SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8615 (SPEC OCCASION)

27 more reviews
Viewed 632 times 
Reviewed by:LJane
photo

 
 
About LJanestar
Member since: 7/19/10
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 4 people
patterns reviewed: 22
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/10 5:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rozzybabe said...
You ahieved your first hand picked zipper, & even though a muslin would have resulted in a better fit, at least you tried! You were successful with the zip & have learned that when expensive fabric's involved, do a muslin! Cheer up, we all have disasters that we hide in our closets, & have survived to be more profficient sewers!
11/23/10 7:37 PM
Nikki S. said...
There is nothing at all wrong with your dress that I bet a belt wouldn't fix. :) Those Vintage Vogues are NOT easy, so congrats on getting a *good,* if not what you WANTED, result on this one.
11/23/10 9:56 PM
drsue said...
Well, I think you learned a lot from making this dress. You pretty much always need to do a muslin when making these sorts of designs. Live and learn.
11/23/10 10:48 PM
pammieh said...
I love the zipper, the dress and the color! Fantastic! I've been waiting to make this dress and am glad I can now follow your lead:) Check out my latest dress - I'm having the same issues - I put a bow on the front - I love it!
11/24/10 11:06 AM
petraa said...
I like it, and the color is beautiful on you. Try a belt or a self-sash to nip the waist in a bit - I think you can make it work!
11/24/10 4:41 PM
MarianS said...
In my experience shantung has a softer hand, and is a bit more flowy than dupioni, which can be a little on the crisp side. Some dupioni is softer and lighter weight than others. With the nubby threads running across the garment, I think it takes away from the flow that this type of skirt needs. Also, rinsing it in cold water and hanging to dry first takes out some of the crispness. Although that process puts all these spider web type wrinkles in it that do not iron out, but is still a really nice look. I think your dress is beautiful on you, and a belt/sash with a flower made from the same fabric with some tulle added would be a really nice finishing touch. See my review of Simplicity 2683 for an idea for the making flower. Dont give up on this one! It a such a classic style.
11/24/10 7:20 PM
LJane said...
Thanks MarianS! Great information. And thanks everyone for cheering me up :)
11/25/10 9:25 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Self Drafted Pattern 254881-1002

photo
by: miausiau

Review
SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

SewBaby Sleeve Saver Smock Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Christine Jonson Pleat Front Dress

Buy Now