Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Marfy: 1751 (Trenchcoat) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 482 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:marjenann
photo
Friend of PR
About marjenannstarstar
NJ USA
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/10 11:37 AM
Last Updated:12/4/10 8:32 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewingshaybug said...
wonderful job ! looks nice and warm
12/2/10 11:42 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Gorgeous coat and the lining is a wonderful surprise!
12/2/10 12:07 PM
Elona said...
The coat is lovely, of course, but your cabled sweater really knocks me out!
12/2/10 12:17 PM
Re Becca said...
Love it! You did such a fabulous job, the details are impeccable. Your construction skills are just super. I *heart* Marfy's, they are the BEST patterns to work with!
12/2/10 1:55 PM
wsm2408 said...
Lovely coat - much better than RTW. You did a great job!
12/2/10 3:11 PM
Heatherrique said...
Kudos to you for working with no directions and relying on your skills and talents to create a sharp looking coat. Your daughter will definitely enjoy and treasure this!
12/2/10 11:03 PM
Jolet said...
Looks amazing!!! Wonderful coat with beautiful lining.
12/2/10 11:09 PM
kellyt said...
Beautiful!
12/2/10 11:52 PM
MaryDB said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Love the hand topstitching.
12/3/10 1:44 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful! and I really like your choice of buttons
12/3/10 4:58 AM
tess said...
A really beautifully tailored coat, wonderful lining, It looks amzing!
12/3/10 6:10 AM
JEF said...
Beautiful and I LOVE the lining!
12/3/10 9:52 AM
carolynw said...
Perfection!! Love your coat
12/4/10 9:22 AM
Dei said...
Beautifully done. I'm always impressed with people who tackle Marfy patterns.
12/4/10 9:41 AM
SewWil said...
Wow! That is beautiful. Great job. Nice touch doing the lining the way you did.
12/4/10 12:18 PM
JillyBe said...
I absolutely love linings that pop like that! Very nice job. :)
12/4/10 12:47 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- fabulous. And seriously, I think making a coat from a Marfy pattern/ no instructions (not to mention all the other coats and jackets you've made) definitely puts you in the "Advanced" category. :)
12/4/10 4:53 PM
21wale said...
This is a beautiful coat!
12/4/10 8:38 PM
Annette1 said...
I spotted your thumbnail the other day, but I didn't have time to LOOK at it then. This is one BEAUTIFULLY TAILORED coat, and your daughter is SO LUCKY to have you sewing for her! I wish you had a coat JUST LIKE IT. :o) I've been too chicken to try a Marfy pattern AND I don't think most of them come in my size. (That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.) I LOVE the lining in yours, too. :o)
12/5/10 3:24 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Enjoyed your blog entries documenting this coat's construction. It's evident that you invested your time and talents because the coat has graceful structure and shape. I adore the vivid lining. Excellent review. By the way, I am in awe of your yarn arts and jewelery creations, as well.
12/5/10 4:22 PM
Hilary said...
That is a beautiful coat! Well done!
12/6/10 12:13 PM
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely stunning. The finish is superb. Marfy's are just awesome to work with and the results, as here, always worth the effort.
3/3/11 7:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Vogue Patterns 8473
photo
Review by AmyLT on 3/1/11
Read Review

Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)
Close Case Files Bombshell Swimsuit Digital Pattern (Print at a copy shop)

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern
Salme Bib Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1103 Minoru Jacket
photo
Review by Mia007 on 5/28/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7091 Pattern
Burda 7091 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6186 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6186 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us