SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2123 (Men Jeans)

6 more reviews
Viewed 479 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/10 9:36 AM


Review Rating: Needs More Info by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
petro said...
These look very professional. I have a couple of questions, did you decide on the alterations by fitting, measuring or comparing with other, already fitting jeans?And is the gold topstitch thread a heavier thread, with an ordinary blue in the bobbin? Glad you're feeling better btw.
11/23/10 10:29 AM
Peter in NYC said...
The blue Coats thread is for mending denim more than topstitching but I liked the color. I think it's heavier than regular thread. The gold is definitely a topstitching thread. I did the alterations by comparing length of fly and height of waist with other pants I wear (and like). The pattern was pretty close to my size so the alterations needed were minimal.
11/23/10 10:55 AM
no7262 said...
Peter, what a great review! The jeans turned out awesome! Nora :)
11/23/10 11:00 AM
FloraNature said...
Great jeans and topstitching. Doesn't the Singer 66 go through multiple layers of denim like butter! Love the Red Eye - mine's decorated with Egyptian Lotus. Beautiful machines.
11/23/10 11:07 AM
MNBarb said...
Jeans are so much fun to make. Your "old" jeans are looking wonderfully well-loved and the KS version fits you so well. The narrow leg is a good look on you.
11/23/10 1:05 PM
Annette1 said...
AWESOME jeans, Peter. I love all the detail pictures, too, with ALL of that topstitching (PERFECT topstitching, I might add).
11/23/10 1:12 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Your jeans look fantastic! So enjoyed viewing the construction process in your excellent series of photos. By the way, I just couldn't help but think how much you need a Rowenta steam-generating iron when I saw that mass of wrinkled denim on your ironing board! However, you certainly managed to press that fabric nice and crisp. Wonderful review, as always!
11/23/10 1:21 PM
JillyBe said...
Another well-done & wonderfully documented review from you! And the perfection in the details! Your work is inspiring :)
11/23/10 1:44 PM
RLL said...
You do absolutely incredible work. I am always impressed with what you do. Your topstitching is perfect! These look SO good on you.
11/23/10 2:37 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Ditto! Ditto!! Ditto!!! AND the tush turned out just right ;)
11/23/10 5:45 PM
Padmé said...
Very nice Peter. I've got the ladies version cut out, but may wait until after the holidays.
11/23/10 8:03 PM
FreyaStark said...
Very smart, a perfect fit and an impressive effort. Well done.
11/24/10 3:05 AM
Sharon1952 said...
Wow!
11/24/10 6:54 AM
voet said...
There is not much I can add to what has already been said. You did another great job. Your reviews are always helpful. It has been great to see your progress over the short time you have been sewing. Newbies should be encouraged by the development of your sewing skills.
11/24/10 9:48 AM
Margaret said...
Very professional looking and classic!
11/25/10 4:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Simplicity 4275

photo
by: Renren

Review
PR Member's Pattern 281988-1004

photo
by: meggipeg

Review
SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

SewBaby Comfy-Alls and Knit Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Xine Basket Bag Pattern

Buy Now