Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2010-120 (Coat - Long Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 229 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:ClaireOKC
photo
Friend of PR
About ClaireOKCstar
OK USA
Member since: 9/22/07
Reviews written: 15
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 15
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/16/10 6:54 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
autumnzmom said...
Beautiful ! I may try this now.
12/16/10 7:58 AM
Catbird said...
I don't know how in the world I missed this review in December and for that matter how this only got 1 comment (was it missing from the gallery?). I found it because I'm working on this coat right now and was looking for some insights. Your version is wonderful! It looks like you didn't do the lapped seams that they suggested for this coat, but instead sewed it 'normally,' which I'm debating about. Not certain about my fabric choice yet. I like both treatments. Anyway, thank you for the inspiring review and I hope you are enjoying your beautiful coat!
3/11/11 8:54 PM
sewpatty said...
This is beautiful! I very much want to make this coat too so I appreciate your posting/blog about it.
3/22/11 6:54 PM
Lynz said...
Your coat is beautiful, I also don't know how I missed it when you first posted. I am doing my usual search for a pattern to go with some fabric I couldn't resist and your review has helped me choose the right one.
9/3/11 11:14 AM
ClaireOKC said...
@Lynz - glad you like it....the coat has great bones (my way of saying the cut is really fabulous). Make sure your fabric is reversible, as each side will show...the collar will show next to your face and the other side will be the body of the coat. I made mine from a thickish wool, not Melton or boiled wool thick, but thicker than a gabardine - more like a tweed. Also I would think about adding a binding that is a little more of a contrast, but not too. And I highly recommend lining the sleeves - you can just slip-stitch the lining in place at the armscye/armhole location and then just bind the sleeve. Some have reported the sleeve is short, so you also may want to add some tot the sleeve, but don't make it any smaller than it already is....extend it out and then make it at least the same size (if not larger) than the original sleeve width...then draw a line from that width to the shoulder and underarm, and you'll be fine. I think I had a video on this, but if you need any more info, just ask away! Hope you enjoy your coat as much as I love mine!
9/4/11 10:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Vogue Patterns 8123 MISSES' JACKET
photo
Review by whomper on 3/18/09
Read Review

Simplicity 1381 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )
Simplicity 1381 Pattern ( Size 3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
McCalls 6973 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4209
photo
Review by JudyP on 5/12/06
Read Review

Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Nicola Skirt, Blouse and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)
Oliver + S Class Picnic Blouse & Shorts Digital Pattern (Size 5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Beach Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern
SewBaby Wonder Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us