SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 42201 (Farewell to Arms)

6 more reviews
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest
Viewed 545 times 
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo

 
 
About blue mooneystarstarstar
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/10 7:44 PM
Last Updated:1/25/12 7:58 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
I am not familiar with this pattern company, but really love the shirt you have made from her pattern. The "mystery fabric" looks so nice and stylish sewn into this top! Very nice review!
12/14/10 7:55 PM
FreyaStark said...
A nice shirt - I have often thought about it making it myself but never quite got there. Thanks for a useful review.
12/14/10 8:27 PM
Aixoise said...
Louise Cutting's instructions for the construction of her patterns are the best! They make me smile every time I use them. Your shirt looks terrific. Congrats on a great job, and thanks for the tips about her sales. Must check out her website regularly!
12/14/10 9:09 PM
Peggy L said...
Great looking shirt. I have never tried one of these patterns but every comments on her great instructions. I'll be on the lookout:)
12/15/10 7:13 AM
Woolygal said...
Louise has some great tips on her instructions. If you've ever made her collar, you wouldn't do it any other way. You did a wonderful job on this shirt.
12/15/10 8:13 AM
RLL said...
Your shirt looks great. Whatever your mystery fabric is it sure looks nice. I made this top a couple of years ago and used the totally wrong fabric choice and it was awful (my fault). I was so dissappointed that I put the pattern away. I need to revisit it with more appropriate fabric as I really do like the style. I did not like that the back was longer than the front (my quirk) but that is an easy fix. Thanks for bringing this back to my attention.
12/15/10 11:04 AM
Karine said...
I'm a big fan of Louise Cutting's patterns. I love how she comes up with techniques that are absolutely brilliant. Your shirt is really lovely and looks great on you. Nice job!
12/15/10 4:08 PM
lynne1nor said...
That's a really lovely shirt on you!
12/16/10 3:47 PM
Annette1 said...
Boy, after seeing your shirt, I'm thinking I may NEED this pattern, too. I think the reason I like yours so much is that you've fitted it through the shoulders, instead of it being oversized. It's VERY flattering and expertly tailored, as well!
12/19/10 7:45 PM
Christas said...
Ooooooh!!! The newest version is wonderful! I always enjoy seeing what you are sewing.
1/25/12 8:10 PM
marec said...
This is a wonderful shirt, and I like it as much or more than the original. I love the seam detail and the little pocket. Very impressive and inspiring work.
1/26/12 12:43 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 8120

photo
by: tr1c14

Review
DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

DVD - Will this fabric work for you?

Buy Now
Purse-Nickities

Purse-Nickities

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8742

photo
by: SewWil

Review