Online Sewing Class: Clone Your Favorite Garment
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB041LI (The Liverpool)

20 more reviews
Viewed 578 times 
Reviewed by:heathertyfeatherty
photo

 
 
About heathertyfeathertystar
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews: 42 (patterns: 41)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/10 8:15 PM
Last Updated:11/29/10 7:21 PM
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Other Projects by heathertyfeatherty using this Pattern

photo

Merchants on PR

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

Amulet Swim Fabrics


Poly/PBT swimwear fabric
Web site

Vesta Patterns


vestapatterns.com
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Calder and Co. said... (4/18/11 10:24 AM) Reply
Great job...looks great...your review was helpful!
Rhoda K said... (11/30/10 4:03 PM) Reply
Very nice shirt! Looks so nice on you.
Sew4Fun said... (11/30/10 0:17 AM) Reply
I love this in a knit! I decided a few days ago I too want a knit shirt so your review is timely. I even have this pattern but I haven't made it yet.
21wale said... (11/29/10 8:57 PM) Reply
Excellent shirt/tunic! The fit looks great.
Christas said... (11/29/10 8:39 PM) Reply
I would have thought that you had been sewing knits for years if your review hadn't said otherwise. Wow! I really love what you did with this pattern ....... VERY nice!
JETrinity said... (11/29/10 8:38 PM) Reply
Your version should be on the pattern envelope because I would buy it then. Nice job. Yes, indeed.
Kathy in NM said... (11/29/10 7:31 PM) Reply
Your shirt looks great!!! You did a wonderful job - no one would know you don't sew knits much. As Kayseri mentioned, there are stretch interfacings you could use to provide body, but still stretch. A small piece of non-stretch interfacing, or the wash-away stabilizer your mom suggested would help support the button holes while sewing. The collar - interface or not depends on how you like the feel of the fabric. Make a sample, or two, and decide if you like the knit interfaced. I will also use the knit interfacing along the hem if it needs stability. Make samples to see what works best - each knit is different. Then you won't be afraid to sew the actual garment. I really like your top - I wouldn't have used this pattern for a woven fabric, but the knit is a great idea!
valerie sews said... (11/29/10 7:28 PM) Reply
What a lovely pattern. Your top looks very RTW.
donna mel said... (11/29/10 7:56 AM) Reply
I love it in knit...I love anything in knit! I am going to try it, tho I will struggle with the same issues that you did.
Kayseri said... (11/29/10 2:15 AM) Reply
Great looking result, especially in a knit. I use stretch interfacing for knits, but whether I interface depends on how structured I want the result.
FreyaStark said... (11/28/10 10:14 PM) Reply
A great shirt - well done. You've really made this pattern your own! I sympathize with your stretch sewing problems; I'm new to stretch fabric myself and still learning about it.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Self Drafted Pattern 167828-1000

photo
by: fattyboomb...

Review
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew House Seven Alberta Street Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Sew House Seven Alberta Street Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Pattern Details