Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 9470 - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 255 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Margaret
photo
Friend of PR
About Margaretstarstarstarstar
NA GERMANY
Member since: 11/4/02
Reviews written: 290
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 46 people
patterns reviewed: 270
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/25/10 6:08 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
Nice pants. I really like the details on them.
11/25/10 9:46 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Your work is beautiful!
11/25/10 9:47 AM
RadarRadiance said...
What a perfect fit, they turned out great!
11/25/10 10:58 AM
treefrog said...
Great pants - very distinctive. You put a lot of effort into this review which is extremely helpful. Did you get the shirt pattern as well?
11/25/10 3:16 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very impressive effort, and they look good on you. Personally I would prefer to use an easier pattern.
11/25/10 3:22 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
You're sew persevering, Margaret!! But, it's the challenge that you like, eh?? ;)
11/25/10 3:39 PM
Re Becca said...
They do have interesting details, and you really perfected the style and the fit. Your pants look fabulous! I love their shirts and jackets, but I will admit that I have never gotten their pants to fit well.
11/25/10 8:43 PM
Margaret said...
Thanks, everyone! Treefrog, I didn't buy the shirt although it looks like it's still in print. I've bought one Marfy pattern each for a different shirt, a coat, a jacket, a skirt, and these pants, to get some idea of how each type of garment might fit... but this is the first one I actually got around to sewing. Re Becca, that's good to know... maybe most of their pants patterns ARE drafted similarly... the proportions on this one don't seem very realistic for a majority of people, at least in the not-small size I used.
11/26/10 4:24 AM
MNBarb said...
I'm just sitting here so impressed with your pants-fitting. I can't even imagine a pattern with no line drawing and no directions. You must be VERY patient and adventuresome. The pants look so great on you. The detail of the pocket is really unique and gives a flattering line to the wearer. The review shows a good lesson in perserverance.
11/27/10 1:15 AM
MNBarb said...
PS. You might be interested to know, I just looked for the book "Pants and Skirts to Fit Your Shape" and it's selling for $120 on Amazon. Hang on to your copy.
11/27/10 1:20 AM
Margaret said...
Thanks so much! I think you can still order new copies of the book for about $30-35 from a relative of the author(?) through their own site (minottmethod.com, NAYY).
11/27/10 3:39 AM
AnitaJJ said...
Very nice looking pants. I love the topstitching details and they fit so beautfully on you. Great job.
11/27/10 1:36 PM
Margaret said...
Thank you!
11/28/10 4:15 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

New Look 6571
photo
Review by MiamiNice on 10/15/08
Read Review

Vogue 8958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8958 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 6292
photo
Review by sunflower2... on 7/17/12
Read Review

MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )
MariaDenmark Audrey Dress Digital Pattern ( Sized For C-Cup Bust )

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 303 Pattern
Petite Plus 303 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us