SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2010-120 (Coat - Long Jacket)

Viewed 234 times 
Reviewed by:ClaireOKC
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ClaireOKCstar
OK USA
Member since: 9/22/07
Reviews written: 16
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 16
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/16/10 6:54 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 4 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
autumnzmom said...
Beautiful ! I may try this now.
12/16/10 7:58 AM
Catbird said...
I don't know how in the world I missed this review in December and for that matter how this only got 1 comment (was it missing from the gallery?). I found it because I'm working on this coat right now and was looking for some insights. Your version is wonderful! It looks like you didn't do the lapped seams that they suggested for this coat, but instead sewed it 'normally,' which I'm debating about. Not certain about my fabric choice yet. I like both treatments. Anyway, thank you for the inspiring review and I hope you are enjoying your beautiful coat!
3/11/11 8:54 PM
sewpatty said...
This is beautiful! I very much want to make this coat too so I appreciate your posting/blog about it.
3/22/11 6:54 PM
Lynz said...
Your coat is beautiful, I also don't know how I missed it when you first posted. I am doing my usual search for a pattern to go with some fabric I couldn't resist and your review has helped me choose the right one.
9/3/11 11:14 AM
ClaireOKC said...
@Lynz - glad you like it....the coat has great bones (my way of saying the cut is really fabulous). Make sure your fabric is reversible, as each side will show...the collar will show next to your face and the other side will be the body of the coat. I made mine from a thickish wool, not Melton or boiled wool thick, but thicker than a gabardine - more like a tweed. Also I would think about adding a binding that is a little more of a contrast, but not too. And I highly recommend lining the sleeves - you can just slip-stitch the lining in place at the armscye/armhole location and then just bind the sleeve. Some have reported the sleeve is short, so you also may want to add some tot the sleeve, but don't make it any smaller than it already is....extend it out and then make it at least the same size (if not larger) than the original sleeve width...then draw a line from that width to the shoulder and underarm, and you'll be fine. I think I had a video on this, but if you need any more info, just ask away! Hope you enjoy your coat as much as I love mine!
9/4/11 10:55 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2010-118

photo
by: ClioBklyn

Review
Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Victory Roxanne Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Victoria Jones Collection 309 Womens' Long Dress

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2011-130

photo
by: valerie se...

Review