:54 PM
oliphia said...
To make the tag, I used one of my handmade tags (twill tape stamped with fabric safe ink & tiny letter stamps) and an extra scrap of fabric. First I folded the top & bottom edges of the scrap to the center. I then zigzag stitched my label on top. I folded the edges over twice an stitched it all over again. This way there are no exposed raw edges and it's got lots of fabric to bulk it up. I use these twill tags in all my projects, they wash up great and look semi-professional.
11/15/10 9:29 PM
Terri A said...
Totally wonderful! Great job!
11/16/10 0:00 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Very cute! I especially love your choice of fabric!! You will look stylish rain or shine!
11/16/10 9:15 AM
cindyann said...
Cute, I've been meaning to get this adorable pattern.
11/16/10 9:36 AM
MadeByMeg said...
love it! the combination of prints is great... something i always struggle with!
12/19/10 3:07 PM
Hilary said...
What a cute coat! I love the fabric, and the cute name tag/hanging loop. And the hood looks great I agree-especially with room for a pony tail! Thanks for the tip on the scotch tape presser foot (good idea!).
1/5/11 9:08 AM
Sewing Nurse said...
Very nice. I had been looking for a raincoat pattern and already bought some great hot pink vinyl on a trip to the fashion district in NY. I was happy to find this one and now to see it made up. Thanks!
1/25/11 9:44 PM
SweetCaroline said...
I bought this pattern and have been putting it off, but your review is very encouraging. I think have the guts to give ita go and I agree when you divide the cost by the amount of times you will wear it and the com;iments for haveing a one of a kind jacket then it is surely priceless!
3/11/11 7:13 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

McCall's M5882
photo
Review by ggf2005 on 9/29/10
Read Review

McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
McCalls 6818 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6795 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6795 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Loes Hinse Designs 5005 Skirt Trio
photo
Review by FreyaStark on 5/19/12
Read Review

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)
PatternReview Annika A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern (Print at Home)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us