SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 9470 

Viewed 258 times 
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
BC Canada
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 277
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/10 6:08 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Margaret said...
Thank you!
11/28/10 4:15 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Very nice looking pants. I love the topstitching details and they fit so beautfully on you. Great job.
11/27/10 1:36 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks so much! I think you can still order new copies of the book for about $30-35 from a relative of the author(?) through their own site (minottmethod.com, NAYY).
11/27/10 3:39 AM
MNBarb said...
PS. You might be interested to know, I just looked for the book "Pants and Skirts to Fit Your Shape" and it's selling for $120 on Amazon. Hang on to your copy.
11/27/10 1:20 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm just sitting here so impressed with your pants-fitting. I can't even imagine a pattern with no line drawing and no directions. You must be VERY patient and adventuresome. The pants look so great on you. The detail of the pocket is really unique and gives a flattering line to the wearer. The review shows a good lesson in perserverance.
11/27/10 1:15 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone! Treefrog, I didn't buy the shirt although it looks like it's still in print. I've bought one Marfy pattern each for a different shirt, a coat, a jacket, a skirt, and these pants, to get some idea of how each type of garment might fit... but this is the first one I actually got around to sewing. Re Becca, that's good to know... maybe most of their pants patterns ARE drafted similarly... the proportions on this one don't seem very realistic for a majority of people, at least in the not-small size I used.
11/26/10 4:24 AM
Re Becca said...
They do have interesting details, and you really perfected the style and the fit. Your pants look fabulous! I love their shirts and jackets, but I will admit that I have never gotten their pants to fit well.
11/25/10 8:43 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
You're sew persevering, Margaret!! But, it's the challenge that you like, eh?? ;)
11/25/10 3:39 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very impressive effort, and they look good on you. Personally I would prefer to use an easier pattern.
11/25/10 3:22 PM
treefrog said...
Great pants - very distinctive. You put a lot of effort into this review which is extremely helpful. Did you get the shirt pattern as well?
11/25/10 3:16 PM
RadarRadiance said...
What a perfect fit, they turned out great!
11/25/10 10:58 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Your work is beautiful!
11/25/10 9:47 AM
mastdenman said...
Nice pants. I really like the details on them.
11/25/10 9:46 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Other Mimi Kirchner\'s Felt Doll

photo
by: Sarsez

Review
New Look 6120

photo
by: sewrose

Review
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

More Info