Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB041LI (The Liverpool) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 545 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:heathertyfeatherty
photo
About heathertyfeathertystar
MO USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/10 8:15 PM
Last Updated:11/29/10 7:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A great shirt - well done. You've really made this pattern your own! I sympathize with your stretch sewing problems; I'm new to stretch fabric myself and still learning about it.
11/28/10 10:14 PM
Kayseri said...
Great looking result, especially in a knit. I use stretch interfacing for knits, but whether I interface depends on how structured I want the result.
11/29/10 2:15 AM
donna mel said...
I love it in knit...I love anything in knit! I am going to try it, tho I will struggle with the same issues that you did.
11/29/10 7:56 AM
valerie sews said...
What a lovely pattern. Your top looks very RTW.
11/29/10 7:28 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Your shirt looks great!!! You did a wonderful job - no one would know you don't sew knits much. As Kayseri mentioned, there are stretch interfacings you could use to provide body, but still stretch. A small piece of non-stretch interfacing, or the wash-away stabilizer your mom suggested would help support the button holes while sewing. The collar - interface or not depends on how you like the feel of the fabric. Make a sample, or two, and decide if you like the knit interfaced. I will also use the knit interfacing along the hem if it needs stability. Make samples to see what works best - each knit is different. Then you won't be afraid to sew the actual garment. I really like your top - I wouldn't have used this pattern for a woven fabric, but the knit is a great idea!
11/29/10 7:31 PM
JETrinity said...
Your version should be on the pattern envelope because I would buy it then. Nice job. Yes, indeed.
11/29/10 8:38 PM
Christas said...
I would have thought that you had been sewing knits for years if your review hadn't said otherwise. Wow! I really love what you did with this pattern ....... VERY nice!
11/29/10 8:39 PM
21wale said...
Excellent shirt/tunic! The fit looks great.
11/29/10 8:57 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love this in a knit! I decided a few days ago I too want a knit shirt so your review is timely. I even have this pattern but I haven't made it yet.
11/30/10 0:17 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice shirt! Looks so nice on you.
11/30/10 4:03 PM
Calder and Co. said...
Great job...looks great...your review was helpful!
4/18/11 10:24 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8367
photo
Review by Knitters D... on 11/29/09
Read Review

Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )
Vogue 2634 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4127 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 4127 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5523
photo
Review by aprilsweet... on 2/17/14
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Jasmine Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Jasmine Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern
Victory Madeleine Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us