Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5522 (Misses shirts) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 458 times 54 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 242
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 223
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:12/10/10 11:21 PM
Last Updated:12/10/10 11:21 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Lisa this is so pretty - am glad you persisted. That's a bit of a bummer with the arm restriction but I hope you get a lot of wear out of this.
12/10/10 11:27 PM
SusiM said...
OMG! I just wore this same pattern today, and was thinking of adding a review. I made exactly the same alterations that you did: lowered the bust, adjusted the waist length, etc. AND I have the exact experience with armhole/sleeve. It looks great, but there's that problem with raising the arms. I figured it was something I did. Thankyou, thankyou for mentioning all the fitting info. I'll need to add my review soon. Your blouse looks good.
12/11/10 1:28 AM
Margaret said...
The shirt looks great! And I do like the stripes falling horizontally on the collar in front -- reapeats the horizontal stripe on the cuffs. Hope you still get to wear it often despite the sleeves binding. My guess is there is too much armhole depth in this pattern for such a fitted sleeve. I've heard of 1" below your real underarm being a good depth for armholes... although such a fixed measurement applying to everyone seems a bit suspect to me. Thanks, too, for all the informative comments on the fit of this pattern!
12/11/10 4:45 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
I think you did a great job lining up the stripes in the front! Cute top and I appreciate the great review. I have this pattern and will definately do a muslin first.
12/11/10 8:35 AM
Christas said...
Very nice review! Your blouse looks very pretty on you!
12/11/10 10:47 AM
spiphany said...
I've been working on this pattern and am having the exact same problem with the arms binding that you have, and I haven't been able to figure out how to fix it. (I suspect the reason other reviewers haven't mentioned it is because most of them did views with fuller sleeves.)
12/11/10 11:14 AM
blue mooney said...
Nice shirt and very useful review! The stripes look really good - don't think I've seen this pattern made up in a stripe before.
12/11/10 12:31 PM
MNBarb said...
UGH! I made a pattern this summer that had the same arm-binding problem. We need 1) a support group and 2)a solution. Is it that the armscye is too low? BTW, I like this style of blouse on you.
12/11/10 10:31 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Christine Jonson 1025
photo
Review by shopgirl on 11/25/09
Read Review

Vogue 8721 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )
Vogue 8721 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 6009 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $2.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

No Pattern Used 1108
photo
Review by ChristineB... on 11/6/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Lil-Long Johns Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sunday Brunch Jacket + A-Line Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern
SewBaby More Blankie Buddies pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us