Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
KnipMode Magazine: 12-2010-26 (Men's Shirt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 168 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 221
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 66 people
patterns reviewed: 218
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/10 6:21 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A very nice smart shirt. Lucky Mr Treefrog! My impression is that if a shirt has a yoke, there is extra ease in the back - the back is pleated or gathered into the yoke. Yet one Kwik Sew pattern I've made had a yoke with a plain back so I guess the extra ease or shaping isn't obligatory.
12/14/10 6:42 PM
jannw said...
That looks so good! Love the pocket and the way the collar lays. You did use care and patience and it shows..great tie also
12/14/10 6:47 PM
Sarsez said...
Well done. DH looks all "choked up" with pride.
12/14/10 6:47 PM
Christas said...
I agree with FreyaStark. Lucky Mr. Treefrog! His new shirt looks awesome. What wonderful sewing!
12/14/10 7:18 PM
Elona said...
Well, on the strength of this very handsome shirt, I just had to buy this issue of KnipMode to use the pattern for my own dh. Thank you for the recommendation and the fine example. By the way, if the shirt is going to be washable, I have found you can control slippery, wiggly fabrics by laying them out nice and flat (after pre-shrinking and drying) on a sheet and spraying the heck out of them with spray starch. When dry (which happens quickly), they will have a slightly crisp, papery hand which makes them easy, easy to sew. When the garment is complete, just toss in the washer to remove the starch.
12/14/10 8:09 PM
said...
Wow, you are so clever and its a great shirt!
12/14/10 9:16 PM
Sharonspils said...
A very smart, classy shirt and you have achieved an excellent result even with the language barriers. Brilliant.
12/14/10 9:31 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Fantastic shirt! It's so good to see the finished product after the collar discussion in the forums! Thanks loads for the step-by-step photos of the collar construction, too. Lucky Mr Treefrog!
12/15/10 5:31 AM
Kathi R said...
Thanks so much for the review ... you have found a shirt pattern that actually has a new feature, now I'm on a search to find the magazine so that I can give it a whirl. Your finished shirt is beautiful and the translated instructions you posted in the message board gave me a great big belly laugh this morning....thanks again.
12/15/10 12:36 PM
Sigrid. said...
I'm so glad to see the shirt finished and especially the collar detail. It almost makes me want to make a shirt for my dh (won't happen). Very well done, great shirt.
12/15/10 3:34 PM
MNBarb said...
I was waiting to hear how this collar turned out. The shirt is perfect.
12/15/10 7:41 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Lovely shirt! What a journey. The hidden button tab is very cool.
12/15/10 8:08 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Thank you for all the photos of the hidden collar tab. This looks like a great pattern -- it's hard to find real sleeve plackets. Often I think a yoke goes with either pleats, gathers, or a curve along the top edge of the lower back piece to add ease/reach room, but I guess it depends on how fitted the style is supposed to be. Great pocket too. Well done!
12/16/10 4:07 AM
Mazzygirl said...
great looking shirt, & I've nevers een a hidden button down collar before, so will be looking to make this shirt (if my mag issue ever shows up!) to try it out now as it looks like a great idea. Absolutely died laughing at that translation, wonderfully hilarious! Lucky DH, I'll be he loves this shirt & wants more ;-)
12/16/10 7:00 PM
JillyBe said...
Lucky DH indeed! HOT looking shirt!
12/17/10 2:22 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 9911 Suit
photo
Review by HRigg on 1/6/14
Read Review

You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Kiss Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Take-Along Bags
Take-Along Bags

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Schoolday Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Art Museum Vest + Trousers Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Children's Corner 260 Johnny
photo
Review by mcholley on 10/30/10
Read Review

McCalls 6494 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6494 Pattern ( Size NBN-SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1643 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )
Simplicity 1643 Pattern ( Size XS-S-M-L-XL )

Details
Price: $2.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us