SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5522 (Misses shirts)

55 more reviews
Viewed 464 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:12/10/10 11:21 PM
Last Updated:12/10/10 11:21 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
UGH! I made a pattern this summer that had the same arm-binding problem. We need 1) a support group and 2)a solution. Is it that the armscye is too low? BTW, I like this style of blouse on you.
12/11/10 10:31 PM
blue mooney said...
Nice shirt and very useful review! The stripes look really good - don't think I've seen this pattern made up in a stripe before.
12/11/10 12:31 PM
spiphany said...
I've been working on this pattern and am having the exact same problem with the arms binding that you have, and I haven't been able to figure out how to fix it. (I suspect the reason other reviewers haven't mentioned it is because most of them did views with fuller sleeves.)
12/11/10 11:14 AM
Christas said...
Very nice review! Your blouse looks very pretty on you!
12/11/10 10:47 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
I think you did a great job lining up the stripes in the front! Cute top and I appreciate the great review. I have this pattern and will definately do a muslin first.
12/11/10 8:35 AM
Margaret said...
The shirt looks great! And I do like the stripes falling horizontally on the collar in front -- reapeats the horizontal stripe on the cuffs. Hope you still get to wear it often despite the sleeves binding. My guess is there is too much armhole depth in this pattern for such a fitted sleeve. I've heard of 1" below your real underarm being a good depth for armholes... although such a fixed measurement applying to everyone seems a bit suspect to me. Thanks, too, for all the informative comments on the fit of this pattern!
12/11/10 4:45 AM
SusiM said...
OMG! I just wore this same pattern today, and was thinking of adding a review. I made exactly the same alterations that you did: lowered the bust, adjusted the waist length, etc. AND I have the exact experience with armhole/sleeve. It looks great, but there's that problem with raising the arms. I figured it was something I did. Thankyou, thankyou for mentioning all the fitting info. I'll need to add my review soon. Your blouse looks good.
12/11/10 1:28 AM
carolynw said...
Lisa this is so pretty - am glad you persisted. That's a bit of a bummer with the arm restriction but I hope you get a lot of wear out of this.
12/10/10 11:27 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Online Class
Understanding Knit Fabrics
Understanding Knit Fabrics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1329

photo
by: SewLuva

Review
Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

Christine Jonson Keyhole Top & Pants for Wovens

More Info
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

More Info
Kwik Sew 2856

photo
by: nowak

Review