SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8696 (Misses Jacket And Belt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 676 times 
Reviewed by:VirginiasDghter
photo

 
 
About VirginiasDghter
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/10
Reviews written: 33
Favored by: 20 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/10 5:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sweetiebop said...
This is gorgeous and Thanks for your mention of the pockets.
12/3/10 7:18 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Thanks Angelout! I look forward to seeing it! Happy Sewing!
12/3/10 6:12 AM
angela langan said...
great job, I am going to retry it in a light weight wool like this!
12/2/10 10:29 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Hi jsgirl - I think that if you wore a fine knit sweater you'd be okay. Anything more and you'd probably have to use a stretchier fabric or widen the sleeves some. I find that the sleeves on my jacket are good - not too snug. I had on a turtleneck underneath and could have still comfortably worn a fine knit sweater.
11/30/10 11:13 AM
jsgirl said...
Hi Godsgirl Thankyou so much for your help but, can you tell me, are the sleeves quite snug fitting if not made up in a stretch fabric. I'm concerned that I may not be able to pull the sleeves on over another fine knit sweater.
11/30/10 8:00 AM
Jane S said...
Fabulous coat and terrific styling going on! Bravo.
11/29/10 8:43 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Hi jsgirl - yes, you are right - the pattern does call for jersey. I wanted a little more structure than I thought jersey would give. The fabric that I used has some (one-way) stretch but certainly not enough to pass a "stretch" test - lol. FYI - the versatility in looks will depend largely upon how you situate the collar. This will also determine the amount of drape you get in the front. The more fluid the fabric, the more the drape - the less fluid the fabric - the less drape. Hope this helps!
11/29/10 8:37 PM
jsgirl said...
I love you coat! I have bought the pattern today but it does say that it needs to be made up in jersey I think. Did your fabric have some stretch?
11/29/10 7:23 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. I love all the ways you can wear this coat.
11/29/10 1:00 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Thank you, thank you for the nice comments! This really is a fun and easy jacket to make. Happy sewing to all!
11/28/10 9:59 PM
RLL said...
So stylish and classy. Wonderful look on you.
11/28/10 2:26 PM
annie11 said...
You wear this coat with such style! It looks wonderful on you. I have this pattern and have been stuck on what fabric to make it out of- I really like your choice.
11/28/10 11:08 AM
christinawo said...
Your jacket is terrific and you look so chic in it. Thank you for your review. I never really noticed this pattern.
11/28/10 10:20 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
& so wonderful with the beret! Just lovely!
11/28/10 10:05 AM
JETrinity said...
Nice looking versatile jacket. I need one like this.
11/28/10 9:00 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous coat and fabric...looks fantastic on you!
11/28/10 7:45 AM
tess said...
A really classy looking coat, you look beautiful in it!
11/28/10 6:43 AM
lesliez said...
Fantastic coat. You wear it well.
11/28/10 0:50 AM
lynne1nor said...
Wow that is stylish! Looks fabulous on you!
11/28/10 0:17 AM
Lori V said...
So elegant.
11/27/10 11:32 PM
no7262 said...
This looks amazing on you! Nora :)
11/27/10 8:59 PM
Wagtail said...
Your coat looks stunning. I love the things you did with the collar. It is so me too. Even though I'm down under, in almost summer, I must get this pattern for next winter. Hope it looks as good on me as it does on you.
11/27/10 8:08 PM
dukaqwn said...
I loved your review. Normally, I would not have looked at this pattern, but your review and your pictures have changed my mind! Your blog is also inspiring; thanks so much for sharing.
11/27/10 6:47 PM
Athene said...
A beautiful coat. After seeing your review and angelout's review I must now get this pattern.
11/27/10 5:48 PM
carolynw said...
Really lovely - this is one of those patterns you go by and then someone makes it and you think WOW!! Your jacket looks wonderful in every way you showed how to wear it - elegant!!
11/27/10 5:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Butterick 4399

photo
by: Lynn67

Review
Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2013-16

photo
by: 21wale

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Victoria Jones Collection Misses' Pareau Style Wrap Dress

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop L2 Bag Pattern

Buy Now