Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8615 (SPEC OCCASION) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 622 times 26 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:LJane
photo
About LJanestar
SC USA
Member since: 7/19/10
Reviews written: 20
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/23/10 5:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
rozzybabe said...
You ahieved your first hand picked zipper, & even though a muslin would have resulted in a better fit, at least you tried! You were successful with the zip & have learned that when expensive fabric's involved, do a muslin! Cheer up, we all have disasters that we hide in our closets, & have survived to be more profficient sewers!
11/23/10 7:37 PM
Nikki S. said...
There is nothing at all wrong with your dress that I bet a belt wouldn't fix. :) Those Vintage Vogues are NOT easy, so congrats on getting a *good,* if not what you WANTED, result on this one.
11/23/10 9:56 PM
drsue said...
Well, I think you learned a lot from making this dress. You pretty much always need to do a muslin when making these sorts of designs. Live and learn.
11/23/10 10:48 PM
pammieh said...
I love the zipper, the dress and the color! Fantastic! I've been waiting to make this dress and am glad I can now follow your lead:) Check out my latest dress - I'm having the same issues - I put a bow on the front - I love it!
11/24/10 11:06 AM
petraa said...
I like it, and the color is beautiful on you. Try a belt or a self-sash to nip the waist in a bit - I think you can make it work!
11/24/10 4:41 PM
MarianS said...
In my experience shantung has a softer hand, and is a bit more flowy than dupioni, which can be a little on the crisp side. Some dupioni is softer and lighter weight than others. With the nubby threads running across the garment, I think it takes away from the flow that this type of skirt needs. Also, rinsing it in cold water and hanging to dry first takes out some of the crispness. Although that process puts all these spider web type wrinkles in it that do not iron out, but is still a really nice look. I think your dress is beautiful on you, and a belt/sash with a flower made from the same fabric with some tulle added would be a really nice finishing touch. See my review of Simplicity 2683 for an idea for the making flower. Dont give up on this one! It a such a classic style.
11/24/10 7:20 PM
LJane said...
Thanks MarianS! Great information. And thanks everyone for cheering me up :)
11/25/10 9:25 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Burda 8155 Skirt
photo
Review by talesofawa... on 4/23/11
Read Review

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern
Shapes Nine Lives Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Elaina Pintuck Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Oxford Cap Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 1060 MISSES' COAT
photo
Review by Barbara V on 5/8/13
Read Review

Burda 7798 Pattern
Burda 7798 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 3575 Pattern ( Size XS-L-XS-XL 2 )
Simplicity 3575 Pattern ( Size XS-L-XS-XL      2 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us